We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful room, excellent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Kearney
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Kearney
Certificate of Excellence
Mentor, Ohio
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful room, excellent staff”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

My adult son, my husband and I pulled into Kearny at near midnight after a 15 hour drive from Indiana. We were greeted by a friendly clerk who could see the exhaustion on our faces and gave us a speedy check-in and some snacks as our Priority Club perk. The spacious room was beautiful, clean, with very comfortable beds and pillows. I think it was quiet, truly we were so tired we were out as soon as our heads hit the pillow, but nothing woke us up in the night. The bathrooms were also spotless and I love the new shower heads, the massage feature helped wash away the aches from hours in the car. We did not have time to use the pool or the exercise room so can't comment there. I really hate to give this hotel only 4 stars but if Holiday Inn Express is going to promote the free breakfast as part of the package they need to pay more attention to the quality, so I have to take it into consideration when assigning a rating. Hard biscuits, spongy eggs. Pancake machine was fun but it took forever. I liked the waffle makers better. Good selection of cereals, fruits, yogurt. Don't miss their famous cinnamon rolls. Coffee and tea available all day. Friendly staff, I must say again. I would stay here again in a heart beat and was only sorry we did not get to enjoy it longer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SallieK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kearney, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express, Kearney. Our staff is glad you enjoyed your room and the friendly service that was provided during your stay. Referencing your review on our complimentary breakfast, you will be happy to know that we are rolling out a new healthy options program in order to improve the quality of the breakfast items. When you are traveling back through Kearney, we would love another opportunity to make your stay a 5 star experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    48
    6
    8
    1
See reviews for
72
34
8
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Platte, Nebraska
Level Contributor
447 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

You could actually walk to this from the hockey arena. Beds were comfy, breakfast good as always.

Only complaints - towels seem skimpy and rough, hotel heating/ac had very odd smell.

Value is always great at HI Express!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kbqhills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kearney, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express, Kearney for you recent stay. I would like to apologize for the inconveniences that you incurred during your stay and also thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. Our staff works very hard to ensure that each guest has a wonderful and problem free experience and with constructive comments such as yours it allows us to target specific areas that need attention. Thank you again for your constructive comments about our property and when you are back in the area either for another hockey game or just visiting, we would love another opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horton, KS
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Good place to stay. Family spent two nights this weekend while attending a family reunion in Kearney. Large rooms, clean, and quiet. Easy to get to from the interstate. The desk service was excellent and friendly. Free hot breakfast was great and the pancake machine was fascinating to watch. Had biscuits and gravy, good warm cinnamon rolls like homemade, scrambled eggs, sausage patties, yogurt, several cereals hot and cold, juices, and coffee..
The beds were comfortable but high and hard for small people to get into. The built in bed reading lights were wonderful and I would love to have them on my bed at home.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor close to the elevator but it wasn't noisy. No ice machine on 2nd and 4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pattigo65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kearney, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Reunions are a great way to stay in touch with family. We thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express, Kearney for your recent reunion. Our staff knows the importance of starting your day off right and with our complimentary breakfast options it sounds like you did! Thank you again for your comments about our property and if you are planning a reunion for next year, we would love to have you choose the Holiday Inn Express here in Kearney!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, Nebraska, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was easy to get to from I-80, decent restaurant through the parking lot. The elevator needed some attention, but the overall decor was lovely and cleanliness was fine. Though full it was a blissfully quiet night. The most memorable thing was the amazing view of the sunset from my window. There is a small pond on the western side...spectacular .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kearney, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for staying with at the Holiday Inn Express here in Kearney. Our staff is dedicated to making our guests feel right at home. We are glad that you had a "blissfully quiet night" and that you were able to relax with the sunset over the pond. Thank you again for your wonderful comments and if you are back in the area we would love another opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
267 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Holiday Inn Express with in Kearney for a car show. We arrived early, before noon and the clerk was very helpful to get us a room well before check in time. The accommodations are very nice. Newer hotel with spacious rooms and comfortable beds. Breakfast in the morning. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trooper198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kearney, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you for staying with us here at the Holiday Inn Express, Kearney. Our staff works very hard to ensure that you have a clean and comfortable room no matter when you arrive at our hotel. Thank you again for your wonderful comments and if you are back next year for the car show, we would love to have another opportunity to serve you as our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waverly, IA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel on the road when we were three hours away and fortunately found a room here! We were extremely happy with our stay! The pictures here perfectly depict this hotel. It's very new and clean. We were so impressed with our room- there was plenty of room, with an HD tv and DVD player. Breakfast was excellent with fresh pancakes, eggs, sausage, cinnamon rolls, cereal, yogurt, fruit, and lots more. The breakfast area in general was so nice with high tables and booths. The pool was a perfect size and very clean. The staff was great, both over the phone and in person. We look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kearney, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express, Kearney for your recent trip. I am glad to hear that you found our online images helpful in choosing a hotel for lodging. Our staff is dedicated to ensuring that what you see is truly what you get when you arrive. I appreciate the comments about our property, especially your room and the experience you had in breakfast. Thank you again for choosing our property and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Great hotel. Very clean and I enjoy the free breakfast. I stay here every time I come to Kearney now, which is every other month. Fully remodeled and great location. Best hotel in Kearney. Skeeter Barnes right across the parking lot for food. I need to be able to work every night and the wi-fi is great and seems to be pretty fast as I have no problems with VPN. Quiet too! If you are into Thai food check out Suwanee on the north side of Kearney. It's awesome.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank icemac33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kearney, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your lodging needs. Our staff enjoys the GREAT comments from our guests. I am happy to hear that you have made our hotel your only choice when staying in Kearney! Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kearney hotels
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Kearney
Hampton Inn Kearney
#1 of 22 in Kearney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Kearney
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Kearney
Holiday Inn Kearney
#13 of 22 in Kearney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Kearney
Comfort Inn Kearney
#7 of 22 in Kearney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Kearney
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Mid Nebraska Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Kearney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Kearney

Property: Holiday Inn Express Kearney
Address: 508 2nd Ave S, P.O. Box 2558, Kearney, NE 68847-9301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nebraska > Kearney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Kearney
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kearney
#11 Business Hotel in Kearney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Kearney 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are coming to Kearney s Holiday Inn Express on business or just for fun you will find all the comforts of home, at one of the most convenient locations in the Midwest. We offer easy access to I-80 and are just minutes away from The Great Platte River Road Archway Monument. Holiday Inn Express Hotel Kearney has 89 over sized rooms, of which, 9 are suites with sitting areas. We have 6 hot tub suites and one meeting room. Exercise in our fitness center, go for a swim in our pool, polish that presentation in the business center or relax with a cold beer at our managers reception. All of Kearney s Holiday Inn Express guest rooms feature the following: free high-speed wireless Internet, microwaves, refrigerators, coffee-makers, large work desks, desk lamps, and 42' flat panel TV with HBO. We have a heated indoor pool and whirlpool. Free hot breakfast is available everyday with eggs, biscuits, gravy, sausage or bacon, fruit as well as many other items! If you re staying during the week make sure to enjoy our managers reception (Monday through Thursday 5:30 PM to 7 PM) which includes: free beer, wine and hors d'oeuvres and a Priority Club point drawing! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Kearney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Kearney Hotel Kearney
Holiday Inn Kearney
Kearney Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing