We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old....but convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sunset Inn & Suites
Ranked #55 of 61 Hotels in Lincoln
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Old....but convenient”
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

The location is very convenient. .. I traveled alone. Extremely old.... could use updating, but it was clean. Staff is friendly. Hotel.com stated the have a pool....I didnt see one. Perkins and gas very close. I would stay here again ;)

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    19
    18
    24
    31
See reviews for
31
26
21
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We made our reservation by calling the toll-free number. We were told the dog fee is $10, we were charged $15 at the hotel; even after explaining the conflicting information. My husband asked for a receipt, after paying $15 cash, and the person at the front desk said we could get one in the morning. In the morning, the person at the front desk asked us to pay the pet fee; but after we explained we paid cash and we were not given a receipt, he apologized.

I was recently married, made my reservation under my married name, and did not update my driver's license. The man at the front desk asked me once again to state my name, after seeing my driver's license, and would not refer to me by my new, married name, once he saw my maiden name.

After leaving the front desk feeling a little let down, my husband, dog, and I got to our room to notice there was only one pillow. We immediately notified the front desk, and after more than 30 minutes, my husband went to the front desk to get the pillow. It was time for a new employee to start the shift, so the employees proceeded to talk to each other, while my husband stood there waiting to be noticed.

The room was your basic, inexpensive hotel room. There was a hole in the drywall below the air conditioning unit, the bedspread had probably not been changed in weeks, and the bed was not comfortable. The air conditioner worked perfectly and the bathroom was clean.

For breakfast, there was a waffle maker, biscuits and gravy, cereal, and doughnuts.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank browneyedbren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

This hotel boasts itself as a non-smoking establishment; however, it is not. The whole hotel smells like the inside of an ashtray and some of the rooms you are allowed to smoke in them. Their housekeeping staff does not let the front desk know of the messy conditions of the rooms. They are neither clean nor deodorized for the guests with small children who do not smoke. For the cost of the hotel I would be willing to spend $15 more dollars to stay in a "TRUE" smoke free establishment with a little more class.

Room Tip: Run from this hotel as fast as possible if you want a clean room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

Not a bad place to stop for the night. Staff was very nice
And the room was clean.

The only complaints I have are:

The window in our room was broken. It was dual paned glass and the outer pane was shattered. There was also a storm during our stay. We were super tired so just decided to open the window and use the non broken part to block the broken part and hope for the best. I am sure had we called the desk, they would have put us in a new room.

The second is that I booked my reservation and paid an hour before getting there via the Wyndham reservations line. The advertised price on the hotel sign was lower. I was told since the reservation was already paid for and it was same day, they couldn't cancel, refund me and give me the better rate. It was a few dollars difference, but, not great customer service.


Otherwise, great place to stop. Close to the freeway.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Angelina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
301 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

This place is very old and run down but the staff are superb!

It's very conveniently located off I-80, next to several restaurants, and it's pretty quiet in the area, considering the traffic and surrounding construction.

The employees were all very kind and their customer service is top notch.

The room is very dated but it was still cozy. It seemed dingy, the lights weren't very bright, and the carpet was worn, but it was very much worth the one night I stayed here. Plus their wifi is excellent!

Room Tip: Ground floor; only because of the layout of the hotel it's easier to access a ground floor room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luv-that-farm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Fendly service, clean, recently renamed from Day's Inn to Knights Inn. Nice restaruant next door. Courtesy van. Located just off airport property, 5 minutes from terminal. A good place to spend an extra night in NE when flights cancel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

This hotels a little old, smells a bit like cigarettes in the hallway, but the customer service is amazing. All employees were very kind, helpful, and made sure we were comfortable. I'd stay here again!

P.S. the rooms are nice and clean and have no odor.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshleyDuJardin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Lincoln Airport
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lincoln Airport
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lincoln Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#45 of 61 in Lincoln
81 reviews
0.3 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Lincoln Airport
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lincoln Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Inn & Suites

Property: Sunset Inn & Suites
Address: 2920 NW 12th St, Lincoln, NE 68521-3605 (Formerly Knights Inn Lincoln Airport, Days Inn Airport Lincoln)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nebraska > Lincoln
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 61 Hotels in Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunset Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Sunset Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing