We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dissapointing Stay Considering Price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn North Platte
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in North Platte
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, MN
Level Contributor
88 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Dissapointing Stay Considering Price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

We had high expectations given the great reviews but for the price, found this place to be less than expected. On a positive note, the front desk staff and especially the breakfast staff were very pleasant. The hotel, however is showing its age. The lack of a refrigerator at this price was a show stopper for us. Flat screen TVS were present but no high def channels, only analog. Wireless internet only, not wired, even though the room card indicated wired was present and the desk lamp even had wired ethernet jacks. Otherwise it was fine, just not a great value.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank wallywanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    174
    59
    22
    10
See reviews for
220
180
40
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix US
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

Never besmirch or underestimate the popularity of North Platt, NE concerning motorist looking for a place to bed down for the evening . To do so is at your own risk and adding another 50 miles to your trip in finding a decent place to sleep for the night.

After driving 10 hours from Albuquerque, NM we decided to stay the night in North Platt on our way to Iowa. We thought we wouldn't have any issue with finding a motel for the night because how crowded could North Platt be on a Tuesday Night at the end of summer? We were wrong. We checked multiple hotels (phone, internet and driving up to the check in desk) and none had vacancies. Hampton Inn was our last chance before biting the bullet and moving on to the next town.

We drove up to the lobby, stepped out of the car and was hitting the first set of doors when two motorcycle couples pulled up behind us, literally jumped off their bikes and ran in ahead of us with one of them actually bumping into my sister without even saying "excuse me". We stood in line behind them and the very nice Front Desk receptionist said they only had two rooms left but they were both the Jacuzzi Suites. One of the cyclists wanted to use their points but were advised that that could only be done on the website. So when they walked away to decide whether to use point or dollars, my sister and I decided to treat ourselves to a Jacuzzi suite - one for each of us.

This may be the schadenfreude talking but the suites were excellent! Besides the fact that the Jacuzzi were big enough for two people and it almost felt like we each had our own plunge pool, the rooms are tastefully decorated,large in size and the beds fantastic. The hotel is very nicely designed with a large breakfast/lounge area on the 1st floor with a free breakfast (great coffee) and a nice sized pool/exercise area (Many people were using the facilities and having a great time). If it wasn't for the fact that we needed to be in Iowa the next day - we would have totally stayed an extra day and took in the sights and relaxed(Fort Cody is right next door).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripTreasures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earlville, Iowa
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

We are very fussy about our hotel accommodations; and this hotel was a great experience. We had driven a long way and needed some serious relaxation time. The staff were very friendly; the price was a little over $107.00 but with breakfast included and the layout of the room it was well worth it. At breakfast one of the attendants came over specifically to talk with us to see how we were doing; we have never had that happen before. The breakfast choices were wonderful and very plentiful. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
95 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Even though this is somewhat close to the interstate, our room was very quiet. It was a nice, inviting place to stay. There is a good restaurant nearby - Whiskey Creek I think is the name. Excellent food. Good prices.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingmom1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithville, MO
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Our room was what I would expect from a Hampton Inn...large, clean, comfortable! The price was higher that I expected in North Platte, NE, but I did get a good night's sleep and the hotel is just off the highway. Breakfast was nice. Large selection and lots of room for people to sit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tyedyeslb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
107 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

First, I agree with previous posts about the price given the location. $169 for one night in North Platte NEBRASKA?!?!? I was told there was a softball tournament in town and that was driving the prices up.
Traveling with my husband and two adult siblings for a funeral, we decided that for that price we would share a room. I was offered a 2 room suite for just $30 more and grabbed it. The "Suite" concept was kind of a stretch. I am not sure the bed in the first room was a queen; it looked smaller than the bed in the "bedroom". There was only one bathroom and since their bathrooms have sink, toilet and tub behind one door, it was was difficult for 4 adults to get ready. There was a "bar" with a sink but I don't recall a fridge or microwave.
The bed my husband and I used was "soggy" in the middle. My brothers didn't notice that in their bed because they were hugging their respective side of the bed. :-)
In all, this was a so-so hotel and the price was definitely steep for what we got. However, the law of supply and demand prevailed as they were turning people away if they didn't have a reservation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank springmissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall, Minnesota
Level Contributor
143 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed here two times last week, once on the way to our vacation desination and once on the way back. The hotel is clean & well kept. Check in was good. Breakfast was good, nice sized breakfast area. Price is a little steep for the area. We would have given top ratings for all categories, but our only negative was that we had a smoke alarm go off in the middle of the night on our last night's stay. The overnight staff person was quick to replace the battery, however, that was a night of sleep interrupted that could have been prevented. We expected the "satisfaction guarantee" that is touted by Hampton to result in a free night's room after this but it did not. Still working with Hampton on that one.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeffswmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Platte hotels
1.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites North Platte
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites North Platte
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 18 in North Platte
3.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#14 of 18 in North Platte
3.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oak Tree Inn North Platte
Oak Tree Inn North Platte
#11 of 18 in North Platte
3.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.5 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn - North Platte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn North Platte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn North Platte

Property: Hampton Inn North Platte
Address: 200 Platte Oasis Pkwy, North Platte, NE 69101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nebraska > North Platte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in North Platte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn North Platte 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn North Platte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn North Platte Hotel North Platte
North Platte Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing