We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In need of a lift” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Days Inn McCook

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Days Inn McCook
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in McCook
Virginia Beach
1 review
“In need of a lift”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed a total of 8 days. Overall we were satisfied with our stay. One major complaint, however - there should be a elevator!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Roberta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia-12619, Manager at Days Inn McCook, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for your review. I apologize for not having an elevator and do understand this can be an inconvenience for some guests. I am glad your overall experience was good and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    39
    46
    29
    22
See reviews for
66
25
14
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kearney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

I had the worst ever time here. We were staying at this place to visit family. First bad thing... 6pm and room was not ready. Second and most important, used my debit card for 1 NIGHT and high school dropout charged me for 2 nights. Called 5 days later and was told that the manager would call me back. No response, I called again a week later and was told by Casey??? that this happens all the time and she would call the manager at home. Casey finally called back and said it was all taken care of and I should not worr. I preceded to ask her about the fact that I could not use my card and it was their screw up and she told me I was rude and mean. Was told a manager would call me back and no one has called. On top of that the room was filthy. The sofa had white stains on it and the mattress was stained. You would actually have better accomadations at the local McDonalds in a booth. Stay far far away.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtney-12619, Manager at Days Inn McCook, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
I apologize for your unhappiness with our hotel. The reversal was handled in a fast and appropriate manner. Computer systems do glitch once in awhile and for the computer sake I do apologize. The company would not double charge a guest on purpose. KC was very kind and appropriate when assisting you and she also tried to handle the dispute of the overdraft as well if we did indeed cause this issue. I understand you refused to send documentation. Again I am sorry. However, name calling is very inappropriate. KC is not a moron and does not deserve to be called one. Again I apologize for any inconvenience this caused you and let us know if we can do anything to ever make you happy.
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, New Mexico
Level Contributor
77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Nice receptionist. But really obnoxious partyers in the parking lot and people hanging around the front and back doors that made us very uncomfortable. Breakfast was O.K. Really nasty huge stain down the side of the exposed mattress.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank audawallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia-12619, Manager at Days Inn McCook, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
I have to apologize for the guests that were hanging around the entrance areas to the building. I had spoken to them several times to keep away from the building or to go to their rooms. Again I am sorry and I hope this will not keep you from staying with us again. We do look forward to your return to this hotel location and I know your stay will be more confortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

I had to come to McCook for a 4 day business trip which meant 3 nights in a hotel. They are in the middle of a remodel which there wasn't really any inconvenience as they were painting the outside. The inside is quaint -- kind of countryish looking--not modern or contemporary by any means. The girl working the front desk was friendly. We were assigned rooms on the second floor, but there's no elevator. It didn't bother me but my coworker had a HUGE bag (like really really big) and it was a task getting it up those steps. The room was clean. Furniture was typical..brass fixtures, basic laminate looking furniture. My curtains, too, had little holes in it I noticed when the sun came up. The mattresses were comfortable enough. Not great but definitely not bad. But if you're a pillow top type of person look elsewhere. I was satisfied with my sleep/bed. (Know, I use a sleep sack when in hotels, so I don't touch any sheets anyway). My lower rating was based on the bathroom. No, it wasn't disgusting or anything---just worn. The tub was stained on the floor and the chrome fixtures looked like it had lime buildup or waterspots that wouldn't go away. The tile floor grout was cracked and chipped away in places. The tub was clearly chipped in the past and fixed w/ epoxy or something. WHen I turned on the shower (from the outside of the tub to warm up) I got sprayed in the face from water spraying outside of the head. Turns out it wasn't tightened all the way. I was able to remedy that situation but didn't appreciate an unexpected cold spray to the face. The shower itself---well, the shower felt good. The floor of the tub did not. I don't know how to describe it other than spongy and hollow. I'm not sure if there is anything under the tub itself but I have to say there were a few times where that sinking feeling made me wonder if I was going to fall thru and give the ppl on the 1st floor a sight to see. Its just a very strange feeling and I'm not sure what the deal is with it. But, bathroom was overall clean. Note, if you use a sleepsack, and you want your bed made, make sure you remove it before you leave for the day. I came back with a note on my pillow from housekeeping saying they couldn't make the bed because they weren't allowed to touch my personal belongings. I'm fine with that but it was a surprise to walk in and see an unmade bed.

Someone made a comment about the AC. I agree it took a while to fully cool the room. But when it did its freezing! I woke up literally shivering at 230am. They turn the air of during the day so when you come back the room is warm and you have to start the recooling process again. Now, granted, this has been a hot week here so Im sure they don't want stuff working overtime.

I have what I"m assuming is a brand new flat screen TV as the Energy Guide sticker is still on it. I don't watch much TV so its not a big deal to me. If my husband were here, he'd be very excited.

I wasn't overly impressed with breakfast. I know beggars can't be choosers and the breakfast is preplanned by Days Inn....however, it was carb city. I don't want to sound like a health nut because I'm not. So, danishes, muffins, cereal, english muffins, waffles and juice/coffee/milk were your choices. I really hoped for yogurt and some fruit but I didn't see any yogurt or anything similar and the apples were kind of mushy.

If you are looking for a good breakfast, still carby but delicious, check out Sehferts. OMG the best donut I've ever ever eaten. Hands down.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side (facing Pepsi warehouse) are quiet. I can't comment on the front side of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah9540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these McCook hotels
0.2 mi away
Cobblestone Hotel & Suites
0.8 mi away
Chief Motel McCook
Chief Motel McCook
#4 of 5 in McCook
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.3 mi away
Horse Creek Inn
Horse Creek Inn
#1 of 5 in McCook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Economy Inn Mccook
Economy Inn Mccook
#5 of 5 in McCook
3.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn McCook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn McCook

Property: Days Inn McCook
Address: 901 N Highway 83, McCook, NE 69001-2981
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nebraska > McCook
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in McCook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn McCook 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn McCook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mccook Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing