We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome”

Union Pacific Railroad Bailey Yard
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

We live here, but be sure that all our visitors see these sites. For this being the largest classification yard in the world the admission price is very nominal. Buffalo Bill's Ranch is also very interesting, with such historical value.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ardis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    47
    9
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level Contributor
348 reviews
208 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Awesome Rail Yard”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

The Union Pacific Bailey Rail Yard was a great stop. It is the biggest rail yard of this type in the world. There is a 5 minute film about the rail yard which gives all the statistics about the number of trains that are assembled and disseminated on a daily basis, how the engine operates, the hump bridge which is instrumental on assembling the trains, and the number of people that work in this yard. In the tower, a docent explained what was happening in the yard as we watched. We enjoyed seeing and hearing about how these trains are pulled together but found the kids tended to be bored.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FrequentTraveler696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Missouri
Level Contributor
451 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“bailey yard is railfest best option”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

come to north platte for railfest in the fall every year. they allow bus guided tours thru the yards and you go all around inside the yards close to the trains. you watch the trains being built going over the humps and you get to look inside the diesel servicing building. they always have some special engines to inspect during railfest. this year it was a restored GM streamiliner diesel from UP. i had hoped to see one of their steam engines but not this year. our tour guide was an active duty engineer that runs from north platte to council bluffs and he answered every question and was very knowledgeable.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank lmij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“We drove 23 hours to get here, and weren't sorry”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Now, we find railroads interesting, and had read the fine article about Bailey Yard in Trains magazine before visiting, and that helped us enjoy our visit.

The tour bus left from Cody Park during Railfest and drove through Bailey Yard while the tour guide narrated. There was one 20 min. stop at the diesel repair garage, where several beautifully restored "heritage" diesel engines were on display. Other than that, we remained on the bus while it drove through the yard.

Our tour guide had recently retired from Union Pacific after 27? years. His long service, insider perspective, and obvious love of railroads, made for interesting stories about the various places in the yard.

The sound system on the bus was turned up too high; it made me wince a couple of times. Photography while on the bus was difficult due to reflections on the windows.

We were pleased to be able to see this enormous operation up close and watch the trains being built up.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jt_home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
153 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wow what a site....a must see rail fans”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

What a super place to visit. We were there for railfest 2013 and had a two hour bus tour interior yards, work places, etc. it was the best one we ever had. I have never been so close up to the inner workings...and the "hump" was fascinating. What a treat! Unfortunately this special day only happens once a year by appointment only! If you are a rail fan and have the chance...GO!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Union Pacific Railroad Bailey Yard also viewed

 

Been to Union Pacific Railroad Bailey Yard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing