We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“didn't even know it was”
Review of Governor's Mansion

Governor's Mansion
Ranked #33 of 68 things to do in Lincoln
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This two-story brick Georgian Colonial-style home built in 1957 is open for half-hour Thursday afternoon tours which include a unique doll collection of the state's first ladies in their inaugural gowns and information about the mansion furnishings.
linn ks
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“didn't even know it was”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

we were driving by the capitol daughter and granddaughter got out and walked around. and I sat and looked around and saw this huge looked like red brick home so had my daughter drive by it. in no way did it say it was the gov. mansion. and we are from ks. but we guessed it was. but didn't go inside as the gates were locked. I would've given better score if there was a sign that said gov. mansion for out of state ppl like us.ks gov. mansion is miles away from the capitol so how were we to know this/????????????

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank bearsLinnKs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    6
    4
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely Old Mansion”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Beautiful old building with lots of history. Tours of main floor (living room, dining rooms, sun room, office) and lower level (meeting room, doll & dish collections).. Doll collection representing wives of governors (plus one husband),dress in gowns representing one of their favorites. Some past governors wives have also left a piece of jewelry or keepsake which are on display. Loved the formal dining room and the sun room. Large silver pieces, chandeliers & rotating art exhibit.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank carol11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
288 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Something to do”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stopped in at the Governor's residence for something to do on a Sunday afternoon. Very very nice. Elegant and classy. Hard to believe people actually live there. A must see.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank trooper198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“a Nebraska treasure”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

a beautiful home with frequently changing art shows and incredible historic furnishings--everything has a story.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank jeanne k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Field Trip”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

It was a long time ago when I came here. It was for a field trip. I'm pretty sure in elementary, but I really enjoyed it as I love mansions.

Helpful?
Thank Emily O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Governor's Mansion also viewed

 

Been to Governor's Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing