We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WOW!!! Gear-head heaven.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Museum of American Speed

Museum of American Speed
Ranked #4 of 66 things to do in Lincoln
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“WOW!!! Gear-head heaven.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

If able, get to this museum. A Tucker! Are you kidding me? You will not see everything in a day. So, so kool for gear-heads and kids.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank 13aker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    17
    7
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
“You must see this collection!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

The Museum of American Speed is a place that you must visit for every student of old car history, especially those interested in vintage open wheel racing. I've been to big automotive museums all over the country, and this surprise in Lincoln, NE will hold its own against any of them. What a fantastic collection. Make it apoint to go, and expect to spend at least a couple of hours there. Limited tour hours mean you need to pay attention when planning your visit. Don't miss this!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Craig_Hover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martell, NE
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Crete High School Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Our Crete High School Welding Technology/Automotive/Small Gas Engines instructors and students visited the museum. None of the participants had ever visited before. The guided tours of the museum were awesome. Our tour guides were very knowledgeable and gave us great amounts of information about everything we saw. The number of articles in the museum were endless and it held the interest of all our group. The only drawback for us is that we had only two hours to be at the museum and we didn't get to see it all! All in all, Bill Smith and his constituents have made a tremendous museum which should be on everyone's bucket list to see. Just make sure you give yourself enough time to take it all in! I am planning on coming back soon and bringing my wife with me and spending more time in the museum. It is no wonder this is a top attraction in Lincoln. Keep up the good work and congratulations on a job very well done! p.s. I have watched the famous 4X car since 1960 at Capital Beach!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Anyone who enjoys racing and/or speed/hot rod history will not want to miss it. Far more than you might think -tremendous amount of Ford-related material.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lister53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
1 review
“Great by yourself or with a large group”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

My car club (about 50) make this museum an over-night trip every year and every year we are just as impressed or more than the year before. This place is a car-guys paradise and what makes it even better is that there are so much other memorabilia that the women and children in our group also enjoy the time. Cars, toys, pedal cars, music, racing, you name the cool stuff from the past and it seems to be somewhere in this place!!! We also enjoy visiting with museum staffers and have made some great friends, wow those people know so much and a number of them are accomplished racers and builders etc in their own rights.
We just got home and are already planning next year's visit.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Clay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of American Speed also viewed

 

Been to Museum of American Speed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing