We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible Flat Iron steaks - the best anywhere!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Whiskey Creek Wood Fire Grill

Whiskey Creek Wood Fire Grill
Ranked #7 of 108 Restaurants in Kearney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar, Barbecue, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We feature wood-fired grilled steaks, award-winning BBQ and so much more cooked over full-sized logs of oak and ash.
Arlington, TX
Level Contributor
148 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Incredible Flat Iron steaks - the best anywhere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We've eaten here 4 times now and each time, it is a great experience. Service has always been excellent, the food comes pretty quickly and the flat iron steak is always grilled to perfection with incredible seasoning to make them melt in your mouth. We always have steamed broccoli as well and it is very tasty. The baked potatoes are baked totally but not over cooked. The skin is so good we eat it as well. The peanuts are fun and tossing the shells on the floor is encouraged.

This is our favorite restaurant in Nebraska. Nothing else comes close.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank silvervalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    112
    59
    21
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Central Illinois
Level Contributor
85 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“good food... what more can you ask?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Great food, great service with good atmosphere. We eat there every time we are in Kearney and I would recommend it to anyone.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank baracuda74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Pretty good but not the best...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Food wasnt cooked right, way too overpriced. The kids steak portion was a joke. Not impressed. The one thing I can say was I liked the atmosphere and the floors. The peanuts on the floors is fun.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nora R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dryden
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“They must have been having an off night?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Steaks were not prepared as ordered, but were tasty. Ribs were dry. Waitress was very pleasant, but bills were not accurate.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank eftravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Go somewhere else”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

The service was horrid. We waited and finally got some bread but no plates or napkins to put it on..after we finished the bread, we go our salad. Then the REAL wait began for our food..over an hour.
My steak was tough, the asparagus tasted like it had been boiled for an hour...the potatoes tasted sweet, the shrimp were cold and greasy. The prices were high for the small amount of unedible food we received. It really could have been a nice place at one time...

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank debinaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whiskey Creek Wood Fire Grill also viewed

 

Been to Whiskey Creek Wood Fire Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing