We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good beers”

Thunderhead Brewing Company
Ranked #4 of 110 Restaurants in Kearney
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pizza, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Woodstone oven pizzas, calzones, salads served with wonderful craft brews.
Moravia, Iowa
Level Contributor
118 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good beers”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

A lot of wheats which we don't like but there was plenty of others on tap. Bartender was super nice- really cool guy. Cropduster IPA and Leatherhead Red were our favs. O'Dells porter was on tap- Cut throat from Ft. Collins mmm... And they have their own Rye ale which was great. Good place. Had a white pizza- quick and tasted good. We didn't get one but they have a double walled vacuum sealed growler! 49.99 first fill is free. It was like an oversized water bottle that would keep you drink cold all day! Deals each day like Saturday was $1 off a 6 pack.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank grimmh101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    55
    19
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
nebraska
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thunder Punch and Pizza!”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I absolutely love the pizza here. It is very tasty and not too expensive. The signature Thunder Punch alcoholic beverage is absolutely delicious! Definitely worth the trip to this amazing place!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank daniecoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“13% beer!!!!”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Was told about this little gem by some guys at West Pharmaceuticals in Kearney. I love strong beers and was told that the best beers where here! I only managed the 13% one! Sorry, I can't remember what it was called, but it was lovely! I also however had a cream soda which was like nothing I'd ever had before either!

Great place, great service, great beer!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Adzbak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Microbrew”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

The guy at the hotel desk said he liked their pizza, so I found Thunderhead in downtown Kearney. The pizza was so-so, but the microbrew beer was great. If you like a variety of good beers this spot is worth searching out. Lots of good dark beers to choose from and the atmosphere is nice.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank mfjayhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Good beer, great weekly specials”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Friendly atmosphere n clean, beer head actually sticks 2 side of glass like its supposed 2.
If you know anything about clean beer glasses the head should not run down the inside of the glass

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank moneyman67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Thunderhead Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing