We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Tranquility by the ocean”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
8 reviews
Private patio
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Bakoven, Camps Bay, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Louis N
1 review
“Tranquility by the ocean”
Reviewed August 17, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The perfect location for a relaxing getaway. The apartment is conveniently located close to the city, and within walking distance of Bakoven beach. I loved the tranquil garden and experienced the most amazing sunsets I've ever seen. I would definitely want to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 1, 2016
Dear Louis

Thank you so much for your great review!

Yes, we love the garden and sunsets as well.

Congratulations on your upcoming wedding and good luck with the final preparations!

We hope to see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely peaceful getaway apartment for two”
Reviewed February 4, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

This is a lovely apartment, ideal for two, high up on the hill with a great sea view you can enjoy whilst sitting out on the patio. It has a very serene and peaceful atmosphere. As well as the open kitchin/ lounge area and double bedroom with en suite there is a cute little solarium study with desk and chair in for you to sit and read, write, etc.

A handy local supermarket for all your needs (which caters for the health conscious with things which might be a bit harder to find such as soya milk) and a nice cafe called Bakoven which does brunch and fresh juices are just a walk down the road. You have a choice of beaches from here and can go for the public Camps Bay stretch or the more private and secluded Bakoven Beach depending on your mood.

I really enjoyed my stay here and would definitely come back again. Recommend!

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: You can walk everywhere from here when you want to stay local and just relax and hang out.
Liked least: Leaving!
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 5, 2016
Dear Michelle

Thank you for your review!

I am glad you enjoyed Baked, the coffee shop in Bakoven - all our guests rave about it as it is so close and the coffee is amazing.

Our favourite beach is also Bakoven as it is so secluded and close to the house.

I hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in and around Cape Town and that you had the best birthday ever.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Regards

Elize
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kardoesie
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
1,061 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 445 helpful votes
“Beautiful and peaceful”
Reviewed January 1, 2016 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This serene abode offers a calm respite from the busy beachfront. Here one can truly unwind with a vista over the Atlantic Ocean and in the shade under the old Milkwood trees. The open plan living area provides all the comforts one needs, including air-conditioning and a modern kitchen.
The linen, towels and mattress are all of superb quality and one wakes up with birdsong! Enjoy your morning coffee with a sea view or in the established garden and then visit the rather undiscovered and unknown beach of Bakoven.

Ideal for those who want to linger in a tranquil setting.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful garden
Liked least: To leave!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hettie H
Bloemfontein, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
“Stylish, cozy and totally worth it!”
Reviewed December 30, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

I loved the way the traditional house has been given a modern update - large, beautifully furnished living area and calming bedroom. Modern bathroom. Small covered patio for sundowners and braai - perfect! Lovely sea and garden views. I loved the absence of clutter. Elize handled the booking details like an absolute pro!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 31, 2015
Hi Hettie

Thank you very much for your great review!

It's a pity we had a heat wave during your stay... The sea breeze definitely helps during hot summers like this.

Wishing you and your family a happy New Year!

Safe journey back.

Regards

Elize
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Myste...
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Stylish home at an excellent rate”
Reviewed December 22, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We were blown away with the view as we arrived at the house.

What a bargain to get a large house for such a good rate.

We had guests come over to visit and there is a large dining room table and open plan kitchen - perfect for entertaining.

Although it was the start of summer, it was raining and cold and we used the fire place which warmed up the whole living area.

In the mornings we went for a run next to the sea, followed by coffee at Baked in Bakoven.

I can highly recommend this home for your next holiday in Camps Bay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: The wind in Camps Bay
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 23, 2015
Dear Mr Armstrong

Thank you for the great review!

It was a pity that the weather wasn't great during your stay. You will need to return for better weather.

We hope to see you again soon!

Regards

Elize
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing