We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Quite Welcoming Reception”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Omaha La Vista
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in La Vista
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2014

The location of this property is ideal for easy access off the Interstate and ease around the west side of Omaha. There are plenty of shopping and restaurants around and it is conveniently located/attached to the Convention Center and Embassy Suites. Having said all that, it's been a long time since we were so rudely greeted by the front desk check in person. She apparently either had a bad day or doesn't really belong in a hospitality job. It set a bad tone for the stay. There is a small bar behind the bank of elevators and a small restaurant, though no one was ever seated there during our visit. The lobby is well appointed and modern. The fireplace is a warm touch. The pool...was so cold it caused cramps and no one at the front desk knew how to get the Jacuzzi to start. It seems that management needs to devote some time to training the front desk on the industry these young folks are hired into. Round that out to create a better overall experience for all-the guests and the employees.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scgalinsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (257)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Omaha La Vista
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

155 - 161 of 257 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2013

This is a very large Courtyard by Marriott – 250 rooms or so – much larger than the usual. But they seem to be struggling financially to keep it occupied, so corners are being cut to save on costs, and it shows.
I arrived about 9:00 at night. There was one clerk on duty and six people in line to check in, so 15 minutes to get a room. Despite a guaranteed reservation, the type of room I had reserved was not available. The reason given? Housekeeping was still cleaning them. At 9:00 at night?? Why don’t they hire more help, or was this just an excuse because they gave away the requested rooms to previous guests.
Next morning, I tried to use the free wi-fi. Well, it doesn’t work if you have a tablet. I called the front desk when I could not get access, the first question was, are you using a tablet. When I said yes, the clerk said that their software has problems with tablets trying to access the wi-fi. I have used the tablet successfully and many wi-fi sites, including other Marriott’s, with no problems. Not here. It probably costs a little more for management to add that feature. Then, when the wi-fi didn’t work, I tried the TV to check weather conditions. The TV didn’t work either. Also, three bulbs were burned out in the room, including two over the bathroom sink which maintenance had to replace. Isn’t there a check list for staff to verify that things work when they finish preparing a room for the next guest? Even with the replaced lighting, the bathroom was so dim with low lumen lighting that it was hard to see to use the mirror.
Breakfast room in the morning had about 6 guests. Parking lot had a couple dozen cars for a 250-room hotel. Occupancy must be down so far that management has cut back on staff and scrimped on spending so far that this is not typical of many Marriott’s I have stayed in. Don’t expect service if you stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveldude011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is easily accessed to and from the interstate system. It is connected to the LaVista convention center and across the parking lot from Cabala's. The hotel well kept as expected from the Marriott chain. Check in and out is a breeze. The hotel as well as the accommodations are well maintained.

I made reservation at this hotel for a Husker game due to the easy access of the interstate and is close to Lincoln. I would stay at this hotel every time I visit Omaha.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We had a great stay here! The hotel is fairly new, well maintained, and very clean. The amenities are wonderful. There's a state of the art fitness center, pool, and whirlpool. The staff was very friendly. We'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This was a nice, clean and easy access hotel. Polite and helpful staff and acceptable rooms. I was here only one night so did take advantage of hotel amenities. If I wanted to explore downtown this would not be the place to choose, but if you want near the south west side of town or have an event at the conference center this would be a very good choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the highway
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkV709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Stayed 3 nights last week. Good location if you want to be on the south end, right off the interstate. Nicely decorated lobby and rooms. We stayed in a standard room with one king bed and I have to say these rooms are tight for two people. You have a wardrobe with one foot hanging space for long items, and another foot for shorter items. The counter space around the single sink is small for two people. Perfectly adequate for one person, just not two.

Tried to have dinner at the bistro and were told it would be 30-40 minutes before they could take care of us because they had a large party they were taking care of. They actually suggested we go to the Embassey Suites on the other side of the convention center for dinner instead! Rumor over there was they only staff the bistro with one server and one cook.

Room Tip: I'd upgrade to a larger room unless you are traveling alone.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ParkerChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed here one night for business. Good location, spacious and comfortable rooms. I did get sick the night I stayed here, woke up with sinus issues in a very dry room, but I won't blame that on the hotel. Other than that, had no issues with this hotel. Friendly and helpful service with updated, clean, comfortable, and quiet rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheRoyalChief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Vista
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Omaha-La Vista/Hotel & Conference Center
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Omaha Southwest/La Vista
0.5 mi away
Comfort Suites La Vista-Omaha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
My Place Hotel-South Omaha/ La Vista, NE
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Omaha I-80
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Kelly Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Omaha La Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Omaha La Vista

Address: 12560 Westport Pkwy, La Vista, NE 68128-5610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nebraska > La Vista
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in La Vista
Price Range: $102 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Omaha La Vista 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard by Marriott Omaha La Vista is conveniently situated off of the Interstate 80, in La Vista South Port development and just 20 minutes from downtown Omaha. We offer easy access to Omaha businesses and attractions as well as proximity to Lincoln, several major universities, many shopping centers and numerous notable companies. For work or pleasure, a stay at our La Vista, Nebraska hotel offers comfort and convenience. Along with our superb location, we provide relaxing and inviting public spaces, The Bistro restaurant for dining and drinks and direct access to the 60,000-square-foot La Vista Conference Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Omaha La Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Omaha Lavista Hotel Lavista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing