We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Give it a chance”
Review of Kingsley Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ogallala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kingsley Lodge
Lakewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Give it a chance”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

I've stayed here many times over a 30 year time span and always enjoyed it.
Several years ago the owner and his wife were killed in a tragic auto accident, things were in a turmoil and the property suffered.
The bad reviews are all dated during this time.
Check out the newer reviews and you will see things have changed.
I am personally booking 2 cabins this summer.
Like I said, give it a chance. It's a beautiful spot.
This is not the Hilton. The cabins are rustic, but clean and nice.
A great lake experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    4
    2
    2
    5
See reviews for
6
3
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I stayed here in early May and the lake was deserted --apparently it doesn't get busy until Memorial Day. But the cabin was very clean, rustically cute and unlike other one-bedroom or camper cabins includes linens, cable TV and has a bathroom inside. About the same rate as a hotel but didn't charge extra for my dog and you can't beat the lake views. Quiet and peaceful here! Don't know about when the lake is crowded in summer but it was very peaceful in early May. The lake is across the street although there's no real lake access right here. The beaches are across the dam about three miles away. There's a convenience store across the street for sundries and snacks. Otherwise the closest services are in Ogallala downtown, eight miles down the road. I was just passing through on a road trip but I'm glad I came and would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cheesylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

The rooms were small and basic but nice. The view from the porch was great aside from the road right there. Very busy area so be aware if you have small kids or dogs. There were lists and lists of rules and what you could be fined with.

Room Tip: Our air conditioner worked great but the room the kids had did not. We were also told that one of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tfny987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton, Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

I don't know where to start - the (unnamed) lady who took our reservations actually specifically lied to us about the property. We traveled with our children and 3 other families and their children (all friends). We were told that we would all be together. We were told that the property is "right on the beach" and that you can "walk right out to the beach".

This is a scam! They collect your FULL PAYMENT up front before you ever see where you're staying and before they tell you where you're going to stay. They threaten you with a ridiculous list of "rules" and cancellation fees... then you finally get the bad news (after you've paid). The property is not on any beach of any kind, it's on a cliff next to the dam. The nearest beach is public and around 2-3 miles down the highway and across the dam. The views from the deluxe "cabin" (which is actually half of a poorly remodeled double-wide trailer) are BEAUTIFUL. This was the best thing about the property.

Two of our families shared the "deluxe" cabin and then the other two families held individual cabins ACROSS A HIGHWAY. The individual cabins are terrible shack-like dwellings with non-working air conditioning, bugs everywhere, mold, and what must have surely been wiring and construction standards far below what anyone would consider safe building standards. For example - our light was a single socket literally hanging from the ceiling by it's own electrical wires.

We stuck it out because of the threats about cancellation fees and the owner literally held our primary family's credit-card hostage against us. She was rude and unwilling to credit or change anything for the lies we were told. One of her employees actually told me (when the owner wasn't around) that she does this all the time (even lying to old disabled people about ada accessibility) and that she's quitting.

I've slept in better places for free than our cabin for $100/night! I MUCH RATHER would have stayed in a decent hotel room back in Ogallala and driven the extra 10 minutes each day to the lake for $70-$80/nt than pay that. The days were over 100f and the air conditioning either didn't work or was wholly inadequate - again the property owners did nothing to correct this and didn't care that we have small children including a diabetic 5-year-old.

I don't know how many ways I can say DO NOT STAY HERE. You would be far more comfortable and have saved more money in a tent in a camping area than here. Pick a hotel or a camping area... or one of the many beautiful homes around the lake for rent... do not stay here!

The property owner's staff are actually VERY FRIENDLY and kind but powerless to do anything to make your stay better. They and the view were the best part of our visit.

Room Tip: If you MUST stay here, accept only the deluxe/cooking cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

The view is the best thing and only good thing about this place, and yes it is across from the lake rather than right on the lake. But damp, and musty smelling are indeed something you will take from these cabins. We tried to make the most of it and we did, we just had to go to town and use other facilities to get ready for the wedding we were going to. We stayed in a double cabin or "cooking"cabin as they called it. The fridge leaked right off the bat and the ants were there by the thousands in the kitchen. I called before we went to verify that they had indeed remodeled as they advertised, and I believe that to be true, but only the bathrooms, which are so very tiny! The grills and picnic tables were very nice, but sleeping was damp and you didn't want to leave anything on the floor for fear that it would get wet. We had another cabin that some or our other family was staying in and they too had to move to another cabin because their floor was soaked. The people at the store said they had flooded some recently. After the first night there they came in a cleaned our cabin, which was fine, but also didn't hesitate to take a fan out of our cabin (it was the lodge's fan) I suspect to help dry out the cabin that our family members had moved out of. We had 2 bath sized towels to a cabin that had sleeping room for 6. I guess there was a sign that you could ask for more, but really only 2 towels? For the money we paid to stay here, you would be much better off getting a regular motel room and it might actually save you money. Oh yeah and there is a $100 extra charge if your dog gets on the bed, not sure why, the beds are hardly off the ground the way it is, and they are so old and worn, I don't see what a dog would hurt ! Basically the place tries to get by a cheap as possible, far as what they put into their facility, that is probably their biggest issue.

Helpful?
10 Thank highfive775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, NE
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2010

This is without a doubt the worst place I've ever considered sleeping in my entire life. First of all, don't let the photos fool you. It's not on the lake. It's across the highway. The "cabins" are dilapidated shacks in which you can imagine only sinister people without another option staying. The first unit they gave us had a new window air conditioner which did not work. I walked through a cobweb to check out the bathroom. It's best to leave the lights off there. You don't want to see it. Worst of all, it reeked of mold and mildew. We asked for a different unit and the same was true of it. That one, though, had the added value of a fan on the floor pointed into the bathroom (likely drying up the last leak.) We got about 8 miles away and decided not to stay even though they kept our money because they have a 2 week cancellation policy. Still, we were able to get a much nicer hotel room in Paxton, NE for $15 less and it suited our needs better. Steer clear of this one!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank TropicalDreams85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pueblo, colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2010

Kingsley Lodge and cabins, about 10 miles North of Ogallala, Nebraska at
the Kingsley Dam on lake Mac. Cabin 10, the jury-rigged shower leaks all over
the living area carpet. Bugs galore, the dot.com stated laundromat is actually in
Ogallala. Cabin next door had bbq grill missing. Tv in cabin to the North, according
to occupants, did not work and the check-in across the road at the grocery/baitshop
closes at 7pm so they were out of luck..our tv went out during a breif brown-out and never
came back on either. Scheduled 4 nites, stayed 2----never again..

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank knobs88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ogallala hotels
6.7 mi away
Stagecoach Inn
Stagecoach Inn
#5 of 8 in Ogallala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
6.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 8 in Ogallala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
6.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ogallala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Super 8 Ogallala
Super 8 Ogallala
#1 of 8 in Ogallala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
6.7 mi away
Days Inn Ogallala
Days Inn Ogallala
#4 of 8 in Ogallala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
7.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 8 in Ogallala
3.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsley Lodge

Property: Kingsley Lodge
Address: 1510 North, Ogallala, NE 69153
Location: United States > Nebraska > Ogallala
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Ogallala
Number of rooms: 17

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing