We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”
Review of Shen Cafe

Shen Cafe
Ranked #174 of 657 Restaurants in Lincoln
Price range: $6 - $9
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Description: Shen Cafe believes that great Chinese food starts with the ingredients. Thus, we are on a mission to find the best ingredients for our customers. We will purchase the freshest meats and produce available to us. In addition, we aim to purchase local ingredients when possible. Our sauces and marinades are made in house through recipes created from over 25 years of experience in the Chinese food industry. The food will be cooked fresh to guarantee the highest quality and the best taste we can achieve.
Midwest USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Really good food and extremely friendly staff. Order up front and food is brought out to your table.

Atmosphere is very relaxing and comfortable.

Helpful?
2 Thank DS_Midwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    10
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“clean, friendly and great food priced right”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Charming place to enjoy great food! Eat in or take out, either way works! My husband and I have tried several of the dishes over the past 3 weeks. There is not one that disappointed us. The food is brought out to your table as each dish is done, nothing is sitting under a heat lamp here, it's FRESH AND DELICIOUS.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, NE
Level Contributor
581 reviews
425 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Fair priced, above average Chinese food”
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

The ordering process is a bit complex. Once you get passed the ordering frustration this is a solid choice for Chinese food in Lincoln. The staff seemed a bit flustered but were very kind and delivered the food exactly as ordered even though we customized our entrees quite a bit. The interior is plain and simple but very nice. I ordered the Blazing sauce with my shrimp and broccoli and it wasn't spicy enough. I'd kick it up another notch next time. For a brand new restaurant this place was good. I have a feeling it will get better with time.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jski529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Reasonably priced casual leaning towards formal”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Great place to eat without busting the bank! You order from the board at the counter, then find your table. However the dining area is NOT A FAST FOOD DINER, it's open and inviting with tables and booths. They bring your order to the table. The food was really great and the overall atmosphere far above what I expected!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NPUDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Tasty and Fast”
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Very good food delivered fast! Two entrees with 2 crab rangoons per person for $20. Excellent, beautiful, spacious restaurant. Only shortcoming was the portion for the classic dinner was small. Very friendly staff. Order entry was thoroughly explained. Offerings and ordering instructions can be previewed online

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank arejbee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shen Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing