We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great burger joint. Drive the mile north.”
Review of Open Range Grill

Open Range Grill
Ranked #1 of 34 Restaurants in Ogallala
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Opened in late 2011 grass fed beef hamburgers out of this world unique toppings.
New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great burger joint. Drive the mile north.”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Some really great flavors in my burger (spices? grass fed?), something nifty beyond the just the ground beef. Tasty sweet potato fries, not too greasy, had to resist eating too many. Friendly feeling, laid-back and congenial staff on the other side of the counter. This is the place we will eat whenever we stay in Ogallala. Easy drive north of the Interstate. You'll be glad you went (a little) out of your way.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dudegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    69
    11
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dalton, Nebraska
Level Contributor
65 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Order your burger medium”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I didn't specify how I wanted my burger cooked at it came out very well done. I would suggest ordering the burger medium at most. It was a good burger, but the doneness of it really dried it out. The atmosphere is wonderful and I'll give it another try...

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NEhuntress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
72 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great burgers and beer”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Locally sourced - it is Nebraska, after all - generous, and with your choice of a wide variety of toppings and buns. Not your average burger joint, but a real temple of burger imagination. Good beer selection in bottles and some on tap to go along with the food. I didn't have any space for the desserts, but it looks like they have those too. Also didn't investigate the vegetarian or other entree options, but they were on the menu if that's your preference.

I think they have only been open about 9 months. Get there early if it's not summer, because they close at 8 PM (Mountain). I just made it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WiscPedalGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Island, Nebraska, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Huge, delicious hamburgers!”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

The French Fries were delicious. They offer sweet potato fries and fried green beans, too! Enjoyed choosing the hamburger combinations, even a choice of buns!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lindalou8482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Lake, Indiana
Level Contributor
119 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice place.”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

The food was good and atmosphere was western. A good place to stop and eat. Prime rib specials some night. My spouse said it was good ! I had a burger....was also good.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Open Range Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing