We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stayed in October 2011. Avoid this motel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 North Platte
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in North Platte
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Stayed in October 2011. Avoid this motel.”
Reviewed November 2, 2011

I’m accustomed to staying in budget places—from Days Inns to Microtels— and being as happy as a clam, but this was a bad experience. The complex is spread out over several barn-like structures and a dimly lit parking lot. The internal structure was freighting. We’re not heavy people, but just walking around shook the room so violently, the TV and lamps wobbled. While the room was remarkably clean, it was painfully dated and the blankets were wafer thin. The front desk was grumpy in the evening and downright rude in the morning. A rack of judgmental Bible tracks, suggesting motel guests need help with a number of vices, was displayed in the lobby. The breakfast featured ample fruit and waffles, but also thimble-sized muffins and unappetizing slices of white bread, including the heels, in Ziploc baggies. While I don’t expect employees to clean the tables or help me out, I also don’t expect a tip jar on the counter unless they are. This just struck me as odd and annoying. Bottom line, there were several other newer looking motels in the area. I can’t vouch for them, but next time I’ll spend an extra $10 (or so) and hope for better.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    108
    79
    44
    27
See reviews for
93
68
50
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
596 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

It's always a bit of a gamble staying at a hotel in this price range, even with good reviews like this one has. I was pleasantly surprised at how clean and well-kept this one was, and the family that runs it are as nice as it gets. North Platte, NE was my last stop before home on a 3-week west coast trip and I usually stay in the La Quinta Inn here, but it's well over $100 a night and I was trying to save some money for my clients on my expenses. Being a member of Wyndham Rewards, which also includes Super 8 hotels, I thought I'd give this one a try. It's one of the reasons that I love Nebraska, there are such nice family-run places there.

The folks that run this hotel are super nice and they take great care of this hotel and their guests. There are two buildings, the main hotel where the front desk and breakfast area are and also an adjacent building with two levels of rooms. I had a top level room in the adjacent building and it was great. It's far enough from Interstate 80 so it's not noisy but if you open your window you can hear the soothing (for me anyway) sounds of the traffic which I personally love to hear. It's music to my ears and this hotel is the perfect distance from the freeway. The room was very well apppointed and hospital clean. A lot of Super 8 hotels are offering standard refrigerators which is very nice. Also, an ironing board/iron, hair dryer, and a full range of soaps, shampoos, and lotions and a great bed were in this room. What a bonus for this very reasonably priced room.

As is usually the case, I didn't partake in the breakfast because there weren't any protein options but there were a lot of folks in there enjoying what they had: toast, waffles, etc. There are a few restaurants and fast food places close by and also a Starbucks which is my usual breakfast stop. That was super convenient.

I would highly recommend this hotel and will be back on my next trip through this beautiful area. Western Nebraska is super scenic and historical if a person takes the time to explore the hills and parks and trails. I can't wait to return to this area!

Room Tip: I like top floor rooms in wood-framed hotels so I don't have the sound of the person in the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottyG777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pagosa Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

After having a bad expirience at another hotel in North Platte (I ended up asking for a refund even after they showed me 5 different rooms!)....I ventured over to the Super 8. My brother had already told me he had stayed there before and had a nice room....but thought I should look around first. What a mistake...LOL. He was totally right! The girl at the front desk was Awesome.....I, of course, asked to see the room before I paid for it...and she was right. She said she thought I would be happy with it and I was! I ended up in room # 109...a jacuzzi (?) suite and it was the same price as I had paid at the Awful place on the other side of the Interstate. Too good to be true!! The room was very clean...had a comfortable bed and I felt safe too. (woman traveling alone). Can't say enough....except Very Happy with this hotel. Check it out!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misskitty033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douds IA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Room was clean. Continental breakfast area was a bit crowded, but accessible. Staff friendly and courteous. Not a bad value. Located convenient to interstate and other businesses.

Room Tip: There is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a116jxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
omaha
Level Contributor
85 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

have stayed at this Super 8 a lot over the years it is a great value and the breakfast is an added bonus

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kjmk95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

Conveniently located, motel was well kept, interestingly designed, comfortable beds, and nice breakfast area. We did see a cockroach in our room though.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tunervince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

At $62 it was a reasonable priced but the hotel and roome were showing its age. I think they were trying but missing the mark. The room was reasonable clean and not smelly (including not sprayed with masking fragrance) but the linens were old and discolored. We put the towels over the pillow cases (try Oxyclean and soak overnight). An old white pillowcase is OK but not an old gray pillowcase. Pillows were old and flat - and only 2 skinny pillows. The breakfast coffee was extremely watered down. On this road trip we got much better hotels for about the same price - so shop more before selecting this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Jazzy070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these North Platte hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Platte hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 18 in North Platte
3.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
2.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites North Platte
1.0 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn - North Platte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#14 of 18 in North Platte
3.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn North Platte
Hampton Inn North Platte
#1 of 18 in North Platte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
2.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#5 of 18 in North Platte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 North Platte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 North Platte

Property: Super 8 North Platte
Address: 220 W Eugene Ave, Jct I-80 & Hwy 83 Ext 177, North Platte, NE 69101-9402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nebraska > North Platte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in North Platte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 North Platte 2*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Super 8 North Platte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 North Platte Hotel North Platte
Super Eight North Platte
North Platte Super Eight
North Platte Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing