We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another Place & Time” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Whispering Pines Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nebraska City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Whispering Pines Bed and Breakfast
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another Place & Time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2011

Our visit to Whispering Pines was our 1st B & B experience and will not be our last. We needed an "escape" from work stress but only had 1 day to get away. When my husband sent me the advertised special for WP, I jumped on it. NE City in the fall-What could be more relaxing? We did have a little trouble finding places on the map that was sent, since the locations were not identified. When we arrived, we were greeted by the warm and friendly Jeanna who oriented us to her accommodations. We stayed upstairs in the Traveler Room, which was quaint. I was pleasantly surprised since I took "Traveler" to mean the room was designed for an in-and-out business person. Instead, the room was decorated with a world traveler theme. The set up of our 2 rooms felt like something we would find in Europe. The bedroom had a wall-hung TV that could swing around for viewing from the sitting room. I enjoyed all of the little details in our room that gave me sense that I was in another place and time. I kind of felt like I was in one of those old romantic movies. Even the small fridge was tucked away under a covered table so as to not interfere with the nostalgic decor. The modern shower was cleverly positioned in the sitting room in a way that did not distract. The commode was tucked in a closet-sized space with only a curtain for privacy, which was a little odd; however, a door would have made the space too tight. I very much enjoyed our room, although the bed was a tad bit uncomfortable. After dinner and a walk around Arbor Lodge, we returned to WP where we found the place to ourselves. So, we grabbed our bottle of champagne and headed to the outdoor jacuzzi. What a blast! Although there was only one visible star in the sky due to cloud cover, we enjoyed the cool, crisp air while we were enveloped by the hot bubbly water. As we curled up sipping our beverage, we watched a big buck just feet away taking drinks from the small pond on the property. This was actually the 2nd deer in the yard that we had admired that day. In the morning, we were treated like royalty as Jeanna served us a lovely breakfast. It was quite a treat. After breakfast, we headed to Jane's for our complimentary coffee to take along for a stroll through the Sterling grounds. We were disappointed to find it closed. We did, however, very much enjoy the stroll! On the way out of town, we stopped by the Lewis and Clark museum (which was not yet open) and took a hike through the wooded hillside that overlooks the MO river. It was a splendid escape and I am ready to go back!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LArmeda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    9
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
10
39
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

My husband and I spent our 2nd Annivesary and this wonderful B&B. We stayed in the "Rose Room" and loved it! The whole place had such a warm feel to it, and Jeanna the Innkeeper was amazing. She was very personable and an amazing chef! We enjoyed walking around the grounds, and relaxing in the hammock under the stars. We will be back again!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2011

My husband and I decided that we needed to get away for a few days to relax. Whispering Pines is a frequent destination for us so we decided to go and spend two nights in the Barn. We had a wonderful time! The Barn is located down the property from the main house. It has a king size bed, sitting area with TV and its own bathroom. There is an additional bed in the Barn but we only needed the one bed since it was just the two of us. It was so nice just being able to relax and unwind for a few days. We had a nice time walking around the property too. The breakfasts were delicious! Jeanna is such a gracious and friendly Innkeeper and Hostess. We will definitely return again in the future. Thanks again.

Room Tip: The Barn is very private since it is located on the property separate from the Main House.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PrincessLea3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granby
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

The atmosphere of a home is what makes a home away from home comfortable and inviting. Jeanna our wonderful Inn Keeper made us feel welcome the moment we stepped into her Bed and Breakfast. I felt as if I was visiting an ole friend I hadn't seen in a long time. Our room felt very private even though we were in a home with 6 other guests. Breakfast was delicious and talking to other guests was delightful. Jeanna has done a wonderful job of keeping the inside of the Inn clean and comfortable. The yard and back porch was very nice but could do with a little extra touches to make it more appealing. However our favorite part of the night was laying in the hammock and enjoying the serenity of it all. The babbling fountain was a very calm and relaxing touch. I can't wait to visit again.

Karon and Colville,


Omaha, NE

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed at Whispering Pines for several days for a family reunion and found it to be a gem of a place. Geana (the owner) was gracious, fun and a terrific cook! Breakfast was so delicious the first day that we made arrangements for other family members to join us on subsequent days and Geana charmed them all. (Do not pass up the Rhubarb Coffeecake and the Baked French Toast!!!). The house is lovely, well appointed (read - comfortable beds, great bathrooms and nice linens) and spacious. The grounds are huge and park-like, with gardens, a hammock and big shady oak trees, there were so many fireflies at night it was majical. The house has a big breezy porch with lots of comfy chairs, a perfect place to read and relax. The town is historic and has multiple parks, it's a beautiful spot. Had we known about Whispering Pines we would have booked the entire house. We highly recommend staying here for any reason, including weddings and parties! Geana is a perfect host, we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are beautiful, clean and have fabulous baths, Geana will accomodate dogs too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ffly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2011

Whispering Pines is a fantastic escape. A beautiful setting lets you disconnect from the tech world and get in touch with nature again. The gourmet food draws you back in to enjoy the moment and reconnect with your senses. The rooms and amenities are luxurious and comfortable, providing a nice retreat between sightseeing and exploring. The hot tub is the perfect way to end the day. There are fun things to do close by, we traveled with a 3yr old and 3 month old, and managed to make it to the arbor lodge park with the must see whispering bench, the tree adventure and the firefighter museum. Overall great value for money and a lovely retreat.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MariaBurpee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2010

We love Whispering Pines! This was our fourth visit, but the first with two young children in tow. Jeanna was incredibly accomodating, and made sure we had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. The Traveler's Room is huge, with a king size bed for parents, daybed that was perfect for our three year old, and plenty of space for the baby's pack and play. Breakfast was wonderful as always, and once the kids went to sleep we enjoyed the hot tub. Looking forward to a visit again soon; thanks for the hospitality, Jeanna!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MUAMY72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nebraska City
0.7 mi away
Lied Lodge & Conference Center
Lied Lodge & Conference Center
#2 of 3 in Nebraska City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Nebraska City Inn
BEST WESTERN Nebraska City Inn
#1 of 3 in Nebraska City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
4.3 mi away
Super 8 Nebraska City
Super 8 Nebraska City
#1 of 2 in Percival
3.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Motel 6 Percival
Motel 6 Percival
#2 of 2 in Percival
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
1.6 mi away
Deluxe Inn
Deluxe Inn
#3 of 4 in Nebraska City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whispering Pines Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispering Pines Bed and Breakfast

Property: Whispering Pines Bed and Breakfast
Address: 21st St. And Sixth Ave., Nebraska City, NE 68410
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nebraska > Nebraska City
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Nebraska City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing