We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You get what you pay for”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Horizon Inn Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Horizon Inn Motel
Ranked #15 of 61 Hotels in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed here one night on a 7-day trek through seven state capitols. Very nice staff. Very accommodating. Although not very well organized. They had us try three different rooms as they were not sure which were clean and which had the refrigerators and microwaves in. The hallway smelled of dirty feet. The room was nice enough but the a/c was very loud --rattled. The breakfast in the morning was the basic minimum. I don't think I would stay here again especially with a child but I do think I got what I paid for.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MammaKin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    92
    23
    10
    4
See reviews for
73
53
32
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mcallen
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stay here each year when we come from South Texas to visit our family. This year we stayed for eight nights. The location is very convenient with easy on and off I-80. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The owner and staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vellou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Was in Lincoln for a conference. Since I rented a car, I thought I might as well find a place that's cheaper than the conference hotel. Horizon Inn popped into view at another website. Hey, at 40 a night, what is there to loose? It turned out to be nicer than I expected. Other than being next to the railroad track and that wifi didn't work so well, everything was much much better than what one might expect from a fleabag motel. It is very close to I-80 and the airport. So if I ever drive by Lincoln again, I'll definitely choose it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linbeiwuji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Found a double room for $60 (at a military rate) at the end of a long road trip day. Neighboring holiday inn and comfort inn wanted double that for their line remaining rooms (suites, I believe) so we went with this property. Room was clean, bed comfortable, was perfectly nice enough. Walls and breakfast were both thin, but the service was great and the AC worked. Would stay again for the price.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DwatsonB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

I was a little apprehensive especially for the price of $42. However my room was super clean. I was glad that there was not a gross comforter on the bed when I went in just sheets. The room was super clean, it was nothing fancy, but it was great. Breakfast was very simple, but waffles were great. Desk staff was friendly. Only downside was that there was only 2 pillows on the bed.

Room Tip: I was on first floor on the backside. There is a adult store on the front side kinda off to the side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Nebraska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Was unsure of what to expect with the mixed reviews I had read. Upon walking into the lobby I was thrown off by an unusual smell. At first I thought the smell was body odor, but after coming back later I realized it had to be something else as the smell was still present and the desk staff had changed.

The room was adequate, furnished with a bed, tube style tv, fridge, microwave, small table & 2 chairs, blow dryer, air conditioner/heat, alarm clock, ironing board, and lots of lamps. I thoroughly inspected the room before setting any of my things down. It was surprisingly clean!

The bed is what I expected of an older motel, firm and bouncy. Similar to other reviews, I was very thrown off and ultimately turned off by the "make shift comforter" which consisted of a fuzzy felt looking blanket sandwiched in between 2 flat sheets. Personally, this was not enough of a blanket for me. I ended up sleeping on top of the covers with a blanket I had bought from Walmart (knew I should've packed one). The fitted sheet on the box spring (yes, there was actually a box spring!) was stained or soiled so I pulled it off before calling it a night. The pillows must have been fairly new as they were much more comfortable than most which get lumpy after lots of use.

The halls and lobby were about what I expected- for what I paid anyway. The guy at the front desk was nice and offered to help me figure out how to connect to the Internet when I was having troubles.
The walls are thin, but no worse than any other budget motel in my opinion. I stayed on a Tuesday night so there wasn't an abundance of other guests. The heater was difficult to regulate, it would either be too cold or too warm as it ran constantly. Although, I would rather have it run constantly than it kicking on and off throughout the night.

The continental breakfast is simple but adequate for no more than what I paid for the night. Waffles, dry cereal, instant oatmeal, milk, coffee, and orange juice.

Overall, I would say this is a fair value for a budget motel at $40 plus tax through Priceline. A clean place to crash for the night.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Singh2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

For $39 a night this hotel is a steal. The comments about bad smells and those types of things are old. The interior hallways are clean and the carpet looks almost new. The rooms won't blow you away with flat screen TVs, etc., but they are clean and well kept up. The check-in was very friendly and easy. I typically stay at Holiday Inn Express and there is one a half mile away from here, but this was a no-brainer at a minimum of $50-$60 less a night. If you need a nice place to sleep and get a shower in the morning, this is it. Keep it up and I'll keep coming back!

Room Tip: Ask for the second floor rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPS924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
3.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lincoln Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Lincoln Airport
5.0 mi away
New Victorian Suites Lincoln
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lincoln North Hotel and Conference Center
2.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#42 of 61 in Lincoln
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
3.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Lincoln I-80
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizon Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Inn Motel

Property: Horizon Inn Motel
Address: 2901 NW 12th St, Lincoln, NE 68521-3606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nebraska > Lincoln
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 61 Hotels in Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Horizon Inn Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Horizon Inn our low prices do not mean low quality. We are a family run motel independent of large motel franchise and royalty fees that raise your rate. What that means to you is an upper 3 star motel at a lower 1 star price. We offer the following above what those other franchises do: personal atmosphere, consistant quality, and a sincere gratefulness that you chose us to be your host while in the "Star City". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Horizon Inn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing