We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't Stay Here Again”
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Ogallala
Lincoln
2 reviews
“Won't Stay Here Again”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

My husband and I checked in late on July 22 and received less than professional service. We chose Quality Inn because they are part of the Choice Hotels chain. We were told there were only 2nd floor king bed rooms available, which was fine with us. There were several long dark hair strands all over the bathroom floor, in the shower and on the towels! We even found hair in the bed. The couch had several stains on the cushions, to the point we were not comfortable using the couch. This morning between 7:00am - 9:00am there were three incidents which members of the cleaning staff tried using a key card to access our room! No knocking, or announcing who they were.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hmd0501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    187
    133
    62
    51
See reviews for
270
135
49
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madera, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed here on the second night of our trip east to Wisconsin. Check in was fast and friendly. The room was a bit dated but clean and comfortable.
The hotel has a Denny's restaurant and a Sports bar attached. Lots of parking if you are towing a trailer or driving a large vehicle.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsbluff, Nebraska, United States
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This was a nice place for a small town. Everyone was nice and helpful. The pool looked clean too and Denny's is attached and so is the bar! The couches in the lobby weren't bad either, leather and soft!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eluid A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Very pleased w/ our stay. Safe, clean & quiet. We stayed on 7/5/2013 and it was booked, but still quiet.
Room was squeaky clean & the bed in good shape. I was surprised at the quality for a 'highway' motel. Good choice to save $$ before hitting Denver.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ChDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri City, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 25, 2013

On our way back home we stopped in Nebraska. First we stopped in Sidney and found every hotel booked. When we hit Ogalala we found pretty much the same thing. I have never used a Quality Inn and we were pleasantly surprised. All of the rooms have been refinished. The beds and linens are very comfortable. The bathroom is very nice with great water pressure. If you're looking for a place to sleep this is a good one. There are two restaurants attached. Denny's is one of them. It is open 24 hours. Since the hotel does not have free breakfast they give vouchers to Denny's. The downsides were outdoor access to the rooms and the pool was broken. Other than that it did everything we needed for around $80.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingMomma170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Our experience here did not reflect most of the trip advisor reviews. We like being able to park in front of our room as we travel heavy and don't like having to navigate through locked doors and corridors. I was immediately disappointed when I entered the room and saw the bedding....with the Motel 6 type of bedspread. There was no bed skirt covering the old box spring. There was however a new mattress on top. The sheets were not of good quality....itchy as a matter of fact, and not what I expect from this lodging chain. The room looked hastily cleaned.... A good amount of dust on the TV chest and bits of tissue on the floor. The TV screen was sloppily cleaned with something that impaired clear viewing. No mini fridge or microwave as there were in other rooms. The air conditioner was aggressively loud and bothersome.
They advertise as pet friendly, but need to do a lot more if they really mean it. There was only a weedy, trashy scrap of land with cactus and glass. Not a great place to walk your dog. I felt bad taking my dog into the grassy pool area to do her business....which btw I always clean up! Maybe the pet rooms are of lessor quality. This room was only adequate. Also, the wonderful big pool and spa were not in service....empty. I was not informed of this when I made my reservation which would've been nice.
Also of note is that the one building not in use but a part of the property is an 'abandoned' looking eyesore with absolutely NO outdoor lighting. Guests who had to park on that side were clearly as uncomfortable about it as I was....it's a bit spooky!
The reception desk and staff were courteous, proffesional and friendly however!
We did find a terrific restaurant in the town of Ogallala. Totally worth the short drive. Fabulous burger place called Open Range Grill. Check my TA review of it and other reviews. What a find!
I will return to this Inn only in a pinch....

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitterdoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

In this hotel, I had Room 141 which opened out to a stretch of parking lot. I personally am not a fan of the outside entrance layout, but I ended up here in a stop on a road trip, so no planning ahead on this one. The beds are typical of a Quality Inn, so they are comfortable enough. There is also a fridge and microwave in the place, but no alarm clock. The microwave had a clock that I had to set to the proper time. There was even one building(there are 4 connected buildings here) that was not in use and had a padlock on it's entrance door. And this was the only building with interior entrance rooms. The front desk clerk was very quick with checking us in and telling us the quickest way to drive to our door. Which brings me to the front door of Room 141. I could see light underneath it!!! And being an outside entrance, this should be fixed as soon as possible.

Room Tip: Check to see there is no light coming in under your entrance door, especially if it's wintertime...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelye828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ogallala
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Ogallala
Travelodge Ogallala
#5 of 9 in Ogallala
313 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 9 in Ogallala
122 reviews
18.9 mi away
Days Inn Paxton
Days Inn Paxton
#1 of 1 in Paxton
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Super 8 Ogallala
Super 8 Ogallala
#3 of 9 in Ogallala
405 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ogallala
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Ogallala
Days Inn Ogallala
#4 of 9 in Ogallala
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Property: Quality Inn
Address: 201 Chuckwagon Road, Ogallala, NE 69153-3104 (Formerly Platte River Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nebraska > Ogallala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Ogallala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Inn Ogallala is located on the Platte River and sits just 9 miles south of Lake McConaughy, the largest lake in Nebraska, with over 1 million visitors each summer. We are pleased to offer updated guest rooms with comfort bedding and flat screen televisions, with refrigerators and microwaves in every room. We are a 100% non-smoking property with exterior room entrances. Our guests enjoy our fitness center, onsite Denny's restaurant, onsite Sports Bar, and outdoor, heated pool and brand new hot tub during their stay. Your dogs will enjoy our dog-friendly rooms, large courtyard, and the nature trail just west of our property. With lots of great parking for trucks, trailers, and RVs we are a convenient location for every traveler. Quality Inn is also home to the Ogallala Convention Center, a perfect venue for reunions, meetings, parties and wedding receptions. Our banquet chef and serving staff provide full service catering for an exceptional experience at any event. **NOTE: Our pool is currently undergoing a remodel and is temporarily not available. (posted July 2016) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grey Goose Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing