We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not really a Bistro” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Franklin's Bistro

Franklin's Bistro
Ranked #5 of 67 Restaurants in Norfolk
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
El Dorado Hills, Ca
Level Contributor
224 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Not really a Bistro”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

When I think Bistro... I think Bistro eating is a style of cooking that involves using fresh, local ingredients to produce delicious, and nutritionally healthy recipes. Not frozen onion rings or chicken strips. Sadly, that's what we found at Franklins. It's not all bad. The burnt ends in a pasta dish were good, I was told. Pass... Not worth it as there are better options in town. On a positive note, the server was great.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MikeandJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    14
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Poor Food Quality”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

Went into restaurant late in evening with family, food quality was poor and waitress acted like she wanted to go home. Cheese on sandwich was not melted and kids meal portion was small. Appetizer was inedible and sent it back. Hopefully things will improve

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FoodReview123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierce, Nebraska
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic Find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

I'm really shocked that Franklin's doesn't rate higher among the restaurants of Norfolk. It's truly been a fantastic find for us and we're looking forward to going back again and again.

The staff is super friendly and attentive. Our server was so kind with my mom.

The food was slightly higher priced than is common around here, but it's definitely worth it. We kept comparing it to Applebee's. The prices were similar, if not a bit less at Franklin's, but more importantly, the food was so much better at Franklin's! Everything had that little extra touch that made it stand out. I wasn't expecting much when I found out a side salad came with my pasta. I was shocked when my beautiful salad arrived! Everything we ordered was not only delicious (my husband kept raving about his burger), but well presented and larger portions than we were expecting.

We loved the decor. We all agreed it was our ideal interior for a restaurant. Things were spaced out enough that you didn't feel cramped and the lighting and decorations were perfect.

All in all we were impressed and we had a perfect lunch out.

Thanks, Franklin's Bistro! You're doing a great job!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mainky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Nebraska
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Chicken Tortilla Salad”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

I have only ordered a few of the menu items and found the chicken tortilla salad to be my favorite! So I never order anything else, you won't be disappointed if you order this salad.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Nebraska
1 review
“Best Anniversary dinner EVER!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Went to Franklin's for our anniversary dinner. It was by far the best steak I have ever had in my life!! Cooked exactly the way I asked and devinely flavored. They suggested a wine for me and it was SPECTACULAR!!! Husband's meal was just as tasty and we had an amazing time. Staff were so nice and accomodating! We will back and back!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jillybean1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Franklin's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing