We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Waikawa Bay Holiday Park
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wouldn't return”
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

Didn't realise you had to rent linen and bedding (my fault) which suddenly made me realise it was not as affordable as it seemed. Cramped, old mattress and pillows, kettle but no fridge to store milk. Again it was cheap but I'd rather have paid an extra $20 to stay somewhere where I wouldn't have to worry about a blanket

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KelseyE90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikawa3, Owner at Waikawa Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Yes $54 for a basic unit is cheap great for a traveler with sleeping bag, and $5 a bed for clean sheets duvet,blankets plus towels is a service rather than profit making exercise, I personally would prefer to sleep under clean sheets at a small cost than a blanket that multiple people have slept under prior, which is what happens when just blankets are provided. For a mere additional $10 you could have a had a kitchen cabin with full kitchen, including fridge. We have asked two subsequent customers about the bed and both gave a positive response. Please travelers read the blub about what is provided and be sure you are picking the right unit for your requirements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    31
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
26
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We stayed a night in a tourist flat prior to catching the ferry the next day. The accommodation was self contained and spotless. Everything was there we needed. About 10 mins to the town off the main road, excellent position. Close to the marina for a meal and look at the boats. Recommended and will stay again. Reasonable rates.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spendkidsinheritance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ngaruawahia, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Waikawa Bay Holiday Park is a lovely place to stay. The very friendly staff go all out to accommodate you. The units are very clean and well laid out providing everything necessary for a pleasant and quiet break. It is also very handy to the ferry terminals. I'm looking forward to revisiting in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Takatapui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

A few minutes drive from the ferry; close to town but off the main road in a sheltered setting with bush reserve to one side. What a pleasant change to have spotless facilities. When we decided to extend our stay, the cabins were mostly booked, but management did everything to make our move easy, allowing us to sleep in until the cleaners told us the new cabin was ready. Next visit we will use the tent sites located at the quiet rear of the camp with plenty of shade trees. Camp shop for essentials, daily paper, ice creams. Value for money.

Room Tip: Recommend cabin with new ensuite and cooking facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GypsyFrog_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed for 3 nites in a tent first weekend of March. We were able to choose any site we wanted powered or non-powered. I was stunned by how spotlessly clean the toilets, showers, kitchen etc were. They had everything we could have wanted and there were some pots/utensils etc there to use, but I am guessing they are left behind by other travellers. 2x BBQ's that were free to use, along with free, unmetered showers with plenty of hot water. There was even a hair dryer. Washing machines & dryers and minimal charge. Swimming pool and childrens play area. Staff were really friendly and helpful. Location is amazing. Would definitely return

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1vs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed at Waikawa Bay after taking a late night ferry. Arriving late was no issue. We had booked a cabin, which was clean, well furnished and even had a tv. Very decent pricing too.
The holiday park is not next to the beach but very close to a lovely bay. The only downside was that the cabins a quite close together. Would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Superhilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Waikawa Bay Holiday Park for 6 nights in a Kitchen Cabin, at the top of the park with a view to the Marina during January 2013, in the peak season. We have stayed at many holiday parks, during our numerous visits to the South Island of NZ, and the Waikawa Bay Holiday Park, is among the best. From booking, to checking in, our stay and checking out the whole process is very smooth, welcoming and straight forward. Our hosts Felicity and Richard, are both very warm and happy people, always ensuring that everything was just right, providing useful contacts to local activities, nothing was any trouble, they both try very hard at making sure you have a comfortable stay. The bathrooms were fantastic, very clean, plenty of hot water and great music. I have no hesitation in highly recommending the Waikawa holiday park as a place to stay, great for families and very reasonably priced.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kaye K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikawa
0.1 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
1.9 mi away
Picton Top 10
Picton Top 10
#3 of 26 in Picton
361 reviews
2.3 mi away
ASURE Jasmine Court Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Parklands Marina Holiday Park
2.3 mi away
The Fat Cod Backpackers
The Fat Cod Backpackers
#11 of 26 in Picton
56 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sequoia Lodge
Sequoia Lodge
#5 of 26 in Picton
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waikawa Bay Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikawa Bay Holiday Park

Property: Waikawa Bay Holiday Park
Address: 5 Waimarama Street, Waikawa, Picton 7220, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton > Waikawa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Waikawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Waikawa Bay Holiday Park 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Waikawa Bay Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing