We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum!”

La Paz Mexican Fare & Cantina
Ranked #35 of 662 Restaurants in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $12
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We go about once a week - this is the best Mexican food in town! Their chile verde and tamales are delicious!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank frequentraveler78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    27
    15
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good, dependable (if not very authentic) meal”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Stopped here based on Tripadvisor, when driving from CO to IA. Very Americanized, but good. I had the cream cheese chicken enchilada and a cup of black bean soup. Both were nicely flavored, but pretty mild which I can see would be widely appealing. Good salsa and chips. Nice booths which I appreciate over a mass of tables. Clean. Helpful waitstaff, seemed to be all young college kids. If you are looking for something authentically Mexican, this is not really the place. But a solid bet if you want a tasty, dependable meal.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln NE
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A favorite place in Lincoln, yet are they starting to cut corners?”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

I was so looking forward to Mexican food here after a long trip overseas where we did not have good Mexican food anywhere near. I was disappointed in the flat chips; dry enchiladas and watered down margarita - NOT my memory of La Paz. I'm hoping it was a bad night and willing to give another try, but please do not Americanize the Mexican food any more! They have been known for good potato cheese enchiladas and my vegetarian friend thought the potatoes were re-heated and old. Disappointingly average.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AbuelitaSuzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Yum”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

I really enjoy the cream cheese chicken enchiladas, my mouth is watering as I write this. Also, you can never go wrong with margaritas.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fresh food, quality service, cute decor”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We went at noon on a tuesday and were seated right away. We had fast service and everyone loved their food, ranging from tacos and flautas to chimichangas. We ate like pigs. We all had dessert. Flan was smooth and sweet. The rried ice cream was large and fun for the youngsters. Churros and sopadillas looked different from other versions, but were delicious. One of oue family's favorite restaurants in Lincoln. Huge free parking lot.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tireddriver_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Paz Mexican Fare & Cantina also viewed

 

Been to La Paz Mexican Fare & Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing