We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Plains B&B with class”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Barn Anew Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Scottsbluff B&B and Inns
St. Louis
Level Contributor
95 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Plains B&B with class”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We rolled into Mitchell at about 9:30 on a Friday night and were pleasantly surprised by the bluegrass jam session happening in the bunkhouse at Barn Anew. Alan and Cher were gracious and educational hosts along with Molly, the Australian shepherd. The B&B is immaculate, comfortable, and beautiful. The wilderness motif is perfectly appropriate for this part of the country. Breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TracyLew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
58
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
152 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

The hosts here are very warm and interesting people. The tour of the barn made the antiques inside come to life. Each room has different western memorablia and theme. No TVs in the rooms but there is a nice gathering room for all guests to share. The only slight criticisms I can think of is that the rooms didn't have closets so there isn't a lot of room for your things. We were only there one night so it wasn't a problem for us. Breakfast was outstanding and if you have little ones travelling with you they would love the shepherd's wagons for an overnight. Very well done!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
176 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

This is a 100 year old barn which has had the upstairs converted into 4 bedrooms with private baths. There is an upstairs den with a fireplace, TV and samll refrigerator for guests. You can enjoy your morning coffee from the balcony overlooking Scottsbluff. Allan and Cher were gracious hosts. They had many Indian pieces in their home that they told us about. Breakfast was delicious and at least 4 courses. The home is just down the road from the monument.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank molly30087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
152 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stopped at Barn Anew for the second time, about 10 days ago. The first time was two years ago -- see my first review dated August 1, 2010 down below. Everything said there still applies this time ..... only this time we stayed for three nights instead of one ..... to really let the relaxing and rejuvenating atmosphere soak in.

If you want to get that wide-open spaces feel, and the aroma of that western fresh air, and still have all the amenities of home at your finger tips (including a great country breakfast in the AM) ...... then folks, this the place.

Allan and Cher (and Molly, the dog) were so accommodating again -- we're starting to feel at home there. We take a trip out west usually once per year (which is still not enough for us -- we love it out there) and I now find myself planning it such that we either start it or end it in western Nebraska, just so we can stay here. Western Nebraska ...... who would have thunk it! (Am already thinking about it for next year.)

We spent our first day touring eastern Wyoming, right across the border, at Fort Laramie, and at the amazingly deep Oregon Trail wagon ruts just south of Guernsey. And the second day? ........ just chilled out at the Barn -- taking a day of vacation from our otherwise busy vacation trip. (We did Scottsbluff NM on our first stop there.)

Get off I-80 or I-25 for a few miles, and give yourself a quiet break at this wondeful place.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Weston66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

I'll admit it: Scottsbluff wasn't on my radar of places to see. I went for business. When I pulled up to my company booked highway hotel, my heart sank. I needed to make more of this trip. Some coffee shop locals told me about Barn Anew, and it changed my trip. This meticulous restored barn in the middle of a corn field is infinitely liveable; and is filled with historic frontier artifacts. The hosts were gracious and welcoming, and the breakfast was delicious. One of my favorite memories from this trip was watching the sunrise over the corn fields from my balcony, with strong coffee in hand. So leave your City Slick at home. Check out a harvest festival. Buy some homemade jam. Marvel at the still present wagon trails. Reflect on how tough these early settlers were. This is a gateway to the early American experience, and worth the trip.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dirtriderroger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We stayed at the Barn Anew enroute the Black Hills and again on our return trip. It was a great place to start and finish our trip as the relaxing atmosphere and quiet beauty of the inn assisting in making our trip a great memory. As the name implies the Barn Anew is a restored barn that is located on the Oregon Trail with wonderful historical grounds. The rooms were clean, comfortable and the breakfasts were great. The owners Allan and Cher were both knowledgeable and accommodating. Check out their bio's, they are interesting folks. We enjoyed our stays and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DNAS1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2011

This is one of the best B&B we have ever stayed in. Very comfortable, fabulous views. You can even see
the Monument from the upstairs deck. Very quiet setting amid the corn fields and sugar beet fields. We had coffee on the upper deck in the morning even though it was just a little cold a light jacket was enough. Al is unbelievebly talented and interesting with his art, story telling and various projects around the B&B. Char is an A+ cook. We had the best french toast we have ever had, it's a shame to call it french toast it was so much more than french toast. Many American Indian artifacts that could keep your interest for days. Our only regret - we only stayed one night, next time it will be at least two. If you are traveling to Mt. Rushmore,even if you have to go out of your way a bit, make it through Scottsbluff, Nebraska and stop at Barn Anew! This is a 5 star B&B and each room has it's own bath and Indian artifacts!

Room Tip: You really get to pick your own room. Char is very open to changing rooms even after you get there i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovetotravel129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scottsbluff
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Scottsbluff
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Scottsbluff
Comfort Inn Scottsbluff
#5 of 9 in Scottsbluff
104 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Scottsbluff Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Monument Inn & Suites
1.5 mi away
Arcadia Hotel
Arcadia Hotel
#2 of 3 in Gering
42 reviews
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Scottsbluff
Days Inn Scottsbluff
#7 of 9 in Scottsbluff
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barn Anew Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barn Anew Bed and Breakfast

Property: Barn Anew Bed and Breakfast
Address: 2 Miles West of Scotts Bluff National Monument on the old Oregon Trail road., Scottsbluff, NE 69361
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nebraska > Scottsbluff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Scottsbluff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising out of the ruts of the Oregon Trail, the Barn offers an exquisite get-away in the shadow of Scotts Bluff Monument. Just a few minutes from town, but a world apart,the Barn offers you a chance to re-energize with a stay in the country. Enjoy Western hospitality with gourmet breakfasts and beautiful surroundings. Savor a hot cup of coffee on our outdoor balcony as you greet the day. Relax in the hammock in the courtyard under 100 year old pines. Feeling adventurous? Reserve a night in one of our sheep wagons! Join us for a Friday night blue grass jam session. Hear stories of adventures on the Oregon Trail and other historic expeditions. Enjoy Western and Native American Art. Ask about one of our packages: fly fishing, Oregon Trail guided tour, circle tours, horseback riding, horse drawn carriage rides. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing