We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Minimoon at the Lied Lodge” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lied Lodge & Conference Center

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Lied Lodge & Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Nebraska City
Certificate of Excellence
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Minimoon at the Lied Lodge”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

My new husband and I recently stayed at Lied Lodge for our "minimoon". I will start off with the positives. First of all, the scenery outside was breathtaking. If you choose to go here, go during the autumn. I think we picked the perfect time, which was the first week in October. It is a short walk away from Arbor Lodge State Historical Site (which we did not get a chance to go to) and the Arbor Day Farm. The pool area was great. There is a large swimming pool, hot tub, kiddie pool, sauna, and exercise room. The best part about it was that both days we had the whole area to ourselves. Keep in mind we were there during the middle of the week during the school year, so most everyone staying there was there for business. The staff was very friendly and the woman at the front desk was very helpful.

Unfortunately, I have more complaints than praise. The absolute biggest downside are the rooms themselves. We stayed in a first floor patio room with a queen bed. I loved the patio, but everything else about the room was sub-par. The room needed serious updating. The bed was incredibly uncomfortable; the worst two nights of sleep my husband and I can remember for a while. Because of the poor sleep, we had to leave the Tree Adventure after a few hours and go take a nap. By the time we woke up, it was closed. The room was small for the price we paid. Not that this was a huge deal for me, but I was surprised to see a CRT television considering that they strive for eco-friendliness. The thermostat in the room appeared to be just for show. During the day the air conditioner (which was very loud, BTW) ran constantly and it got very chilly. At night the heater kicked on and also ran all night and it got too warm. They say there is only wi-fi available in the lobby and business center, and you need a cord to access the internet in the rooms. Once again, this is surprising considering much of their clientele is business travelers, and, you know, it's 2012. I will tell you, however, we were able to get the wi-fi just fine in our room, and we were just about as far away from the lobby as you can get.

We ate two breakfasts and one dinner at the restaurant. The dinner was overpriced and we did not get enough food to justify the high cost. It was good food, however, but there wasn't much choice and there wasn't a whole lot that appealed to us. The breakfast was paid for because we got the Bed and Breakfast package. You get a voucher for breakfast for each morning you are there and you can order anything off the menu or get the buffet. The breakfast was very good, but I do not believe the B&B Package was worth it. It cost us $20 more a night, and I don't think we would have spent $20 either day. For the price, I think they should have had the option to have the breakfast taken to your room. Side note: We ate dinner one night at Parker's Smokehouse in town. Highly recommended. Cheaper than the restaurant at the hotel and a lot more food.

This is going to sound very silly, but my absolute biggest complaint is this. They say when you go on your honeymoon, you should mention this to as many people as possible because you'll get upgrades. :) The hotel in Omaha (where we stayed the night of the wedding) gave us free breakfast and sent up wine, cheese, and crackers. We did not have such an experience at Lied Lodge. I know, it sounds funny that I'm complaining that we did not get free stuff, but for the price we paid, I would have expected at least a free bottle of wine (after all, they have a winery on site) or maybe a voucher to their on-site spa. Also for the price, I would have expected that the Tree Adventure admission be included, but it was not.

In summary, we had a nice, relaxing trip at the Lied Lodge, but we do not think it was worth the price we paid. We will probably not be back unless they upgrade the rooms and most definitely replace the beds.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Courtney F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LiedLodgeMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Lied Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. You will be pleased to know that room renovations are coming soon to Lied Lodge, so we hope you'll come back again and see for yourself the improvements we're planning. Again, we appreciate your input. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    104
    33
    13
    7
See reviews for
80
106
11
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Racine, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Lied Lodge is a wonderful place to stay whether it is for a quiet getaway or family fun. It is located on Arbor Day farm. You can relax and enjoy its beautiful scenery or take your family on a "tree Adventure".

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eghlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LiedLodgeMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Lied Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you! We're thrilled you enjoyed your visit, and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. We appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

I had an overnight stay (Friday - Saturday) at the Lied Lodge & Conference Center in Nebraska City, NE. My overall experience was slightly above average. When I called down to the front desk to request additional bathroom amenities, the representative said I would have to come down to the front desk because they were short-staffed. Although I thought the overall look and feel of the hotel was nice, the service was average. I was completely shocked by the response of the front desk rep.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FinnOmaha_Nebraska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LiedLodgeMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Lied Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
We appreciate your comments. Based on your feedback, we've re-addressed our service standards from the Front Desk; thank you for showing us a specific area that needed some fine-tuning. Much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
158 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Unfortunately, no one would ever be able to detect this place just driving by. It is hidden in the arboretum and golf course. This is a very unique lodge with beautiful views. My room was on the top floor so it had the dormer window and sloped ceiling feature. The room is very log cabin-like. The bed was comfortable and everything was clean. I attended a meeting here and I thought that the food was actually pretty good. I did not eat in the restaurant so I can't vouch for that. I used the fitness center and went into the pool area. Fitness center is small but it has good equipment. The pool is a lap pool so it is very large, but my only complaint would be that the pool room is kind of dark and dreary. It would be nice if they could open that up and let some more light in. There are beautiful trails around the lodge that are great for a run or a walk. I found no problems with this stay and I really hope to be back! It is a nice change of pace from your run of the mill chain hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank k86j84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LiedLodgeMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Lied Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you! We're glad you meeting at Lied Lodge went well and that your stay was enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
omaha
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

I love NE city, especially in the fall...I love staying at the Lied Lodge, we love it so much there, we got married there. The staff is extra nice and we love the wine tasting. We love drinking at the bar too!!! The only down fall to staying there is the food, which is a shame because they have such a wonderful dining area, too bad the food is not better. There is 1 steak house in town and that is where we always eat. I wish they would change something about their food. I would love to be able to stay there and not have to leave for breakfast or dinner, which we plan on staying this fall. Oh, and I love the beds and the pillows!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gizmo2011_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LiedLodgeMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Lied Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for sharing your feedback, and how neat to hear from someone who got married here! We want every part of your visit -- the beds & pillows, the relaxing atmosphere, and the food, of course -- to be excellent every time. We are glad you're coming to stay again this fall, and we hope you'll give us another chance to deliver our best to you. Thanks again for posting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
126 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Lied Lodge. The lodge rooms were nicely appointed, including a fridge. Beds were comfortable. Bathrooms were small and tight on space, but doable. Nice nods to nature were scattered throughout the room. We had a first floor room, so we could sit on the patio and enjoy the property.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CasualTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LiedLodgeMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Lied Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you! The rooms with patios are always in high demand, especially in the summer. We're glad your visit was enjoyable, and we invite you to stay with us again soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

My husband and I came down for our 2nd wedding anniversary. We stayed on a Monday night at a special rate, a bed and breakfast package. The hotel was beautiful, lodgey. We stayed in a room with a view of the vineyard. The king bed was not only awesome for two people used to a queen, but super comfortable. I wish I could take those pillows home!! We had dinner and breakfast there. Breakfast was amazing, dinner I was slightly less impressed with. But they're options were unique and reasonably priced for a pretty fancy place. The pool was great. I loved the nice deep tub in the bathroom, plus the eco-friendly toiletries. Hotel employees were all friendly and helpful. And the hotel and town as a whole is quaint and nature-y. We had a wonderful time!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side of the hotel have a better view than on the front side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LiedLodgeMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Lied Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you! We're glad your anniversary getaway to Lied Lodge was a good one --- and we wish you many more years together. PS: many other guests have shared your opinion on our pillows, too -- so much so that we keep a supply of brand new ones available for guest purchase! The next time you visit, please ask at the Front Desk and we'll see what we can do for you. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nebraska City
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Nebraska City Inn
BEST WESTERN Nebraska City Inn
#1 of 3 in Nebraska City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
4.9 mi away
Super 8 Nebraska City
Super 8 Nebraska City
#1 of 2 in Percival
3.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
5.0 mi away
Motel 6 Percival
Motel 6 Percival
#2 of 2 in Percival
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Deluxe Inn
Deluxe Inn
#3 of 4 in Nebraska City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Lied Lodge & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lied Lodge & Conference Center

Property: Lied Lodge & Conference Center
Address: 2700 Sylvan Rd, Nebraska City, NE 68410-3381
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nebraska > Nebraska City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Nebraska City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lied Lodge & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lied Lodge & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lied Lodge And Conference Center
Lied Hotel Nebraska City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing