We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price, nice room. No pool though.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Magnuson Hotel Lincoln Airport
Ranked #49 of 61 Hotels in Lincoln
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
151 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good price, nice room. No pool though.”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

This place is a little hard to find....not sure how long its been a HJ but the sign is a temporary wrap. It looks like the whole place is in some sort of transition. Pool is drained so if you want a pool this is not the place. My room was very nice with fridge and microwave which I was not expecting. There are not many resturants other than a few fast food places off this exit. I had to pay the pet fee with cash- they would not accept credit card for this. Good thing I had cash on me.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rrdub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LincolnNeChumber, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Lincoln Airport, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
thanks, we are working on pool issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    94
    78
    48
    32
See reviews for
118
51
36
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wyoming
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We checked into our room and there was food in the garbage can and a dirty washclothe in the shower. The toilet was not clean either. Staff at the desk was pleasant. Need to work on maintaining the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coldpony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LincolnNeChumber, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Lincoln Airport, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
I am sorry about your experience, our check in time is 3pm and you arrived early due to full house we did not have you rooms ready yet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Travel through Lincoln back and forth. Made a reservation with a confirmation. When arrived in the middle of the night with children, hotel overbooked and turned away! Offered us a "free" night a week later for our return and once again this hotel overbooked and we had to find last minute room reservations somewhere else. Staff was rude, inconsiderate and often lie. I would never ever stay here or offer my credit card to this hotel.

Room Tip: Tip for choosing a good room is "find a different hotel"
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank callthewolfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LincolnNeChumber, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Lincoln Airport, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
I appericate your review on this matter due to it give me chance to let others know also, when you book reservations with any hotel you have choice to etiher guarantee with your credit card or you may hold the room at 4pm hold policy. only down side of 4pm hold is, if you do not show up by 4pm you may not have room.

if you are booking thru priceline or booking.com please call the hotel if you have resversation. there has been glicth in their system where many other hotel has issues with.

Bob Chumber, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, SD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed at this hotel, according to the manager I was "that guy who keeps causing issues", from the previous review made by Kelsey R. We were very unhappy with our stay, mainly of the customer service provided by the general manager, Levonne. She was not accomodating to us at all, we booked rooms online through Wyndham and when we checked in they changed our room type from a double to a single. She also called Kelsey's work, and harrassed her boss about our family; how we were so rude and demanding, and was complaining to Kelsey's boss when he knew nothing about our family vacation let alone our stay at the Howard Johnson. When Levonne, the GM called Kelsey to resolve this issue she continued to show no customer service what so ever. She accused us of harassing her by commenting on Tripadvisor about our stay at her property, which is our right as unhappy guest at her property. She was going to give us our money back, but then at the end of the conversation said that since we wrote a bad review on her and her property on Tripadvisor that she wasn't going to make it right with us, and then hung up the phone.
I have never been treated so poorly by someone who we gave our business too. We have family in Nebraska, and plan on making more trips back, but will never stay with her at that property again.
Hotel overall was decent. Like said, its in the middle of remodeling, but I would rather stay at a Motel and feel appreciated for our business, then in a 5 star hotel and feel like an inconvinence to the staff.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Lincoln Airport, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
You need to talk to Kelsi you have had some refund that was worked out with Wyndham who thought we were very generous in our offer. I do apologize for your stay but I have gone above and beyond for this group and you continue to harrass myself as well as other staff members. Thank you for your response. LaVonne Brainerd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2012

I stayed here while relocating. Nice and CLEAN rooms. Hallways smelled and looked clean. GREAT price. And to make it better is the staff. Everybody that is employed is ALWAYS friendly!!!! The front desk attendents/manager was always smiling and VERY polite!!! Housekeeping had my room spotless.....left exrtra when I asked and are very polite as well.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newtotown2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brainerdly, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Lincoln Airport, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. Please at anytime please let us know if we can make your stay better in anyway,. Thank you, LaVonne Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Checked in last night. Staff was extremely friendly and knowledgeable of the area. Got to my room and WOW, new carpet, beds and linens. Best Hojo I have ever stayed in. Will be back soon.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brainerdly, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Lincoln Airport, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thank you so much for the review and we are so happy you stopped to see us and please come by anytime. LaVonne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, South Dakota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Manager at this hotel was very rude to my family and I. We were in town for a family reunion, so I had booked 6 rooms all under my name and CC online through Wyndham. When we arrived, they already has us checked in, so my card was authorized on all 6 rooms for 3 nights each, taking money from my account and resulting me in over drafting. I tried explaining that I wasnt paying for all rooms that each family was using their own form of payment the manager was upset that it caused her and her FD staff more work to change the payments. When we were checked in at 4:30 4 of the 6 rooms were dirty, not cleaned by housekeeping, so we SAT outside our room in the hallways for 45 mins while they cleaned our rooms. Also, we booked 6 double beds online, when we checked in two of the rooms the staff changed to single beds becuase they were over booked at their property, so my 11 year old sister ended up sleeping on the floor all 3 nights. When my husband approached the manager to see if there was anthing they could do about it, she said "are you really going to be that guy who keeps causing issues? You can leave and I'll sell your room for 100 dollars a night." like it was our fault they screwed up our reservations.
Rooms do not have a tub..showers only...make it impossible for our nieces and nephews to have baths every night. The 1 year old had to be washed in the sink.
Breakfast was shabby, to say the least. Pool was closed. Overall I wouldnt mind staying there again, the hotel its self inside is very clean but out dated. HOWEVER due to the absolute rudeness of the manager and front desk staff I would not reccommend staying there and being treated like crap and feeling like their screw up was all our fault. The manger made no effort to be accomodating or friendly at all, we were obvisouly an inconvience to her. We were the guest and everyone in my family felt unwanted and not welcomed at all. Will NEVER be back to this hotel again.

Room Tip: Rooms dont have bathtubs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelsey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Magnuson Hotel Lincoln Airport, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
I am sorry about your credit card but when rooms are held on a credit card and you beeing a employee you should know about authorize the credit cards many hotels do it in the early morning on the day of arrival. Your family was just checking in and you were with them you did not tell us anything until we were half done checking you all in then you said oh each is paying their own. When you made your reservations you did not tell us you were not paying for all the rooms. You were on a employee rate through Wyndum and you know that you cannot have more then 2 rooms under the employee rate. And with you being the Employee we would always assume you would take care of the bill. I did not say we would sell your rooms but I did say that you know as well as I know that you were doing things against company policy. We had been full house all week due to the college world series and many other events, you had one room that they were just putting towels into and that family member came down demanding a free room for his room not being ready and I did say if you want to check out you are welcome to do so. Again I do apologize for the credit card we never charged your card but with the preauthorization it does hold up your money. thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lincoln Airport
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lincoln Airport
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Lincoln Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Super 8 Lincoln West
Super 8 Lincoln West
#41 of 61 in Lincoln
366 reviews
2.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#45 of 61 in Lincoln
81 reviews
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lincoln Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Hotel Lincoln Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Lincoln Airport

Property: Magnuson Hotel Lincoln Airport
Address: 3400 NW 12th St, Lincoln, NE 68521-3615 (Formerly Howard Johnson Lincoln)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nebraska > Lincoln
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 61 Hotels in Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Magnuson Hotel Lincoln Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Magnuson Hotel Lincoln Airport is conveniently located off I-80, in Cornhusker Country. The University of Nebraska and Memorial Stadium are less than 4 miles from this hotel, with the Lincoln Airport 1 miles away. Outdoor activities at the Holmes Lake Recreation Area, the Nebraska Fairgrounds, and racing excitement at the Lincoln Race Course are all within 10 miles of the Magnuson Hotel Lincoln. The pet friendly, nonsmoking Magnuson Hotel offers guests a free breakfast, free parking, and free high speed internet access. Stay active with a workout in the fitness center, and enjoy lounging by our seasonal outdoor pool. Additional amenities include a business center and guest laundry facilities. Choose from rooms with 1 queen or 2 double beds, all nicely furnished to guarantee your comfort. Basic amenities include free wifi, microwave, coffeemaker, mini fridge and a hairdryer. Accessible rooms are also available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Lincoln Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Lincoln
Lincoln Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing