We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was great and server was AMAZING”

Whiskey Creek Wood Fire Grill
Ranked #3 of 82 Restaurants in North Platte
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: A small, family-owned group of restaurants, we have been hand-crafting food since 1995. Featuring wood-fired grilled steaks cooked over full-sized logs of oak and ash, award-winning BBQ slow smoked on premise, homemade desserts and much more.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food was great and server was AMAZING”
Reviewed September 2, 2014

This place was recommended by the front desk staff at The Holiday Inn Express across the river. When we arrived the hostess was less than friendly, but I'm glad we looked past this because the rest of the evening was great! We were seated and immediately greeted by a friendly buss person who brought water. I asked her what her favorite dish was, and she quickly gave us several suggestions. Soon after, our server arrived and she was great. Obviously enjoyed her job and was confident in her ability to do the job. Everything from the appetizer to the dessert was great. I had chicken fried chicken, 2 had filet mignon that they raved about, and one child had pasta. None of us were disappointed. Food is food and can be done well or done badly.. we were lucky the food was great. The service was amazing and that alone will bring me back if I'm ever back in North Platte.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 21blakjak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    159
    108
    43
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly service”
Reviewed August 30, 2014

The barbeque was great, and the service was very good as well. I highly recommend it. The restaurant is conveniently located right off I-80.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Berci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
181 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Welcoming and good food”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

It was open late when we needed a meal after a long drive, and the staff were friendly and efficient, the food plentiful (too much in fact) and tasty.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank StevenBeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton TX
Level Contributor
110 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“very good”
Reviewed August 23, 2014

we weren't impressed with our waitress because she seemed to be in a big hurry. then the salads arrived. those were not very good...one small cherry tomato and old lettuce. but our dinner came out and we were all pleasantly surprised at how good it was! the chopped steak was grilled perfectly and tasted great. the baked potato was fresh and the perfect size. french fries were very good as was the hamburger!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lynn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
216 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Food Fine, Ambiance...Not So Much”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

We went to Whiskey Creek because this chain can usually be counted on to provide a decent dinner at a reasonable price, and we were not disappointed in that regard. We ordered prime rib. The salad that preceded it was mediocre. The lettuce was bumping up against its use-by date and the tomatoes were past it. The prime rib, however, was a good bargain. It was a little tough but was done just right. My main complaint was that the horseradish sauce was thin and watery. Order regular horseradish with it and mix them together.

Our service was excellent. When our entrees arrived within seconds of our salads, our server took them back and provided us with fresh prime ribs when we were ready.

We ate in the bar because we didn't have to wait for a table there, and therein lay the problem. Our end of the bar had been taken over by four or five drunks who felt compelled to shout obscenities and insults at one another (their favorite was "retard" but there were others I will not print). This was apparently o.k. with the management, because nobody ever came back there to ask them to be considerate of others who lacked their sense of humor and outlook on life. Just another Friday night in North Platte, I guess. I would advise you not to sit in the bar, but that might not save you from folks such as these, because only a low wall separates the bar from the dining area, and the latter is very close to the former. Tell whomever seats you to keep you far away from there, especially if you are with children.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank plainsrefugee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whiskey Creek Wood Fire Grill also viewed

 
North Platte, NE
 

Been to Whiskey Creek Wood Fire Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing