We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Favorite in Lincoln” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Oven

The Oven
Reserve with OpenTable
The Oven is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 653 Restaurants in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: to The Oven Haymarket/Cellar, The Oven East and Himalayas. Our aspiration is to provide you with a delightful dining experience. You will indulge in cuisine of Northern India and Bhutan. Our dishes are rich in flavor, color, and texture. With family style dining we hope that you bring family and friends to savor some of the finest Indian cuisine.
Lincoln, Nebraska
1 review
“Favorite in Lincoln”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

I've been several times over the past few years. We always get wonderful service. It's a great place to go out to eat with a group or for a date night.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MJ W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    87
    21
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
70 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Two locations to serve you better!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

The Oven, at both locations, has always had solid Indian cuisine. Never had a bad experience there at all. Serve is top notch in my opinion. Atmosphere is different between the two locations, but each good in its own way. Happy to go either way!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NEBXRAYMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Indian food and even better service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

My wife and I have been eating at this restaurant at least once a week since 1990. We travel a lot and make it our goal on every European or Domestic trip to seek out the best local Indian food. We have never bested this place. The owner is hands on and there daily, they have a Wine Spectator award for their amazing wine collection, the beautiful cellar sets off the bar area downstairs with the main dining area upstairs or on the patio, all in the heart of the Haymarket area that is now exploding with activity as a result of the new Arena. Don't pass up the best northern Indian Cuisine I have found.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NUkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Average food and overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Overpriced food. Kids probably will not like this place. Definitely not a family restaurant. Parking is a problem on the busy days of the week. Restaurant located in Lincoln's Hay Haymarket district.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lee0070626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

The food was very good and the wine list was extensive.
Our server was quite capable at explaining the menu to us even though we don't know anything about Indian cuisine. She made recommendations that lived up to her statements. Ambiance was good, parking was very close. All in all I would recommend this restaurant without hesitation.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kristin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Oven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing