We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely B&B and hosts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shepherd's Inn Bed & Breakfast

Shepherd's Inn Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ord
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shepherd's Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Ord B&B and Inns
Chicago,IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely B&B and hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

My sister and I stayed here while attending a wedding in Ord. It was a wonderful experience--peaceful, beautiful, clean, cozy, and charming. The attention to detail is impressive and the hosts, Doris and Don, are amazing. The food is excellent and we just adore Doris and Don. Cannot recommend it enough. If you visit the area, stay here. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank limegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
5
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

This was my first experience with a Bed and Breakfast and I could not have been more pleasantly surprised from start to finish. It is a beautiful, cozy farm house located a few miles west of Ord, surrounded by trees, gardens, and wildlife. Peaceful, serene, beautiful...and the hosts, Doris and Don Vancura, are incredibly gracious. I loved spending the early evening hours on the front porch watching the birds flit from the feeders to the trees and back again. The breakfasts were delicious and the conversation was just the right way to start each morning before heading to my work for the day. This is a gem and I hope to have an opportunity for a repeat visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nebraska
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

My husband and I stay at B and B's when we travel, seeking the most unique. This is IT! See the reveiw "Surprises Galore", a perfect description of this lovely, antique filled country home. In fact all these 5 star reviews are right on target. We enjoyed the most comfortable bed and best linens we have ever experienced, anywhere.
Doris's delightful, delicious breakfasts served by Don in his white shirt and ascot, complete with candles and antique furnishings deserve all the stars I can give and more. Ask for recommendations of places to visit and eat. Their suggestions are perfect.
I purchased the home canned mulberry jelly and syrup, when do they find the time to do this? How wonderful that they share this century old family home with others. Dont miss this one, and give yourself time to enjoy all that it has to offer.

Room Tip: First floor queen bed is amazingly comfortable with a nice, extra sitting room, included within, for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NebraskaHaircutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

My wife and I visit Ord about once a year to see family. We have stayed at the Shepherd's Inn three times now and would only choose another place if the Shepherd's Inn is full. It's a clean and comfortable place in a quirky, interesting old home. For us, the highlights are the delicious breakfast and served in the dining room, and the warmth and charm of the husband and wife who own and operate the Inn. We've never had a bad experience here. We always leave the Inn relaxed and recharged.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardmore, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

This is irrigated farm land. The green rolling hills of Valley County are as consistent as the slow flowing waters of the Loup Rivers.

The Shepherds’ Inn outside of Ord, Nebraska has been our only exposure to a bed and breakfast. Frankly, I did not expect much – was I pleasantly surprised. This decade old family home has been well maintained. Each guest bedroom has a modern bathroom. From ceiling fixtures to foot stools, antiques abound, displayed in front of expensive Italian wallpaper.

The owners are Titanic buffs and have enjoyed numerous ocean cruises. This interest/experience has culminated in an elegant breakfast presentation that deserves as many stars one can award. It is easy to fantasize you are back in time and enjoying the attention of family servants.

If you must travel with children or pets, one should look elsewhere. These delicate antiques deserve responsible adults. Staying there is like being in a doll house. Take your time, smell the roses, and by all means – visit. Be warned, if you travel during the evening hours, you will encounter deer, pheasants, and other critters.

We will return.

Ken and Carol McCall
Ardmore, Oklahoma

PS. It you wish to take home a taste of Nebraska, bring a cooler. Load up on Nebraska beef at A.J. Cetak’s Meat Market in Ord, fresh kolaches from Charlie’s Station in Elba, and a Nebraska wine, Brianna by Mac’s Creek, easily found at HyVee in Grand Island, Nebraska.

Room Tip: Steep steps to upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

My husband and I also own a bed and breakfast in Nebraska. We needed a place to get away and do some business planning in a place free of distractions. The Shepherd's Inn was the perfect place to do just that. Doris and Don are the owners/innkeepers. This house belonged to Don's parents and was his childhood home. As I understand they converted this home into a B & B about 17 years ago.
Our first surprise was to be greeted by Bingo, a pet lama, who raced to see us as we turned into the driveway! We were greeted at the door by Doris who had an afternoon snack waiting for us of cheese and crackers and hot herbal tea.
Our room was a lovely suite that included a bedroom with an attached full bath. It was furnished with antiques. The bathroom was spacious, including a shower, separate clawfoot tub with a sink that had been fitted into an antique dresser. The linens were all high end, extra plush towels, soft, high thread-count sheets (I'd guess at least 600), and cushy bathrobes! Other amenities too numerous to count like a dispenser in the shower that provided shampoo, conditioner and bath gel, hair dryer, extra soft bath tissue.
We stayed 3 nights. The next surprise was a chocolate treat on our pillow each night.
And every afternoon there was a home-made treat waiting in the dining area, including chocolate chip cookies, cream puffs, and biscotti! A beverage cart was available at all times for us to help ourselves to an assortment of teas, hot chocolate and coffee.
In the evening there were movies available to watch and popcorn available to help ourselves.
Everywhere I looked it was apparent that so much care and time had been put into making rennovations and decorating this cute little house.
Haven't even talked about breakfast yet! WOW! Don put on his butler's outfit and served the creations Doris made in high style. Each morning started with a fruit course and juices. The main meals were all GENEROUS portion sized, home-made and unique dishes. My favorite was her blueberry pancakes made with sour cream! To die for!!!!! There were oatmeal muffins, homemade jellies and syrups. Also loved the asparagus quiche made with a homemade flaky pie crust. Mmmm! Mmmmmm!
We were also pleasantly surprised to find so many things to do. Doris and Don were excellent at providing information on local dining and attractions. Though the main purpose of our trip was work, we enjoyed eating at the Pizza Palace and Sandstone Grill in Burwell. Also ate at Country Neighbor and Blanquita's Mexican Restaurant. Valley Fire Pottery is also a great place to hang out and have a great coffee drink!
We loved our trip to Ord and would highly recommend staying at the Shepherd's Inn. So many personal touches made us feel right at home! Oh and looking at the stars from the new hot tub was AWSOME! We also enjoyed sitting on the porch in the afternoons and watching the deer wander through the yard and listening to the water bubble through the pond. I think they thought of it all.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crystalkeyng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

I called for availbility and they do not take anyone under 5 years old. It's apparently due to the antiques, small rooms...etc. But with such little lodging in the area, maybe they should. Otherwise it's probably a great place to stay. I won't be staying there anytime soon though. Even without the kids.

Room Tip: bigger room is downstairs
See more room tips
Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank calibeachgirl17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ord hotels
0.0 mi away
Cobblestone Inn & Suites Ord
Show Prices

Been to Shepherd's Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shepherd's Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Shepherd's Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: RR 3, Box 108A, Ord, NE 68862
Location: United States > Nebraska > Ord
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ord
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing