We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love love love”
Review of Skeeter Barnes

Skeeter Barnes
Ranked #13 of 111 Restaurants in Kearney
Cuisines: Barbecue, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love love love”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I wish we had one in Omaha! Great BBQ and a great place for families. Even tho i was there with just one person they treated me great and i was in and out in 30 mins!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    76
    50
    22
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Freedom, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Mighty good pig!”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We've eaten at Skeeter Barnes in Kearney three times over the last year. You can't go wrong with their pulled pork and ribs. Their big appetizer comes out in a feed pan (yep, makes ya think) and has 6 BBQ Pulled Pork and cheese covered Spuds, Heaping portion of BBQ Nachos, and a Huge Portion
of Skeeter’s Famous Sweet Potato Chips for 10.99; three of us can't finish a whole order if we intend to eat an entree. We have had every meat Skeeter offers and they are all good but the buck naked ribs and pulled pork are our faves. Reasonably priced, nice atmosphere and staff, great place to meet friends and put on the feed bag

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laurie-Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wentzville, Missouri
1 review
“Out of steak???”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Hubby and I had dinner there last night. After driving 8 hours, checking reviews we chose this restaurant. With only two red wines to choose from, we selected the Cabernet. The waitress returned to say they were out so we settled for the merlot. 5-10 minutes later a different waitress arrived with the wine. Several minutes later, a different waitress showed up to take our order. We had had plenty of time to read the menu and hubby chose the smoked prime rib and I the rib eye. When she took our order, we were told they were out of both. How does a steak house run out of steak? (We overheard later that they were also out of the brisket.) Our original waitress showed up to deliver our steaks that were ok, nothing great, I didn't even finish mine. Then best thing was the bread pudding which we shared. It was huge and delicious. Although there were lots of servers, restauant was not busy at all, tables remained uncleared the whole time we were there, servers were sitting/standing around, no one seemed to be in charge. We would not go back.

Helpful?
Thank Deb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Real Good BBQ”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Funky is a compliment to Skeeter Barnes. The place is very informal, as a good BBQ joint should be, with good burgers, lots of beer choices and nicely smoked pork ribs. One wonders when they might join the trend back to grass-fed beef.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank HowdyDoody4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Pleasant staff, Okay food”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

The staff was very pleasant, but the food was just average. Was told they had excellent BBQ, but I was definitely not impressed. It was okay, and I might go back just for the convenience of the location.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fotonut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Skeeter Barnes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing