We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A step back in time”

Platte Valley Creamery
Ranked #1 of 4 Dessert in Scottsbluff
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Boulder, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A step back in time”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

This is what ice cream shops must have been like before Cold Stone. Heck, before Dairy Queen! Back when a 'small' was reasonably sized. The ice cream is good traditional hard ice cream. Don't expect creative new flavors, but this might be the best place in the world for a root beer float. The owner can be a bit surly, but takes his craft seriously. I'm not sure a single thing in this place has changed in decades. A must visit in SB/Gering!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pjanda1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    8
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Classic handmade ice creamery.”
Reviewed April 3, 2012

The Creamery looks probably like the average rural ice cream shop did in 1950...and it tastes like it. No fillers, just pure cool, milky, sweet taste.

It comes off as a fairly firm consistency, not very gelatinous. I definitely prefer this in my ice cream, it also means it was made with less fat and focus on ingredients. Try the mint and cherry varieties - absolute classics.

Don't forget the value, either...this might be the cheapest ice cream left in America at this level of quality.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great ice cream”
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Perfect topper to dinner at El Molcajete next door

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank JDH402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great homemade ice cream, and a blast from the past”
Reviewed March 20, 2011

When you walk into the Platte Valley Creamery, you feel as though you are stepping back into 1955. There is nothing at all fancy about this little shop, down to the worn shop shelves, which have undoubtedly been used by thousands of little feet in order to peer over the counter at the sweets. The staff is less than cheery about greeting customers, but they always hand-pack the quart to the brim with your choice of homemade ice cream. The consistency of the product is perfect: creamy, and not crystalline. I prefer the chocolate peanut butter or butter brickle, but the daiquiri ice is a local favorite.

This is a favorite little stop on a hot summer day (or otherwise).

Great value for your dollar!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Drchele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I love the style of the creamery, I'm...”
Reviewed May 23, 2010

I love the style of the creamery, I'm only 26 years old but going in that place makes me wonder how things were when the shop first opened. It really is a piece of history. The ice cream is some of the best I have had in my life and I have been in several states. Very friendly owner and employees.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jopregio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Platte Valley Creamery also viewed

 
Scottsbluff, NE
Scottsbluff, NE
 

Been to Platte Valley Creamery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing