We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location but dirty rooms”
Review of Graduate Lincoln

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Graduate Lincoln
Ranked #12 of 61 Hotels in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Location but dirty rooms”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

This was the first stop on my roadtrip from Wisconsin to Seattle. The hotel is located in the middle of downtown Lincoln. The U of Nebraska is nearby, as is the Haymarket district. Thus there's plenty to do, and some great food options nearby. Now to the nitty gritty. My room, overall, was filthy. There was hair just about everywhere, and it sure the hell wasn't mine because I don't have a whole lot. The carpeting was black, so there was probably a lot I didn't see! Clientele wise, there were also a few shady characters staying at the hotel. On the plus side, the staff was super nice......a reason why I can't rate this property less than average. Dirty rooms can always be changed. It's more difficult to find nice people to work for you!

Parking tip: If you want to avoid the scary hotel parking structure, park a block away at the Haymarket lot on 9th and P. It's $9 to park overnight, but at least you don't have to worry about killing somebody or ruining your car.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DHJunkie75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tterwilliger, General Manager at Graduate Lincoln, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our facility. Your compliments about our nice staff are appreciated and your concerns about the cleanliness of the rooms will certainly be addressed. Great customer service is important but a clean and well maintained guestroom is as well. We will work hard to address the problem and hope you find a noticeable change the next time you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    114
    45
    16
    13
See reviews for
60
39
14
195
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We were in Lincoln to attend a wedding. This hotel was just steps from the Historic Haymarket area. Large farmers' market on Saturday morning. Shops and restaurants too. The location is terrific. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel shuttle dropped us at the reception which was nearby. Our room was spacious and clean. The beds were very comfortable. The parking garage was a bit tight and it appeared that non-guests were parking there to attend a wedding reception being held there. That said, we were able to find a space to park. We ate breakfast at the Red Onion Bistro in the hotel. The breakfast buffet was OK. Hot and cold choices, but few cereal choices. Dinner was not good at all. The service was terrible and slow. One item we ordered never came. The good news is we weren't charged for it. The salmon was very dry and the ratatouille was unevenly heated - cold and warm bites. I would not eat there again, but the hotel was fine.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank infowmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tterwilliger, General Manager at Graduate Lincoln, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review. We appreciate the compliments you made concerning the hotel. We also apologize for the trouble you encountered in the restaurant, both with the quality of the food and the speed of the service. Your concerns will be addressed and will be made right moving forward. Thank you again for letting us know about your stay and hopefully we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calama
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Great location to restaurants and downtown destinations. Hotel lobby was pleasant gathering visiting spot. Price was super good but was special price due to blocked rooms for wedding. Our room was clean, quiet and bed comfortable. Parking garage is tight and costs $7/night. Signs directing guest to lobby access from parking garage would be a nice touch. Tried using stairs to get to lobby area because elevators were slow - ended up in parking garage. Signs in stairways would be helpful directing guest to lobby area. Breakfast was a full buffet at around $9. Lots of nearby eating options though. Nice facility.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JETCalama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Graduate Lincoln, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to fill our a response. The good news is we are currently in the process of both painting and installing signs in our garage to make it easier for our guests to locate entrances and exits as well as the lobby. We look forward to you staying with us and letting us know if you think these signs help. Thanks again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Booked what I thought was a two room suite with a balcony well upon entering room 203 our balcony consisted of a flat roof top concrete slab that faced a wall and nothing else.. No furniture just concrete. I called the front desk to which they said they only had a few rooms with a balcony view already taken but they could give us a voucher for dinner which we accepted, but I told them that the web site was deceiving. Shower door would not shut properly. We ate in the hotel food was okay nothing great to talk about. We were there for the fireworks in the park to which we were shuttled free there but different story for the trip back we ended up finding our own way back after waiting an hour in a half. We also had to pay for parking in their garage.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Islandgirl73860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Graduate Lincoln, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to fill out a response. We are working on the re-design of our suites to better suit the needs of our guests. We are sorry what you thought you were getting was not what you ended up with. We will also review our website to make it as accurate as possible with our room descriptions. We try to be as flexible as possible with our shuttle but there are times that picking people up or dropping them off becomes very challenging for us. Our drivers and desk should communicate that we will try our best but circumstances with airport runs, etc. can limit our shuttle's availability. We are sorry you had to wait and ended up walking back. Thanks again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

This hotel is conveniently located in downtown Lincoln. There is easy access to downtown restaurants and bars. The rooms are roomy and clean. As other reviewers have mentioned, the parking lot has very narrow ramps. I wouldn't want to navigate it with a pickup or SUV. The hotel staff was very pleasant and the breakfast buffet was pretty good. There are nice views of the city if you end up with a room on a higher floor. Although we did not partake, there was a free manager's reception on weeknights with snacks, beer, and wine.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zelig15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Nebraska
1 review
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Parking was a mess, there was no where to park, their garage was full by people who where not guests! The front desk instructed us to park elsewhere and then walk to the hotel. Then we paid extra for a room with a balcony and it turned out to be the smoking section of the hotel. We did not get to enjoy the view as we were surrounded by a dozen chain smokers. Again the front desk was no help as people are free to smoke outside. At least they could have informed us on check-in so we could have saved some money and had a different room.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas_H1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Graduate Lincoln, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to respond. We are sorry about the parking situation you encountered. We try to limit the parking facility to overnight guests only as we understand the inconvenience of having to park elsewhere. Our parking is not guaranteed but we try very hard to accommodate all our guests. We apologize that was not your experience. Our hotel is 100% non-smoking although we cannot mandate to people when they go out to the balcony on the second floor. We apologize we didn't inform you of the possibility. We seldom have complaints of smokers on the balcony. Thank you for bringing that to our attention so we can make our guests aware that scenario could exist.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

23rd May - Found the hotel quite easily after a long drive from St Louis - the parking garage is quite tight for larger vehicles but we managed to park fine.
Reception staff were efficient and it might have been nice to have had more interest shown in the guest but this naturally is a personal thing. I stay at IHG properties extensively and I am a Platinum Priority Club Ambassador and it would have been nice to have seen this recognised by possibly an upgraded room or reduced parking fees but accept this is up to the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank badgerme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lincoln Downtown / Haymarket
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Lincoln
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Lincoln Haymarket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Lincoln Marriott Cornhusker Hotel
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Lincoln Downtown/Haymarket
4.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Lincoln Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Graduate Lincoln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Graduate Lincoln

Property: Graduate Lincoln
Address: 141 N 9th St, Lincoln, NE 68508-1311 (Formerly Holiday Inn Lincoln - Downtown)
Location: United States > Nebraska > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Graduate Lincoln 3.5*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Graduate Lincoln—where your intellectual curiosity meets your favorite place to stay. Team central for Husker happenings, Graduate Lincoln is just a dash to campus and amid all the historic Haymarket District fun. Here, students, faculty and alum can enjoy a cool and comfortable respite from the everyday. It is elegant enough to host Lincoln’s most beautiful weddings, and a smart choice for corporate meetings, educational events and down home fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Graduate Lincoln reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lincoln - Downtown Hotel Lincoln
Lincoln Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing