We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Under construction. A mess”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Kearney
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Kearney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Piles of tile and unfinished floors and dust at reception and lounge. Rooms that are finished still smell but windows won't open far enough to air it out. We wouldn't have stayed here if we'd known.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frontierfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Case Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kearney, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2012

Dear Frontierfan,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear you didnt enjoy your stay. We try to keep impact to guests of our renovations minimal.
I appreciate that you have provided us with valuable feedback. I hope you can come back and see all the changes that have been made.
Best wishes for future travels.

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 180 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2012

All the rooms have been recently renovated. However all three nights we stayed here, we experienced difficulties getting into and out of the hotel due to all the work involved in renovating the first floor. It was a mess with lots of dust. The first floor should be finished by March 24 or so. The breakfast was still good. It was served in the meeting room because the breakfast room was being worked on. The rooms were clean and nice. We were here to see the annual Sandhill Crane migration, which was awesome.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoefromOklahoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

We make several trips a year back and forth to Denver. This is our choice of hotels to overnight. If you get there in time the Managers Reception is nice, the resteraunt next door, Skeeter Barnes is good. Staff is always pleasant and beds are comfortable. Complimentary breakfast is among the best.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DakotaCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YounesMGMT, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kearney, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2012

Thank you all for your wonderful reviews from your experience here at our hotel! We know there are many excellent choices within our market, but sincerely appreciate your choice. Thank you also to those that have provided constructive feedback in order for us to improve where improvement is necessary. We hope to see you again sometime this year and for those traveling through our market, please consider giving us a chance to EXCEED your expectations! Thanks again and safe travels!

Younes Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

I stay here several times a month. The staff at the front desk is always friendly, and usually welcome me by name before I tell them who I am. All rooms have refrigerators and microwaves, so you don't have to request one. Everything is always clean, and the beds are comfortable. One bonus is they have a "manager's reception" each night, I believe from 5:00 until 6:00, where snacks and beer or wine are provided free of charge.

Although their rates have escalated in recent years, this is a great location, and I highly recommend staying here!

Room Tip: Join Priority Club and they may offer a room upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bulldog856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Very happy with our night here. Clean and large rooms, well located just south of the Interstate and free parking. The breakfast was included and was great - one of the best we've had with bacon and pancakes! Staff at the hotel were excellent - and we enjoyed chatting with Amanda and Natalie from reception who were very friendly gave us some great info on Kearney and Nebraska.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane_Paul_Adelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

We found the location very convenient, near a good restaurant (Skeeter Barnes - careful, they don't totally understand gluten free needs). The pool was being remodeled, which we didn't know when booking. Sound did penetrate the ceiling. The breakfast was very good and the breakfast lady was friendly and helpful. Front desk staff at check in was somewhat indifferent, but we found the same attitudes in other places we visited in Kearney - it seems to be a function of being in Nebraska or using college students as employees, perhaps. Not a bad place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor. Lower floor could result in your hearing people walking over your head.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DenverD0c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kearney, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2011

Our number one goal is to provide an outstanding experience for each one of our guests, from the time they first walk into our hotel until the time they depart. Reviews such as this will only help us strive to attain this goal and improve in areas of weakness. I can promise you that the issues you mentioned in this review will be evaluated and corrected to ensure the same issue does not occur again in the future.

I appreciate your time reviewing our hotel and I want you to know that we take these issues seriously. If you decide to choose our hotel again, our staff would definitely like the opportunity to show you what "exceptional" customer service is all about.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Carrie (sp?) who prepares the "breakfast" is super friendly and efficient - makes you feel at home!

Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
Thank Parker1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kearney hotels
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Kearney
Hampton Inn Kearney
#1 of 22 in Kearney
751 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Kearney
Holiday Inn Kearney
#13 of 22 in Kearney
209 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Kearney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Kearney
0.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kearney
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Mid Nebraska Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Kearney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Kearney

Address: 508 2nd Ave S, P.O. Box 2558, Kearney, NE 68847-9301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nebraska > Kearney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Kearney
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kearney
#11 Business Hotel in Kearney
Price Range: $102 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Kearney 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are coming to Kearney s Holiday Inn Express on business or just for fun you will find all the comforts of home, at one of the most convenient locations in the Midwest. We offer easy access to I-80 and are just minutes away from The Great Platte River Road Archway Monument. Holiday Inn Express Hotel Kearney has 89 over sized rooms, of which, 9 are suites with sitting areas. We have 6 hot tub suites and one meeting room. Exercise in our fitness center, go for a swim in our pool, polish that presentation in the business center or relax with a cold beer at our managers reception. All of Kearney s Holiday Inn Express guest rooms feature the following: free high-speed wireless Internet, microwaves, refrigerators, coffee-makers, large work desks, desk lamps, and 42' flat panel TV with HBO. We have a heated indoor pool and whirlpool. Free hot breakfast is available everyday with eggs, biscuits, gravy, sausage or bacon, fruit as well as many other items! If you re staying during the week make sure to enjoy our managers reception (Monday through Thursday 5:30 PM to 7 PM) which includes: free beer, wine and hors d'oeuvres and a Priority Club point drawing! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Kearney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Kearney Hotel Kearney
Holiday Inn Kearney
Kearney Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing