We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't stay here-”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Kearney
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Kearney
santa cruz, Ca
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Don't stay here-”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2007

Upon entrance to the hotel lobby the hotel looks newer & nice. The guy at the front desk was polite & helpful and since we arrived so late after a very long day of driving, we appreciated the good customer service. One attraction the kids were very excited about was the waterslides & pool and although it was too late to go when we arrived, we decided that the kids could use it first thing in the morning before we headed off for another day of driving., so we requested to have a room near the pool and the staff gladly met our request.
Upon entering the door to the back part of the hotel where our room and the pool/waterslide area was located we were discusted by the foul smell in the air, the smell was probably coming from stagneant water in the carpets but smelled like a septic tank. Next, as we entered our room, the decor was fine and the room at first glance appeared to be fine too (a 2 star) However, upon closer look , we could see that housekeeping was not apparently paying much attention to details. There was smashed lettuce or some sort of green food all over the door that separated hotel rooms and it looked as though someone had a food fight, then both the bathroom door & front door did not close properly & we questioned how safe our room really was, there was also leftover garbage in the bathroom under the sink counter- not even in the can, and it was obvious that this room was not cleaned properly, if at all.
In fact, the room was so uncomforatble that I would not even sleep in the provided linens, but instead used my own comforter like a sleeping bag from the car.
The next morning we ate at the hotel and overall the restaurant was fine but food was a little disappointing.
After breakfast we let the kids go to the pool/waterslide- again a huge disappointment. There were 2 old waterslides feeding into the "pool" which was really more of a small square filled with water and which you could not swim in until the last 20 minutes of each hour because the pool & waterslide could not be used at the same time for safety. The older hot tub was not very hot and it was also in need of being redone.
Ok here is theWORST of it:
Up to this point we were not pleased with our stay at this Holiday Inn and we knew we would not return. But I am the type of person who will leave a good tip, write a compliment or thank yOu card for extra good service and will inform management if things are bothersome within the hotel. So I did fill out and return the questionaire and left it with the front desk upon checkout. My intent was not to just complain but to inform so that things might be better for other guests.
Then to my amazement a few hours after checkout I got a message on my phone stating that sheets & blankets were missing from our room and we would now be charged an extra $50. I could not believe my ears. First of all, why would anyone steal sheets & blankets that hundreds or thousands of people have already used. Then there is the embarassement of some hotel manager & staff actually thinking that I would have taken these items. I did call the manager of the hotel back immediately and discussed the situation and he did recredit my account for the charge, but I would strongly encourage all who read this review to not stay at this hotel. And just a little note for any hotel stay >Make sure you know what the room has upon arrival. I never thought to count blankets or sheets or anything else for that matter but after this experience I will make sure to notify or question the front desk if items or linens don't appear to be in the room.
Because of our terrible experience with Holliday Inn we will no longer stay at Holiday Inns as they appear to have really gone down hill- too bad Holiday Inns use to be a great place to stay.

  • Liked — customer service upon arrival
  • Disliked — It was smelly & Dirty
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MrsKEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    85
    29
    14
    5
See reviews for
83
12
4
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2006

On August 6th, we attended the Hot Wheels Convention in Speed, Kansas and drove the old highways up to Insterstate 80. It begun to storm, so we headed to the Kearney exit. When we saw a Holiday Inn, we knew our hotel experience was going to be great. With no reservations, we were scared that there would be no rooms, since they said they had a full night before. We booked our hotel, and went into town and had Kentucky Fried Chicken for dinner. When asking if they had an indoor pool, I did not expect the waterslides and hot tub. My family and I LOVED the waterslides and the game room. We had a smoking room (which we requested), and it didn't smell like smoke at all. Each bed had 4 pillows and it was just like you were at home. The rooms were VERY VERY comfortable and as soon as you walked into the room, you wanted to fall asleep. And the hotel was very affordable, at a 2-bed queen size room for $89 (+ Tax= about $100.) There are guest laundry rooms, and someone was using both washers in the morning. I knew we had to check-out by Noon, but we were afraid we weren't going to have our clothes washed by then. They were very friendly about it and gave us permission to stay until 1:00pm. This is the best Holiday Inn I have ever stayed at, and would come back time and time again. We are even planning on coming here for Christmas.

  • Liked — The pool and the room.
  • Disliked — NOTHING. It as great!
  • Tips/Secrets — On northwest corner of Kearney exit on I-80.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dantheman_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2006

We made reservations in December 2005 to spend a family Christmas at this location; upon arrival three weeks later they would not let us check in with pets; although we were VERY VERY specific about bringing pets when making the reservation. To that end my family, which all met at the location, had to make other arrangements by traveling two hours further just to spend time together.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, CO
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2005

We loved staying here. The beds were very comfy and the waterpark was fantastic! After a long day in the car, my kids had a blast playing on the slides! Food at the restaurant was OK, standard stuff. Rooms were great, we stayed both to and from Colorado to Iowa. We'll be staying again!!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank klcvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2005

Our family of two adults and two kids travel from Chicago to Denver fairly frequently and stop in Kearney overnight to break up the trip. We decided to splurge a little bit this time and spent the $89 for a room with two beds before tax. They originally put us in a room far from the water park, but the front desk clerk was very courteous in moving us to room 171 down the hall from the fun. No fuss at all. They even warned us there was no view, which we really didn't care about. It looked out onto an interior hallway of the banquet area.

We were blown away by the cleanliness of the room. The floor looked like it had just been steam cleaned. The linens were crisp, fresh and looked brand new. Even the comforter had the new, fluffy feel. The four pillows on each bed was another nice touch. The bathroom was immaculate with the new curved shower curtain holder that gives you more room in the shower and adds a classy feel. The curtain also seemed new too. We used the mini fridge to hold a few juices and it worked fine. There were no weird noises from any of the mechanical features and the water pressure and temperature of the shower were superb.

The waterpark was excellent, but since it was the day before Easter - incredibly crowded. The two slides were a nice feature. The kids had fun and burned off energy before our second day of driving.

I went into the exercise room and it was above average. Everything needed a good wiping down, but nothing was really gross. There was a water cooler and the TV was a nice feature.

We'd highly recommend this hotel to anyone...don't forget how close Cabela's is too!!!

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wordzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, MI
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2005

We ended up at the Holiday Inn after our first choice (the Holiday Inn Express) was full, and we'd spent a disappointing night in another property. This place will probably be our new favorite!

The facility and rooms were recently remodeled, in good repair, and clean. Our room was a standard size with two queen beds but they'd managed to include a cabinet unit with a small fridge and microwave. Also a comfortable armchair and desk with business-style chair. The beds had good overhead lighting. We had a bad "view" (looking out onto a weird interior storage space, obviously it used to be outside before an addition) but it was a minor matter.

It's a big hotel and it was full the weekend we were there. Parking was a little tight but we were never too far from our door. Outside entries require roomkey for access.

The pool area is great for families. It has two waterslides emptying into a pool for bigger kids grownups, and a wading pool with some water spray features and fun slides for little children. The adult pool is really too small to do much, but they shut down the slides for 20 minutes of every hour to allow people to swim. Plenty of seating and lots of towels available, too. There is also a whirlpool.

Upon check-in we received lots of coupons for discounts at the restaurant, the Captain's Table. We ate three breakfasts there and thought it was a good value with good service.

Front desk staff, maids, and pool staff were all courteous and efficient. Vending machines all worked, laundry facility was fairly clean, gift shop was well-stocked.

We'll stay here again, and I'd be comfortable recommending this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HomebodyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2005

This hotel is the coolest hotel we've ever stayed in. They have an indoor waterpark with two large waterslides for adults and a great area for kids with waterslides, fountains and all kinds of activities. Plus a large whirlpool. The guest room had a microwave and refrigerator and the most comfortable hotel bed I've ever slept in! They have a restaurant there called the Captain's Table that was fantastic and our kids ate for free when we went down for dinner. We've stayed at other hotels in Kearney, the Ramada, Comfort Inn and Suites, but now we will never stay anywhere else except the Holiday Inn! Staff and their facilities are the best we've ever experienced - anywhere.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kearney hotels
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Kearney
Hampton Inn Kearney
#1 of 22 in Kearney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Kearney
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Kearney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Kearney
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Kearney
Comfort Inn Kearney
#7 of 22 in Kearney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kearney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Kearney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Kearney

Property: Holiday Inn Kearney
Address: 110 Second Avenue, Kearney, NE 68847
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nebraska > Kearney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Kearney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Kearney 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are coming to Kearney s Holiday Inn Hotel and Convention Center, for business or just for fun you will find all of the comforts of home at the most convenient location in the Midwest with easy access to I-80 and just minutes away from The Great Platte River Road Archway Monument. We are central Nebraska's only indoor water recreation center with two 30 ft. high water slides and kids fun pool with two additional slides. Exercise in our fitness center or polish that presentation in the business center. Holiday Inn Hotel and Convention Center - Kearney, Nebraska, offers free high-speed wireless Internet in all guest rooms, and public areas as well as meeting rooms. All guest rooms feature voice mail, data ports, two phone lines, irons/ironing boards, hairdryers, 25' color TVs with cable and free HBO. All guest rooms have microwave and refrigerators. The Holiday Inn Hotel and Convention Center - Kearney, Nebraska , offers more than 20,000 sq. ft. of meeting space with general session theater style seating for up to 900 and banquet seating for up to 700. Twelve meeting rooms with state of the art audio/visual equipment available. The hotel's new restaurant, 'The Venue' is a unique, elegant, and affordable dining experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Kearney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Kearney Hotel Kearney
Kearney Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing