We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The height of mediocrity”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Mid Nebraska Inn & Suites
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Kearney
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“The height of mediocrity”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is really a question of context. Kearney is an unappealing small city (large town?) with a fairly large selection of chain hotels so if you ask if this is the best Kearney has to offer, I honestly don't know. If you rate it against other Best Westerns, I'd say it falls flat though my expectations for Best Westerns are not terrible high: generally you can count on clean, pleasant, reasonably priced.

This room seemed clean, but there was a weird sewage smell in the bathroom. The staff ranged from dopey to hostile to quite helpful. The heater was loud, the fridge temperature temperamental, and the clock buzzed loudly enough we just unplugged it for the duration of our stay. Breakfast was fine if you stuck to dry cereal and took it back to the room----the eating area was so crowded and despite the efforts of a clearly overwhelmed staff, a slew of children left behind disgusting detritus on every table.

We were in Kearney to see the migrating sandhill cranes so we were up very, very early and then returned to sleep in---which meant we missed housekeeping entirely. We did ask for some clean towels, but we were left with unemptied trash baskets, no replenishment of tea/coffee supplies, etc. The staff attitude was that we slept in, so we were simply s.o.l.

Would I stay here again if we came back? I'd probably try the Holiday Inn or Holiday Inn Express next time.

Room Tip: Definitely get a room on the second floor; otherwise, you'll have people right outside your wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisapdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kellyk123, General Manager at Best Western Plus Mid Nebraska Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. I'm unsure what the sewage smell was but we did check into after your stay. I hope you enjoyed the Sandhill Crane Migration. Its amazing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    132
    29
    8
    3
See reviews for
211
153
46
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stopped at this hotel based on the reviews and rankings, and had an enjoyable evening. The room was clean, the pool was enjoyable and breakfast was quite good for a Best Western. Overall it was a great stay and an even better value.

Of note, the hotel is south of I-80 on a service road. Your Garmin might send you north of the highway.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr_Vette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kellyk123, General Manager at Best Western Plus Mid Nebraska Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
I love that we are right next to the event center. Great place for fans of hockey!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed here on a long weedend trip with 4 other families in March 2013. We were in town for a Friday Night Hockey Game. The location of the hotel to the hockey arena is within walking distance witch was great. The pool area was great for all of the kids to swim. The rooms were very nice and the beds were probably a 9 out of 10. They were pretty comfortable. The hotel in general was very clean and looked like a modern hotel!!
We will stay here again in a heart beat next year when we plan the same trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bwhitese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kellyk123, Manager at Best Western Plus Mid Nebraska Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
I'm so glad you had a nice trip and enjoyed some hockey. Can't wait to see you next year!

Kelly Krier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Jordan, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is a superb stop in the middle of no where location. Clean, big rooms with awesome beds made for a nice rest on a RT drive to NYC. Excellent, helpful staff that is simply Midwest kind. The location is close to I80 and gas stations. The breakfast was on target and provided everything we needed to get started for the day.

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MMPTUT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kellyk123, Manager at Best Western Plus Mid Nebraska Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thanks for staying with us during your round trip ticket to New York City. How fun!

Kelly Krier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillipsburg, Kansas
1 review
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We have stayed in Kearney many times, but had not stayed at this hotel. We had tickets to the hockey game and thought we'd give it a try since it is so close to the Viaero Center. Just have to say what an AWESOME place to stay! The rooms were very nice and clean. The beds were so comfortable! The breakfast was wonderful. Our 3 grandkids loved the pool and hot tub!The front staff was so helpful!! And at such an affordable price!I can't say enough good things about our stay! We will definately be back! Oh yes, did I mention you get a discount rate if you are going to the hockey game? Sweet.....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KSGrandMa8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This is by far one of the nicest places we have ever stayed while on the road. The staff was very friendly, the bed was wonderful, the room clean and updated. The breakfast was very, very good more variety than usual. We would definitely stay here again should we be in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nbuch4242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kellyk123, Manager at Best Western Plus Mid Nebraska Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
I'm so glad your stayed with us and appreciate the positive review. Hope to have you back soon.

Kelly Krier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetonka, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I have stayed in Kearney 2 times in the last 6 weeks and will be traveling back there every few weeks. Stayed at this hotel both times and plan to stay there for all future trips. Clean, quiet, very comfortable beds. Rooms were spacious, staff was fabulous. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Kearney.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelaQ311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kellyk123, Manager at Best Western Plus Mid Nebraska Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for always staying with us! Make sure you sign up to be a Rewards member so you can accumulate points for your stays. Points are good for free night stays, travel cards and gift cards to many businesses.

Kelly Krier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kearney hotels
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Kearney
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Kearney
Hampton Inn Kearney
#1 of 22 in Kearney
697 reviews
0.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kearney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Kearney
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Kearney
1.0 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#4 of 22 in Kearney
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Mid Nebraska Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Mid Nebraska Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Mid Nebraska Inn & Suites
Address: 224 2nd Ave S, Kearney, NE 68847-9380
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nebraska > Kearney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Kearney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Mid Nebraska Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Mid Nebraska Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing