We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Old Mansion”
Review of Governor's Mansion

Governor's Mansion
Ranked #31 of 67 things to do in Lincoln
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This two-story brick Georgian Colonial-style home built in 1957 is open for half-hour Thursday afternoon tours which include a unique doll collection of the state's first ladies in their inaugural gowns and information about the mansion furnishings.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely Old Mansion”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Beautiful old building with lots of history. Tours of main floor (living room, dining rooms, sun room, office) and lower level (meeting room, doll & dish collections).. Doll collection representing wives of governors (plus one husband),dress in gowns representing one of their favorites. Some past governors wives have also left a piece of jewelry or keepsake which are on display. Loved the formal dining room and the sun room. Large silver pieces, chandeliers & rotating art exhibit.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank carol11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    6
    4
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
267 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Something to do”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stopped in at the Governor's residence for something to do on a Sunday afternoon. Very very nice. Elegant and classy. Hard to believe people actually live there. A must see.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank trooper198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“a Nebraska treasure”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

a beautiful home with frequently changing art shows and incredible historic furnishings--everything has a story.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank jeanne k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Field Trip”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

It was a long time ago when I came here. It was for a field trip. I'm pretty sure in elementary, but I really enjoyed it as I love mansions.

Helpful?
Thank Emily O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washingon, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
81 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very accomodating!”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We were invited to the Governor's Mansion after my daughter was sworn in as a Probation Officer. My elderly father attended and has difficulty walking up and down stairs since losing a leg in a farming accident. The staff at the mansion were more than accomodating in letting Dad use the elevator so he could attend the reception for his granddaughter. They even found him a chair and went to the front of the line to get his drink. I was very impressed by the caring stafff.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank RSchottel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Governor's Mansion also viewed

 

Been to Governor's Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing