We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything is Great!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lonesome Dove Lodge
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Ogallala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Everyone was friendly, the hotel and room was clean. It took awhile to get hot water in the shower, but otherwise they provide breakfast, it is close to the interstate and hospital so very convenient. We were traveling on business and will be back again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juliette0416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry J, General Manager at Lonesome Dove Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

We appreciates your comments as your input helps us improve and address anything that might not have been as we intend them to be. I glad that your stay was pleasant and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (273)
There are newer reviews for Lonesome Dove Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 273 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

I'm assuming this hotel was retrofitted to be a Holiday Inn as it has a unique "western lodge" theme. The rooms were a little outdated - but clean and mostly quiet. I could still hear my upstairs neighbors stomp to the bathroom and the air conditioning units desperately need replacing. They were musty, loud, and seemed to run continuously. The breakfast is the traditional Holiday Inn breakfast and they staff was very friendly and accommodating at breakfast. This Holiday inn is probably your best bet on the Ogallala exit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry J, General Manager at Lonesome Dove Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Thanks for your comments. The motel was built originally as an Express, however, I appreciate your comment upgrading us to a Holiday Inn with the only difference being you usually pay for your breakfast at the Holiday Inn restaurant. Our property is a western themed property since it's the cowboy capitol of Nebraska. It was the end of the Texas trail back in the late 1800's where cattle drives were driven from Dallas to Ogallala. It was also a crossing of the Oregon Trail where trail ruts can still be seen in areas northwest of here. Lake McConaughy is the state's largest recreational lake that serves as the main irrigation lake for Nebraska's farms. There are many great golf courses built in the area by well known golf course designers. Thanks for staying with us. We look forward to serving your lodging needs again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Nice staff even late at night. Clean hotel. Comfortable beds. Large rooms. Does not smell like a pet motel. We have a pet, but do not want that to hurt our stay. The breakfast was very nice. We will definitely stay here again. Very pleased!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hygtf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry J, General Manager at Lonesome Dove Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Our team made up of front desk, housekeeping, breakfast room, maintenance, and management staff work hard together to achieve what it takes to serve you the best we can. Thank you for your input and kind comments. It means a lot to all of us and I will share your comments with our team. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

It was not the best place we stayed on our vacation. It was easy to get to from the highway. Room was clean and breakfast was ok. Ask for a room on the back.
We walked to a restaurant that was close by. The place was called the Gloden Spur. Don't go there. The food was just terrible and rather expensive. One of the worst places we have ever eaten.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onthego1937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry J, General Manager at Lonesome Dove Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thank you for the opportunity to serve your lodging needs while traveling through Ogallala. This is a challenging time of year on the busiest Interstate in the country that services both the majority of industry semi haulers and vacation travelers. I will share with my employees that your overall experience was very good. We look forward to serving your future lodging needs when traveling to the Ogallala area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Last minute switch to HIE when our first selection developed a bug problem! The Holiday Inn is relatively recent construction and has been maintained well. Cleanliness is not an issue.

The morning breakfast area is light, open and clean. Food was fine too. Coupled with a good night's sleep and we were happy campers.

Have a strong hunch that this is the "Ritz" of Ogallala. Give it a try.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ObscureDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry J, General Manager at Lonesome Dove Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thanks for choosing us when you had to make an unexpected switch as we value your business as a recent and future guest. Our goal is to always offer excellent service and the cleanest most comfortable rooms in the Ogallala area. Hopefully you will stay at Holiday Inn Express throughout your travels to experience the consistent value of this brand. We strive for consistency throughout the Holiday Inn system.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We made last minute decision to stay in Ogallala before driving into the mountains at night. The hotel is nicely decorated with rustic feel to it. I would recommend a room toward the parking lot and away from the interstate. They do provide earplugs for you if you request them. Didn't feel like going down to the front desk at two in the morning to get them but you do what you need to do. Front desk personnel very willing to assist to make stay enjoyable. Twila who we met in the breakfast room was very knowledgeable about the area and very friendly. She is a gem to be working with all the out of town visitors.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for the type of room you want. Front desk personnel said she only had one king ro...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandseeker_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry J, General Manager at Lonesome Dove Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Thank you for your review. It's great to hear you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed our breakfast room staff and the knowledge they shared with you about our area. I'm not sure what the circumstances were regarding the room type concern, however, I will share your review with my staff to let them know what transpired in an effort to avoid a concern from arising as you mentioned. We look forward to serving your lodging needs again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Driving West to East, cross country, means miles of corn after the dramatic mountains of Zion and Western Colorado.After checking the bed bug registry to preclude problems,then trying several North Platte options,only to be curtly told they were booked, we found Holiday Inn Express in Ogallala.$40 cheaper,much nicer,and dog friendly.Book at the back to avoid I80 road noise.Restaurant choices are minimal.We chose to go to Safeway,buy fresh pasta,tomato sauce,Parmesan and veggies.Made this in microwave at the hotel.My hubby turned on Hawaiian music,poured some white wine, and we danced till dinner was served.Quite civilized.

Room Tip: Make sure to go to the back,we are in 322
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverlydbichons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry J, General Manager at Lonesome Dove Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

It's great to hear that we were able to serve your hospitality needs while traveling on I-80. Your feedback will be shared with the staff, and I hope you will have the opportunity to stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ogallala
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 10 in Ogallala
634 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Ogallala
Travelodge Ogallala
#6 of 10 in Ogallala
336 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 10 in Ogallala
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Days Inn Paxton
Days Inn Paxton
#1 of 1 in Paxton
120 reviews
0.4 mi away
Super 8 Ogallala
Super 8 Ogallala
#3 of 10 in Ogallala
415 reviews
0.0 mi away
Days Inn Ogallala
Days Inn Ogallala
#4 of 10 in Ogallala
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lonesome Dove Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lonesome Dove Lodge

Address: 501 Stagecoach Trl, Ogallala, NE 69153-3118 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Ogallala)
Location: United States > Nebraska > Ogallala
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Ogallala
Price Range: $100 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lonesome Dove Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corporate patrons can always utilize the on-site Business Center, featuring print, scan and copy services, so they can finish paperwork at their convenience while in Ogallala, NE. Our hotel's property is also close to Ogallala Community Hospital, making it easy to attend area meetings, and close to Bayside golf course. When it's time to unwind, set aside an evening to dine at the Front Street Steakhouse & Crystal Palace Saloon, a local favorite that serves delicious food and great drinks. During the day, take time to explore Lake McConaughy, a favorite attraction for our hotel's guests visiting Ogallala, NE. Make sure to also check out the beautiful Mansion on the Hill and the historic Boot Hill Cemetery. We are proud to provide great amenities like free high-speed, wireless Internet access throughout the hotel to help you stay connected. Before starting your day in Ogallala, NE, try the Lodges’ complimentary, homestead breakfast, to start your day out right. We hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Lonesome Dove Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Ogallala Hotel Ogallala
Holiday Inn Ogallala
Ogallala Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing