We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The food is good. They have a great breakfast menu and good service”
Review of The Green Gateau

The Green Gateau
Ranked #2 of 657 Restaurants in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $50
Cuisines: American, French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The food is good. They have a great breakfast menu and good service”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

It is divided into smaller dining rooms for a more intimate setting. The decor is lovely. The food is very good. They have a great breakfast menu. and good service You can't go wrong

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank mojomax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    303
    126
    39
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
368 reviews
259 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Delicious food complemented by a charming atmosphere”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Some people say The Green Gateau's food is too idiosyncratic, too complicated. I say, don't listen to those folks! I really enjoy breakfast and lunch here. I look forward their imaginative menu, their superb service, the lovely decor, and the opportunity to gaze at the dessert case. Let them eat cake! If they ate it here, they'd enjoy it completely.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tampatowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Lovely night out with good friends”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Really delicious food; I had the duck breast which was fantastic. An extensive wine list. The service was efficient and friendly. Really enjoyed dining here.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank urbanwombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
80 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Delightful”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Having grown up in Lincoln, I am amazed that I missed the Green Gateau all those years. We had breakfast here on a recent visit and were very pleased. The service was attentive without being overly so. The food was quite good and we tried a variety of menu items. I will say the beignets were a miss though. They didn't resemble any beignets I have had but more akin to funnel cakes on steroids. The flavor was there but the appearance was not. You don't necessarily want to be reminded that you are eating something fried for breakfast. The stuffed french toast, however, was a delight as well as the hash browns. The hot chocolate is served piping hot in giant bowl size cups overflowing with whip cream - sure to delight the children in your party. The prices were quite reasonable and the portions were more than adequate to keep you filed up for your day. Go and enjoy!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mtngirl37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great brunch spot in Lincoln!”
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Every time I come visit, The Green Gratteau is always on my list of food spots. The atmosphere is nice and cozy, service is friendly, and the food is excellent! Their Chef's Selection is scrambled eggs with ham and Swiss cheese served on a toasted croissant with a side of hashbrowns. Delicious and more food than it sounds like! Their fruit crepes are a little on the sweet side, scones are the best scones I've ever had, not too dense. If you're in the area, drop by for a taste!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LV4NMLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Green Gateau also viewed

 

Been to The Green Gateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing