We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plenty of food”
Review of The Alley Rose

The Alley Rose
Ranked #1 of 111 Restaurants in Kearney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $30
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Kihei
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Plenty of food”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

This restaurant featured a very nice salad bar and plentyful entrees. Three of the 4 adults took food home, and made a meal for 4 the next day. By the time you get done with the salad bar, you might as well box your entree. Service was fairly attentive, but we did have a very cute grandchild with us who tends to steal the show. Salad bar for her was $0.25/yr, so this is a good choice for taking out the short people in your group.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacquelyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    85
    30
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Clare, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Glad I drove up town to this place”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Kearney is a good stop heading from N. Illinois west to Colorado. Some might think it is a little long but it is about 9 hours with some stops. Heading west I stayed at the Hampton in Kearney and found the name of this place. Glad I went. on the way out I have the Chicken Cordon Blue. Very good. My wife and I stopped on the way back and she had the Prime Rib. Salad bar is good too.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Clareinsguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice Kearney Find”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

The Alley Rose is a great place to know about if you find yourself in Kearney seeking a fine, leisurely dinner. The interior is "elegant" only in an old-school, midwestern kind of way, but the food and service really were a pleasant surprise. I ordered Osso Bucco with rissotto that was as delicious as any I've had anywhere, except for being a little too salty. The salad bar was definitely above-average, with a nice variety of freshly-prepared and flavorful options to choose from. For the price, the Rose is a rewarding dining experience.

Moreover, I like to support independent eateries located in older, historic, walkable neighborhoods. The surrounding Kearney "old town" area is pleasant, and it seems to be staying relatively lively and viable.

Warning: the portions served by Alley Rose are huge. Be prepared to take some of your dinner home with you, if possible, unless you're a serious glutton.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GonzoDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

I was looking for a place just for a drink and a person told me about Alley Rose but mentioned the food was great over there. So I went to lunch instead and I was so glad I did. They had a market buffet that included chicken stir fry, fresh salads, pastas, deli sandwiches and homemade soup. I was thoroughly satisfied. They also had a chocolate chip cake dessert that was delightful. The waitress was very attentive and friendly. If you are ever in Kearney that is the place to go.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dennis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kearney, Ne
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Excellent food and great service”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

The Alley Rose has been providing great good, drinks and service for a long time. The prime rib, steaks, seafood and burgers are all excellent. They are also known for their casseroles that are very tasty. Can be pricey.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kycgeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Alley Rose also viewed

 

Been to The Alley Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing