We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not sure why it's so high??”

Sozo American Cuisine
Ranked #5 of 110 Restaurants in Kearney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $32
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 2nd Avenue and I-80
2 reviews
“Not sure why it's so high??”
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Ate here for Father's Day & ordered blackened tuna. Tuna had absolutely no seasoning on it. Hummus appetizer was quite good, but for the price I probably won't return here.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Benski99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    46
    25
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
253 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“OK for Hotel Restaurant”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

By many accounts this may be the best or almost the best non chain restaurant in Kearney. That says a bit more about Kearney, perhaps, than the restaurant. Service was a bit slow (understaffed), food was OK but a little pricey.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joerussin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good upscale restaurant”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

A nice place to bring important clients. Food and drink were very good. The filet was wonderful and everyone else in my party also enjoyed their meals. Don't be fooled that it is in a Holiday Inn.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Bow, Nebraska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Juan of the reasons I loved this place!”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Atmosphere great, food great, service great. Our server was Juan and he was knowledgable on the menu and a great server.

We will be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cody S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Steak so good that even slightly overcooked, I couldn't stop eating it long enough to send back”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

In Kearney on business and looking for a "nice" local, non-chain restaurant for dinner; this looked like the best bet from reviews of the various restaurants in town and I wasn't disappointed!

Was tempted by a unique-sounding Avocado Hummus appetizer and tried it - recommended if you like hummus in general - this one was a notch above "regular". Just enough avocado to make the texture extra creamy, and the fried pita chips that come with it are a treat in themselves. Almost like a dessert, slightly sweet - yum!

Dinner came with choice of salad or soup and I had the curry & coconut rice soup - very tasty - mildly spicy and a bit sweet.

Good variety of choices on the menu but I knew that being in Nebraska I wanted steak; sides I ordered were the "spring vegetable" which was asparagus, and the green beans. Both were lightly sauteed and somewhat heavily peppered. There were a few steak cuts to choose from, all locally sourced according to the server. I chose the 8 oz filet. Absolutely delicious! Very tender, excellent flavor. I asked for medium-rare but it was medium to medium-well. Normally I would have sent it back, but I honestly couldn't put down the fork! I did point it out to the server and she was all too willing to take it back for another, but the flavor was so good I didn't want to stop eating.

Decent selection of wine, typically priced for a full-service restaurant.

Didn't have room for dessert.

My server, Laura, was new (3rd day) and made only a few missteps. She knew the menu well and was very personable and appropriately attentive. Main problem with service was that I felt a little rushed; but that happens frequently when I'm dining alone. (Servers should take their cues from the lone diner on whether they want to linger or get going, but that's a separate topic!)

Will definitely eat here again if I'm in Kearney.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RPinNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sozo American Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Sozo American Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing