We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the $”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn North Platte
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in North Platte
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Not worth the $”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

Hampton Inn is our preferred hotel when on the road- we are usually very satisfied customers. This Hampton is not as well cared for as others, The furniture is very worn and the hallways dirty, The customer service at the front desk was shoddy- we had multiple apologies after multiple issues. The only highlight was breakfast- it was very well done. What made the stay particularly unsatisfying was the price- this Hampton is priced 30-40% more than other Hamptons in Nebraska (Grand Island, York, Kearney). Bottom line- the stay was not worth what we paid for it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Timeisanabstract
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    174
    59
    22
    10
See reviews for
220
180
40
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Beatrice, Nebraska
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

The room great EXCEPT for the air conditioning system. My mom and I shared a room and between us we were up several times of the night sweating. The air conditioner would turn on and cool us for awhile and then we would wake up sweating again. I had the room at 65 and it was still hot!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank nitrophoebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, General Manager at Hampton Inn North Platte, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
I am sorry you experienced some air-conditioning problems when you were with us. I would like some more information on this such as date of stay and name or room number as I have touched base with my maintenance department and they have not had any tickets to fix along these lines, and we have not heard anything else from guests or housekeeping. I appreciate your communication, but need a bit more to beneficial. Thanks for staying with Hampton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska, USA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Hampton Inn is our hotel of choice. We've stayed at many around the country. But this one was filthy and HIGHLY over-priced. We paid less in Denver previous 2 nights. We were greeted by the smell of chlorine when the hotel doors opened. Male staff member was friendly, but not very helpful when we called to complain about mold on the bathroom ceiling. The room smelled funky. Carpet was coming up in many places, black spot in tub and rust around fixtures. Walls were marked up everywhere. Beds made noises when you moved. We were told the hotel had been remodeled, but that doesn't matter if it isn't clean. It eminded me of a run-down Ramada. $179 a night????

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yellowmom2919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood Village, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

A great place to stop with my 18 year old and 13 year old on our drive home from Chicago to Denver. I just wish we had more time to check out the sights. The hotel gave us a coupon for a nearby restaurant that we could walk to. The kids had fun throwing peanut shells on the floor. Breakfast was delicious and the beds as always at Hampton Inn were very comfortable. Especially after a long day on the road.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, General Manager at Hampton Inn North Platte, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for staying with us as well as taking the time to post your positive comments. Whiskey Creek is the name of the restaurant that you visited and they do have locations in other states. We also have Applebee's and Village Inn in walking distance from our hotel. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Great service and clean. I was a little leary of hotels in Western Nebraska and Hampton did not disappoint. Same consistency of service and accomodations as other major city Hamptons. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, General Manager at Hampton Inn North Platte, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Consistency, consistency, consistency: that is what Hampton is about so I am glad to hear that you noticed and appreciated that. We do like to add a little spice of our own local Hamptonality and that is what you saw come through with our service to our guest's experiences. I am glad you enjoyed your stay as well as you taking the time to post your positive comments. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed here just for a quick overnight and the staff was very kind and helpful. The rooms were very clean and quiet and the pool was nice and clean and even with 2 other families in the pool, it was not too crowded. The fitness room looks out on to the pool so you can watch your kids while you workout. There is a nice patio area outside the pool which is where I enjoyed a cup of coffee while the kids swam before we hit the road.... very convenient!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Kelsey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, General Manager at Hampton Inn North Platte, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We do try to seek out hospital people when we staff our hotel so we can properly display our "Hamptonality". I am glad that you and your children enjoyed our pool area. We will look for you on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menomonie, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
72 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

I have found that Hampton Inns are a good value, they have always been clean and offer a decent breakfast for a hotel. This was on par with past experiences. We arrived late while we were on our drive home from the Grand Canyon and the desk clerk offered us a discounted rate. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. In the morning the breakfast area was nice and the breakfast was decent. There are restaurants in the area if you want though. It seemed like a nice are but we were on our way home from a larger road trip and didn't have time to check it out. If I was in the area I would look into this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajrwdwgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, General Manager at Hampton Inn North Platte, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel on Tripadvisor. We strive to be more better than average, but when compared to other Hampton Inns we won't take that as an insult. Hampton does a great job of holding all of our hotels to a level of consistency that our guests find comforting. I am glad you found us up to par - thanks for staying with Hampton Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Platte hotels
1.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites North Platte
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites North Platte
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 18 in North Platte
3.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#14 of 18 in North Platte
3.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oak Tree Inn North Platte
Oak Tree Inn North Platte
#11 of 18 in North Platte
3.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.5 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn - North Platte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn North Platte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn North Platte

Property: Hampton Inn North Platte
Address: 200 Platte Oasis Pkwy, North Platte, NE 69101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nebraska > North Platte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in North Platte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn North Platte 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn North Platte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn North Platte Hotel North Platte
North Platte Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing