We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FUN PLACE TO STOP” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fort Cody Trading Post

Fort Cody Trading Post
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The FUN store known Coast-to-Coast! Fort Cody has been a beacon on the Nebraska Prairie since 1963! Family owned and operated, Fort Cody is more than just a store. Our Old West Museum features some of the finest, vintage cowboy gear anywhere! See Buffalo Bill's Wild West Show, in Miniature! It is a 20,000 piece, hand carved and painted, animated display and is one of the finest displays of Folk Art you will ever see! Our gift shop features over 800 book titles, Native American arts and crafts, Nebraska food products, toys, jewelry, T-shirts, leather goods, and so much more!
Fort Worth/Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
80 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“FUN PLACE TO STOP”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

this place is worth stopping for It is right off the highway They have great items for sale that are native to the area as well as exceptional souveniers They have a detailed miniature set up of the Buffalo Bill show as it was back in the day It comes alive and some of the figurines and structures move every 10 or 15 minutes or so The museum has some very unique and interesting items to see And it's free Then you can go in the back and check out the structures and set up there with some great photo ops We had a lot of fun here

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank yatzee25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh H, Owner at Fort Cody Trading Post, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thanks so much for stopping!!! We love Buffalo Bill's Wild West Show in Miniature, too. Can you believe that was entirely hand carved and constructed by a man and his wife? We are proud to share it with the rest of the world! Come again sometime!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    44
    18
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
84 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Definite tourist trap”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Maybe it was because we had just driven on a motorcycle almost 250 miles with only a 10-15 minute break, or maybe it was because it was mid 90's and humid to boot. But, we were not overly impressed with the Fort Cody Trading Post. The "museum" paled in comparison to many others the area and farther west have to offer. The gift shop is full of the cheesy little items that you buy thinking you are getting something great for the kids, but can't wait to throw in the trash a week later. This place was definitely not our thing, but if you are looking for somewhere to stop with the kids to cool off, and let them blow a few bucks - this is for you.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank lynnp636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh H, Owner at Fort Cody Trading Post, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
We're sorry we didn't meet your expectations! Try us again sometime when you're not so tired. We are celebrating our 50th year in 2013, so I guess a lot of people DO enjoy our free museum, Buffalo Bill's Miniature Wild West Show in Miniature, and gift shop. Our museum has several pieces now on loan to the Nebraska State Historical Society, so yes, we've got some pretty choice items. And yes, we have a lot of inexpensive toys for kids but we also carry over 1000 western history book titles, the largest selection of Minnetonka Moccasins in the midwest, and the largest selection of handmade Native American arts, crafts, and jewelry in Nebraska! We also are a member of GROWNebraska, and feature dozens of Nebraska-made items. Give us another try sometime and thanks for stopping!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Live music”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

It was great. Staying in town for one night and we heard about this place. Live music and food on a week day in the outside fenced area. The kids loved the place and they had really cool buys. We loved it and would go back if we ever traveled this was again.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank smoothrider_31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh H, Owner at Fort Cody Trading Post, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your visit! This is Fort Cody's 50th year! And, this is summer #3 of the Fort Cody Music Series, which has been a LOT of fun! Thanks for writing!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
363 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Howdy and Welcome to Nebraska's Largest Souvenir and Western Gift Store”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Blast from the past! Great place to visit with the family. Make sure to give the kids $5 or so, so they can do their own shopping. Very well stocked western gift store including such staples as old time candy and fake buffalo poop. The "small" but very complete display of Buffalo Bill's Wild West Show in Miniature is great. Nice place to stretch your legs or take some pictures. The Trading Post is just off the main North Platte exit, #177 on I-80, near several motels and restaurants.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mtscribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh H, Owner at Fort Cody Trading Post, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for the kind words! We are glad you stopped and then took time to write. This is our 50th year, started in 1963! Do come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1,407 reviews
867 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 579 helpful votes
“Buffalo Bill has still got it !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

OK , it might be cheezy and a tourist trap but there is not much else going on in North Platte on a cold November day ! We had the place to ourselves and unbeknown to myself while out the back checking out the Fort the wife made a few purchases which filled a few Xmas stockings ! The Wild West reproduction is cute and the memorabilia is well worth the stop and visit , strange two headed calf etc ! Lots of different western themed knick knacks and pretty good value all up. The lady in charge that morning was extremely pleasant , knowledgeable and a real pleasure to chat too! Made two strangers feel right welcome !! Also it is free to peruse !!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Skeney57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh H, Owner at Fort Cody Trading Post, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thanks for stopping at Fort Cody!! We're glad you had a pleasant experience, and do hope you'll be back in the States sometime soon! G'day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Cody Trading Post also viewed

 

Been to Fort Cody Trading Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing