We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DISGUSTING MILDEW/MOLD and online info is misleading!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
New Victorian Inn & Suites Norfolk
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Norfolk
Certificate of Excellence
Gillette, Wyoming
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“DISGUSTING MILDEW/MOLD and online info is misleading!”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

After a long trip, my husband, two small children and I arrived at the hotel very late. Although the gentleman at the front desk was very curtious, it took him about 20 minutes to check us in. To get to our room, we had to use a back entrance, I was concerned about the lack of security measures because that entrance was unlocked but shook it off since it is a smaller chain hotel. When we arrived to the door of our room, there was a pack n play that appeared dirty waiting in the hallway. We then entered our room expecting the decent, clean accommodation that I saw on all the online pictures used for advertisement and were hit with an overwhelming mildew/mold odor. The room was also extremely out dated and unwelcoming. Concerned with the health of our children, ages 3 and 1, my husband went to the front desk to address the issue with the front desk clerk, Kenneth. Kenneth was adament that we were wrong and that it was impossible for there to be mildew or mold in that building. my husband informed him that our family has severe allergies and asthma and he was sure that Kenneth was not qualified to tell us whether the room had mildew/mold and was suitable for our family's needs. Kenneth's solution was to come spray our room with something to cover the smell or he could place us in a different room for the night and air the original room out which we would have to return to for the remaining two nights that we had reserved. My husband told him that those measures would only mask the issue and not solve it. At that time we decided to obtain a room at another hotel and requested a refund. I have stayed at quite a few hotels in the past and this one is one of the worst I have seen. After our experience, i question the legitimacy of most of the written reviews i have found online. there is NO WAY that this is a honestly top rated hotel! We were fortunate to have found a very nice, clean room at a well established hotel for the same price.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Britster_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NVI_Owner, Owner at New Victorian Inn & Suites Norfolk, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Hi Britster,
We are sorry we failed to meet your expectations.
After you left, our management inspected the room and discovered the PTAC (room heat/air unit) drain had become plugged and the water from the air conditioning unit was not draining, but rather accumulating in the drain pan. After opening the drain, the problem was solved.
Again, I am sorry your room had this issue. This is not a normal problem, and was quickly fixed.
Kenneth was correct in his initial assessment that there was not any mold/mildew.

We do have 16 video cameras to monitor and record movement at every entry, in all hallways, pool room, and other areas of interest. We do take guest security seriously.

I am sorry that our pack and play was left in the hall rather than put in your room.
The pack-n-plays we have are sanitized after each use. Many travelers bring their own pak-n-play and other infant necessary items.

I again apologize your experience did not meet your expectations.
The positive reviews from our other guests do reflect a true picture of our properties.
Thanks,
DON
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    31
    10
    7
    9
See reviews for
66
29
27
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
88 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

With fresh coffee offered at all hours, gracious desk clerks and immaculate rooms, this is a great inn. Breakfast was replete with boiled eggs, yogurt, fresh fruit and delicious toaster waffles. The location can't be beat and the rooms are very comfortable. TV was large and easy to see. If the air conditioner had not cycled on and off, the rating would have been a 5.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Galoshes2Heels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NVI_Owner, Owner at New Victorian Inn & Suites Norfolk, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you Andy for taking time to give us a TripAdvisor review.
Reviews help other travelers by letting them know the value of the New Victorian Group.
Our cleanliness, large 42" flat screens, microwaves, refrigerators, and iron with ironing board are included in every guest room.

Our 26 item breakfast bar, and the long serving hours (5 a,m, - 11 a.m. Mo-Sa, 11 a.m.- 12 noon Su) are also a huge plus, because we figure you pay for your breakfast, the least we can do is have the breakfast room open and ready for you when you choose to eat breakfast. We also make a point that the last breakfast guest has the same choices the first breakfast guest had.

Thank you,
Don
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, NE
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

There's only one best place to stay in Norfolk, NE. It's here. The whole place is very clean. The pool and hot tub are wonderful. And the free breakfast is incredible. And for all of this the price is more than fair. This should always be the first place you check and cross your fingers it's not already booked.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Regularry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairview Heights, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 14, 2013

My sis and I spent five nights here and had such a great stay. The room was clean and very comfortable. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The cost was excellent for what we fast very good with many choices and the dining area was always clean. The pool an hot tub just added more pleasure! I would recommend this hotel and plan on staying there anytime I go back home!

Room Tip: I have a hard time doing steps so they made sure my room was on lower level. Let them know your need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Della M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have stayed at New Victorian Inn countless times in Norfolk, Nebraska. One can say it is Northeast Nebraska best kept secret where it is simply the best.

The staff is extremely friendly, competent, and very compassionate to guest with their needs. They are on target with their mission of purpose as a business with a personal touch.

Extremely clean and neat always, and the place is very quiet so as a guest you can rest anytime day and night.

The breakfast buffet is substantial, clean and the selction of food is always available.

If you stay here, you will walk away with a smile with certainity, where when you check out the price is right as it is an overall value that cannot be beat anywhere in the Midwest.

Chuck Ramold

Room Tip: The Business or Honeymoon Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NVI_Owner, Owner at New Victorian Inn & Suites Norfolk, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Than you for your kind words and also for sharing your experiences with the world. As you know, our staff are professionals at their individual jobs and take their jobs very seriously, knowing tha your satisfaction is the end goal of their job. Getting great reviews rewards our staff for their continuous efforts to meet or exceed your expectations.

Thank you for choosing to stay with the New Victorian Group.

P.S. If you need lodging in a town other than Norfolk, we are also located in Lincoln, York, Kearney, and Sioux City, and we offer equal amenities, staff, cleanliness, and value at every location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

It is obvious that this is an older building that this ownership has made an effort to upgrade. The bathrooms especially looked great. Super kind manager. Discovered I was in town for my grandmother's funeral and called to confirm our reservation and gave us an unasked for bereavement rate.

The price for what you get is stupendous. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank B M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NVI_Owner, Owner at New Victorian Inn & Suites Norfolk, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
I offer our condolences for your loss.
Thank you for choosing to stay with the New Victorian Inn, and for taking time to write a review for us. Being a small non-branded hospitality property, we need your help to tell the world that the NVI Value and Amenities are 'for real'.

Our staff works hard for your business, and we work very hard to be able to offer drill sergeant white glove cleanliness. We appreciate your kind comments.

We look forward to your return visit to Norfolk and the New Victorian Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S.W. Iowa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We picked this motel because of the reviews. It was rated very well so thought we would have a similar opinion of it. Well, we didn't find it as appealing, and here is why: The walls are very thin. We could hear children out in the hallway on several occasions during our stay. The wall next to the bathroom is also paper thin and an early morning shower woke everyone up. We were also not impressed with the lobby area, it just seemed small and cold. The public computer was frustratingly slow. That being said and out of the way, the rooms were very clean. Nothing was out of sorts and working. Although they were nothing special, the room decor and maintenance was sufficient. All rooms come with microwave and refrigerator, which is a nice bonus. Free breakfast was available. It was fine. They had biscuits and gravy, all types of pastry's, cereals, and breads.
We will probably try another motel on our next trip to Norfolk, but since it was very clean and the staff was friendly, we will still keep this one in mind.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelsmightlaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NVI_Owner, Owner at New Victorian Inn & Suites Norfolk, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with the New Victorian Inn.
I apologize for the inconvenience of the noises that were bothering. Hallway noises can be controlled to a certain degree if our front desk is notified of children in the hallway.

We are sorry that the guest computer was running slow - we actually do have a very fast internet coming into our building. Someone is checking out the lobby PC as I respond.
Did you mention to our front desk agent of this issue?

We welcome you back on your next visit to Norfolk, as our cleanliness, amenities, and overall value are far greater than we were given credit for in your review. If you stay at equally priced lodging you will be extremely disappointed, and if you stay at similarly amenity equipped lodging you will spend $50+/- more.

See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norfolk hotels
1.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn Norfolk
Rodeway Inn Norfolk
#5 of 8 in Norfolk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
3.0 mi away
Norfolk Lodge & Suites Ascend Collection
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Norfolk
Hampton Inn Norfolk
#1 of 8 in Norfolk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk
0.3 mi away
Norfolk Country Inn
Norfolk Country Inn
#6 of 8 in Norfolk
3.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Norfolk
Super 8 Norfolk
#8 of 8 in Norfolk
3.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Victorian Inn & Suites Norfolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Victorian Inn & Suites Norfolk

Property: New Victorian Inn & Suites Norfolk
Address: 1001 W Omaha Ave, Norfolk, NE 68701-5700
Location: United States > Nebraska > Norfolk
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — New Victorian Inn & Suites Norfolk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the unbeatable combination of comfort, value and service you will enjoy while staying with the New Victorian Inn & Suites in Norfolk, NE. Conveniently located only a few blocks east of the intersection of Hwy 275 and Hwy 81, this Nebraska owned hotel provides a complimentary deluxe breakfast bar open extended hours every day. Guest rooms include a flat screen TV, refrigerator, microwave, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, complimentary local calls and high speed wireless internet. Our property amenities include a heated indoor swimming pool and hot tub, a business center and guests have access to an offsite 24/7 workout facility for no extra cost. We look forward to having you be our guest at the New Victorian Inn & Suites of Norfolk, NE! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your New Victorian Inn & Suites Norfolk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Victorian Inn And Suites
New Victorian Hotel Norfolk
New Victorian Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing