We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, great accommodations, great people”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mullen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glidden Sandhills Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mullen
Montclair, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great value, great accommodations, great people”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Immaculate rooms and comfortable beds are just the start. You're right in the heart of one of North America's finest wildernesses, the 20,000 square miles of the Nebraska Sandhills, and it's not unusual to see an eagle soaring overhead. You can make arrangements to be taken out into the hills to see birds and other wildlife, including greater prairie-chickens and sharp-tailed grouse performing their manic mating displays.
One of a kind and wonderful.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AEW46637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    3
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Being the only choice in the area made debate a moot point so our expectations weren't real high. We got a pretty basic room that was clean and a reasonable value for the price. Owners were friendly and the place is motorcycle friendly. If trains bother you make sure you bring your ear plugs as the trains run at least hourly night and day and the tracks are a few hundred yards from the motel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

We were there for an AMCA motorcycle event. Very clean rooms. The people were real friendly. Forgot pillow & they sentt it to us.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank kbaby44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Sioux City, Nebraska
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2010

This little motel sits right on the side of the road begging you to come in. If you are out there in the middle of nowhere and it is getting late- you are lucky. The rooms are newly remodeled, Quiet and comfortable. The owners are accommodating, and very friendly. A full service restaurant is less than 1/4 mile east on the same road with good food and service for any meal. we were there to see the praire chicken dances in the spring. If you too want an up close and personal experience with a prairie chicken lek- this IS the place to go. The owner of the Motel take you out at 4 in the morning within 20' of them for hours of photo opportunities, and sharing of knowledge. This man knows more about the habits and habitat of these birds than almost anyone. After getting a good comfortable nights sleep we were awaken and off to see them. Oh yeah, we'll do it again, and will stay in the same place , same friendly people- same great experience.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank oldguyrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 333 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2010

You don't have many choices when driving thru the Sandhills of NE, so we felt lucky to find a clean, decent place that would take our dog. The carpet is pretty worn, the AC is noisy and nothing is anything more than just adequate, but we were only there one night. They sure read us the riot act about the dog when we called to find out if they accepted pets, and once I saw the room, I wanted to tell them that the dog is used to cleaner and nicer digs than this! Still, a fair price for a safe and decently maintained room.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LuckyWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kearney,nebr
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2009

One of the cleanest places we have stayed! Nothing fancy, but very comfortable, and clean, micro, fridge, cable, and the bed was first class! A very comfortable nest in the middle of the beautiful Nebraska Sandhills!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BaxterKearney_nebr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2007

Stayed here on a motorcycle trip to Sturgis. Has some little cottages, with parking outside the door, a plus. Nice enough rooms, but with a couple problems. A/C was noisy, probably a bearing getting worn out, and there was this strange high pitched squeal coming from the bathroom. Traced it to a leaky toilet valve, I just shut off the water to the unit for the night. Very friendly owners, even had old towels ready for people to wash their motorcycles with. A restaurant was just across the road, and we found our stay o.k. We would stay here again.

Helpful?
4 Thank qualuedtke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Glidden Sandhills Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glidden Sandhills Motel

Property: Glidden Sandhills Motel
Address: 507 S.W. 1st, Mullen, NE 69152
Location: United States > Nebraska > Mullen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mullen
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Glidden Sandhills Hotel Mullen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing