We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chicago night”
Review of Old Chicago

Old Chicago
Ranked #23 of 110 Restaurants in Kearney
Price range: $8 - $18
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Chicago night”
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

What are the odds? Two Chicago couples independently optimg to eat at at namesake restaurant. The waitress, who was sweet, said the name came from a pinball machine, not the old amusement park that was in Bolinbrook.

The beer selection was great and moderately priced,

Our entries tasty and served quickly.

Be sure to ask for the hotel stay discount, if staying at a local hotel. Saved us 10 percent on our bill.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kaybrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    55
    35
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

good food and fantastic service by Jamie. Jamie was very firendly and our service was fantastic. Our order was hot and out promptly

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank julidailey123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
“Great restaurant in small town Nebraska”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

My family and I were passing through Kearney, NE and needed to find a place for dinner. We were glad to come across Old Chicago. Wonderful "Chicago-style" pizza - light crust, not like some of the deep dish pizzas that I've had before. My mom loved the chicken mac & cheese. Flavorful and not too heavy. Friendly and fast service. If I'm ever in this area again, I would go back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Expected the buffet to include a salad bar. Instead we were brought salads when nearly done eating our pizza & pasta. Food was ok, nothing special.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank attendee5876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kearney, Nebraska
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great selection of brews, great comfort food, good times...”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Disclaimer: we were not traveling through, but are permanent residents of Kearney, Nebraska. Old Chicago has become our go-to place to unwind with good friends (or just ourselves), enjoy a selection from their almost endless Beer Tour, challenge ourselves with their electronic trivia game service...and enjoy typical, but very tasty pub food including great pizza, burgers, salads and appetizers. All of this is served up with a very responsive, cheerful staff.

Beth and I generally go straight to the bar area, where many times we join other regulars at the bar, or if we go with friends and family, we still try to sit in a booth or table in the bar where we can checkout the trivia and the multiple HD screens full of sporting events.

Old Chicago also has an excellent loyalty program, awarding seasonal Old Chicago shirts to those who finish "mini-tours", and for longer term participants, free "foamer bucks" loaded to your member card. Typically anywhere from $5.00 to $20.00 free cash to use at Old Chicago (and good at any location).

I have been to three other locations of O.C.; all of them nice, but not all of them have the rights to the "buzztime" trivia broadcasts...and we really enjoy that at the Kearney location.

As for other review that dissed the food, I have to disagree. The salads are consistently fresh, the pizza (at least the thick...I am not a fan of any thin pizza in general) are excellent. The wings are tasty with a good selection of styles. The food is priced reasonably. Many of the beers, especially the imports and microbrews are pricey, but the standard domestics are available for the lower prices.

It's not perfect. Specifically, the bar area can be over-cooled during the warmer months. Ladies, take a sweater. Also the bar has an ongoing leaking problem, where water seeps through the bar and into the area where you might step when "bellying up" as it were. Don't order the spaghetti and meatballs....all pasta, and large meatballs...but oddly very little sauce and just very bland. A rare swing and a miss from their menu.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mitchinam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Old Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing