We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“trains and more”
Review of Cody Park

Cody Park
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Saint Joseph, Missouri
Level Contributor
451 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“trains and more”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

we visited cody park during railfest this september. it is clean and well kept. there is a special area where they have a huge , challenger steam locomotive and tender beside a huge Centennial UP diesel engine. you can climb up and go inside both of them. they have a train staion to examine and learn about railroad. there is a mail car with many exhibits inside and its all free admission. the park was filled with familys and vendors during the railfest. i think they had musical shows and kiddie rides. and there was an ice cream shop concession.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank lmij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    43
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Rides for young kids, animals to feed, real trains to explore”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Very clean, large park with lots to do with your children. Many animals roam large areas of the park, but fenced in. You can feed them through the fence. We visited in the evening and it was a perfect family outing. Small amusement rides are quite nice when lit up at dusk. There's about a half dozen rides are for young children, under age 8, I'd say. Carousel is for everyone! Cost is very reasonable, just a couple dollars per ride. Ice cream stand, clean bathrooms, and very pleasant staff manning the rides, unlike many of the folks you find at fair rides. The people enjoying the park were very pleasant. Many elderly folks talking at the picnic area eating ice cream, and young families. Very safe and enjoyable...we even whispered to ourselves, "where are the punk teenagers?" There were none, it was a classic Midwestern American small town family gathering place you don't seem to find anymore. The train area was closed in the evening. We visited it the next day and it was also fabulous. You can climb inside the huge steam locomotive and also the diesel. There was hardly anyone there, so we had the engines to ourselves and our 5 year old could not get enough of sitting in the driver's seat and asking me about every button or lever. When about to leave, find the bell down by the wheels of the diesel and ring it by hand...but be ready for every other kid to ring it non stop after they discover it....nothing like a train bell. The park is a real treasure for such a small town. Don't miss it!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chevy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
326 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Interesting trains Good kid stop”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

One of the largest steam locomotives ever built was huge! Saw a mail train for the first time on the inside. Yes, you can walk through many of the cars.

All kids rides were closed so check before you go if you have children.

Statue is enclosed in glass and metal bars like a jail--very disappointing.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank PhDNana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
134 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Beautiful Park”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We visited Cody Park to see the trains but found a beautiful park being enjoyed by visitors of all ages. The park has an old fashioned merry-go-round and a couple of other rides for the kids. There is also a concession stand where we understand they serve the best ice cream to be found in the area. There is a zoo area with live animals including deer, geese, llamas and a bevy of other animals. The trains on exhibit include a UP DD40X and a Challenger steam engine that you can board. This is a nice destination for a relaxing walk or just a nice drive.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank DB514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Child paradise”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This park has anything a child could want. There are small rides for preschoolers to young elementary kids (a child can ride all the rides one time for $2). There are three playgrounds, a swimming pool, animals (llamas, geese, ducks, peacocks, buffalo, etc) and a concession stand with good food and treats. Adults and older kids will enjoy the tennis courts, disc golf course softball fields and space to wander and explore. A great place to stretch your legs, enjoy the great outdoors.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cody Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing