We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favourite places”
Review of Plodda Falls

Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Tomich
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Middlewich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“One of my favourite places”
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Plodda is a bit awkward to find but well worth it when you get there. There are two routes to the falls - the signposted one takes you through a forest walk to the top of the waterfall. The other takes you to the old stables (now cottages), through the forestry gate, wade across the shallow river and walk upstream to the bottom of the waterfall. When you're at Plodda take time to stop at the now ruined Guisachan House for a look

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    56
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Awesome view from above”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

The Plodda Falls lie a few miles south of the small village of Tomich in Inverness-shire. There is a car-park and the forest walk to the Falls in only 400 metres. We were surprised by the height of the Falls, over 40 metres. There is a viewing platform that overhangs the top of the falls, so you can view the water cascading down to the rocks below - but not a view for those with vertigo! There was a fair amount of water when we were there, but during the wetter months it would be spectacular. But compared to falls that I have seen in Norway, it was only a trickle - it would only be a 1-star there.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeSinclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeenshire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“worth going out of your way for.”
Reviewed November 13, 2011

This was worth going a bit out of the way for. Far better than just driving round loch ness. Lovely walk and the falls are worth going to see, although i think they would be more spectacular in Feb / March when in full spate. Take the falls walk rather than the 300m walk to come across the waterfall at the best angle. It is a easy walk - and I don't like walking and not very fit. We took a leisurely walk down to the falls. Our trip lasted about 90 mins but we were just sitting and appreciating quite often. There were lots of other walks there and could have spent a lot longer if we had wanted.
The forestry commission have done an excellent job of making and maintaining paths and the veiwing platform certainally gives an idea of the drop.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank scottishpixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Well worth the random and tight drive, good view point from the over head bridge, and worth walking down the bottom as the view from there is better

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank scott080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed October 23, 2011

Well worth a visit, quite spectacular and there are some lovely walks around the falls

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank lewis h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plodda Falls also viewed

 
Tomich, Scottish Highlands
Contin, Ross and Cromarty
 

Been to Plodda Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing