We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasently suprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mellow Mushroom

Mellow Mushroom
Ranked #26 of 654 Restaurants in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: American, Pizza, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Mellow Mushroom Pizza Bakers was founded in 1974 in Atlanta, Georgia. This franchise, operated under Home-Grown Industries of Georgia, Inc., is headquartered in Atlanta, Georgia. For 41 years, Mellow Mushroom Pizza Bakers has been serving up fresh, stone-baked pizzas to order in an eclectic, art-filled, and family-friendly environment. Each Mellow is locally owned and operated and provides a unique feel focused around great customer service and high-quality food. Mellow Mushroom's menu showcases natural flavors and the freshest of ingredients in a creative menu assortment of pizzas, hoagies, salads, calzones, appetizers and vegetarian and vegan options. Gluten free crust and a kids menu are also available.
Randolph, Nebraska
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pleasently suprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

On a football Saturday my family and i tried to get into the new Buffalo Wild Wings by PBA in the Haymarket. The wait understandably would have been 45 min. We decided to go across the street to the Mellow Mushroom. We had never been there and thought we would give it a try. The decor is a little wild and hippie but that is what they are going for. The young man that was our server was very good. I wished I could remember his name. I got the shrimp Haug boy. It was good. My son and Wife each has a calzone and both loved them. My daughter had a small pizza and also thought it was very good. The bill was $42, but I didn't think that was bad for a football Saturday. Overall we liked it, location was great and food was good. We will be back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gymmyhix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    30
    12
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
220 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Over-priced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

Pizza isn't too bad, however if you're they're not selling your flavor by the slice expect to drop $40 for a couple of slices and salad.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank kerrycorcoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
168 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Should be called the Mushy Mushroom”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

We had the Signiture Pizza at lunch on a Tuesday. Quick note : use the parking garage on the corner just west the first hour is free and the area is designed so that people have to use the garage to park.

Ok, back to the pizza, the crust turned into a liquid mush very soon after it came to the table. In my opinion the pie was not very good. Since I compare all pizza to either the Isles in Havelock or Banzai Pizza in Grand Island this stuff doesn't stack up.

For $25.00 for a medium pizza and no drinks this place is over priced for the quality

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jantraveler9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
263 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great pizza but definitely mellow atmosphere and not the place to go for a quick lunch or if in a hurry”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

My husband and I met for lunch around the second week it was open. For noon hour rush and being busy with new review that just came out in the paper we only waited about 10 to 15 minutes to be seated. The pizza had great flavor, but just like it's name, the atmosphere is very laid back and mellow so lunch took almost 2 hours with appetizer, salad, entree and dessert. I saw a couple people mentioned dirty dishes and we both had dirty silverware that the waiter didn't seem that surprised about. Dessert was quite possibly the worst big cookie we had ever had and we had been so excited that it was peanut butter with Reece's.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rutha2s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food if you don't mind dirty dishes and waiting over an hour to get your order”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We had a large party (10) - the restaurant is new - the servers are new - but the management needs to get with it. We came at 6:30 - ordered 20 mins. later. We ordered drinks - the wine glass had lipstick on the rim - you could rub the color off with your finger. The drink order took 30 minutes and one of the wines was wrong and 2 wrong beers (put orange juice in the beer instead of slices on the rim) - the corrections didn't take as long, thank goodness. The knives were greasy. They smeared when we rubbed them off with a napkin. There was no paper towels in the men's bathroom. No toilet paper in the women's bathroom. The pizza's arrived at 8:15. Yes 1 hour and 25 minutes after we ordered. Worse yet the 3 people who ordered calzones didn't get their order until 10 minutes LATER! We had to be there almost 3 hours! The manager came and apologized and offered a free appetizer next time we come. Do we dare? I know a new restaurant has to work out a lot of kinks and to be fair the food was absolutely delicious - but some of these things are really the problem of the management and should be resolved immediately. We may try again and if things are better I will delete this review or write a new one.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Iseeredpeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mellow Mushroom also viewed

 

Been to Mellow Mushroom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing