We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lotus Desaru Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Bandar Penawar
Reviewed May 30, 2010

reach hotel at around 4pm and waited untill 6pm for a room. I thought the their international check in time was 3pm and we still have to wait 2 hours. lobby was full of people waiting for their rooms. Finally got our keys and went to our rooms. BUT THE ROOM WAS NOT CLEANED UP!!!Rubbish everywhere and beds not tidied up. I have to walk back all the way to the lobby and waited again for a new room.. but we have to leave for my next itinerary at 630. wasted my time waiting.. . At night, the power supply trip 3 times!!!. In the morning after my breakfast, went back to my room but found myself locked out!! Not just me, i saw a few other rooms in my block also locked out!!! Spoil my whole trip. my worst ever hotel stay ever...

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nastytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (855)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

814 - 820 of 855 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2010

Not the most picturesque resort you can stay in. The Lotus was a deserted shell last time I was in Desaru (about 2 years previously) so it was nice to see it up and running again. It's not the best design for a hotel though; considering it is a beach hotel, you can only really see the sea from the restaurant and a handful of the rooms.

The rooms were OK, a little dated looking but clean and the beds were comfortable. No balcony furniture though but not much of a view to see anyway (we had a 2 bedroom apartment)

We went from a Tuesday to a Friday and the resort was really quiet (about 5 other groups/families there). There were issues with the water park, they kept turning it off so we kept having to ask them to switch it back on again - presumably this wouldn't happen during busier times.

Lack of shade was an issue - not many loungers or chairs with decent shade and no parasols by the water park or the swimming pool.

Both the beach bar and the restaurant did the same menu so it got a bit limited after 3 nights. There is a seafood restaurant, but closed during our stay which was understandable (too few people). The food we had was quite good; they make their own naan bread and roti and they seem to have an Indian theme going on with a few Malay dishes too (but with it being Malaysia I was surprised that they didn't have rendang on the menu).

There are lots of activities to choose from (jet ski, kids club, bike hire etc) but the only free thing was the pool. The shop was expensive (80 ringgit for a bottle of wine!). Take your own booze if you want to drink in the apartment (there are no other shops around) and maybe some food too (there was a fridge, microwave & kettle in our room).

The beach is OK but not that clean; there was rusty metal sticking out of the sand in the resort's section of the beach (you'd think they'd clean that up). The sea isn't very clear either, not like it is around Tioman or further up north - not much clearer than the sea around Singapore. I have been to this beach at different times of the year and the water has never been very clear so I think it must be because it is so close to Singapore.

To sum up, it was OK but nothing special. For a few nights away from Singapore it is fine but I would not recommend it to someone looking for a destination for a longer holiday - there are much nicer beaches and hotels in Malaysia and the Desaru area is very remote with not a lot of sightseeing.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigSis2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2010

Group of near 20 of us stayed 3D2N at this new resort. It looked nice from the exterior and the beach was great. The compound was huge too but they do have little buggies to ferry you around if you manage to get one. If not, you can always drive your own car around and park at the ample lots available around the resort.

Upon check-in, however, it was a little disappointing as a closer look at the facilities and amenities showed poor worksmanship. The shower knobs were wobbly (not screwed on properly) though they looked new. Some friends (with children) in non-smoking rooms complained of a stale tobacco smell in the bathrooms.

Our room experienced intermittent blackouts (luckily it was still early in the day) on the first day when the electricity breaker jumped, but it worked out fine later that day and it held up the next day. The staff were quick to help, though.

They have a pretty airy restaurant for breakfast near the beach, which was a nice plus. It is pretty family friendly especially the tube slide which is very popular.

Despite the several hiccups, we were told by our friends who frequent Desaru that this is probably the best resort in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teerameesoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2010

We went here as a short trip from Singapore. It was really convenient. Ferry from Changi to Malaysia in about 30 mins, then 30 mins to hotel. Left on 7.15am ferry and we were in our room by 8.30am. We took a 2 bed appartment, which was great value at RM379 - not luxury, but spacious enough and comfortable beds and two bathroom. It was great to have a fridge and microwave. Our three year old had a fantastic time playing in the waterpark and so did we! The beach is lovely, very long with golden sands, but we did see a few jelly fish in the sea. The water is quite clear, but appears not because of black sand underneath. The food was quite tasty. The crowd is mostly Malaysian families and I would feel too exposed wearing a bikini. We hope to return some time soon with a bunch of other families from Singapore. Two things I found annoying was it it was such a hassle making the booking through their KL sales office, but I have a new number in Singapore now. Also the cost of transfer from the jetty of 46 RM per adult and 26RM per child (2 way) is extortionate compared to the value for money of the 2-bed appartment. Also, the water in the waterpark area had dead insects and leaves in it and should have been cleaner. Service from the staff was quite attentive, although they had trouble understanding our accents!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charlene26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2010

If you want to see the BIGGEST coconut in the world, you must head here.

Seriously, kids will enjoy the theme park, with it's kids slides and playground equipment. While the tube slide ride was enjoyed by my 8 year old son, and many other guest, I do find that it's design wasn't perfect and many a times you may get stuck on your way down.

There is another more conventional swimming pool adjacent to the gym. No signs of a spa though.

We checked in the hotel on the Thursday before Good Friday. Out of the over 300 rooms, we were told that there were only 15 rooms occupied for that night - as such, Thursday night seemed like an exclusive resort to me and my family with the beach deserted. The hotel was more busy over the weekend with about 150 rooms taken up, mostly by holidaying Singaporeans.

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment with a small kitchen, this had a sink, a small counter, a microwave oven and utensils/cutlery. Great for preparing simple sandwiches - with 2 active boys, this was a must.

The room was clean and simply furnished. Air conditioning via split unit aircons, so it could be as cold or warm as you wish.

The master bedroom kingsized bed, and the other bedroom's 2 single beds were clean, quiet and comfortable. The master bedroom's bathroom had a big bath tub for the relaxing couple...

The beach was beautiful, and great for walking during low tide with the kids catching and releasing hermit crabs. The check in desk advised that swimming on the beach wasn't advisable, while a security was more honest in his story of swimmers drowning around the Desaru area due to strong currents and undertow.

The hotel additionally provides sun beds along the beach, and by the cabana where drinks could be purchased.

Lots of care went into the carpet grass field between the hotel's restaurant building and the beach.

Meals were limited to a restaurant at the hotel - food selection during dinner and breakfast was limited. You will need to have a car to drive to other towns for more varied meals, which we did for a lunch (Good Luck restaurant at Sg Renggit, 30 minute drive), and a dinner (Kota Tinggi, 45 minute drive, as we were also going there for the firefly cruise)

The hotel also provides activities for the kids such as kite making, painting, leaf hunting ... - so take advantage of these free activities. There were also bicycles, jet skis, kayaks etc for hire.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GreyMatter_Singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2010

Spacious with a great price! Up to 4 bedrooms suit available which is great for family. The water themepark is the best spot for kids. Clean bottled water provided daily with a mini kitchen & dinning table on top of the living area.

Could not sleep well with the hard pillows as I'm used to softer pillows but this is individual preference. There's no indication at the recep area (check in/check out counter) which is confusing and this is a big hotel with lots of guest checking in and out at the same time makes it worse.

However, the amenities are miserable. We stayed in the 3 bedroom type which accomodates up to 6 persons (a king size, a queen size & 2 single beds) but is only given 2 tiny bottles of shampoo & soap in each toilet. You have to pay for any additional requests - bath towel, hand towels, shampoo, soap all comes with extra charge. No toothpaste & toothbrush provided too. Not sure why the housekeeping does not include toilet and the floor tiles are giving way. We picked up 3 broken pieces during our 3D2N stay.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank homsingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2010

This hotel is definely the best in Desaru beach. The room is clean and newly renovated. Compare to other outdated hotels, it is a gem. My comment is positive except those Staffs are too green and not attentive. The Swimming pool in the water theme park really need some cleanup.

For the food, breakfast is good but common and there is no much choice. The dinner there is really good with a reasonable price. May be because the owner of the hotel is a restaurant owner mentioned in other review.

One more advice, Don't go to those seafood restaurant near the ferry pier. I read the review and go with my family, It cost me RM 198 but all things are not fresh and not tasty. It is really suck. The next day, I try the seafood restuarant in the hotel, It cost me RM 120 but it is much, much better.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ttttcwt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bandar Penawar
0.2 mi away
Sand & Sandals Desaru Beach Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort - Desaru Coast
8.5 mi away
Amansari Hotel Desaru
Amansari Hotel Desaru
#4 of 6 in Bandar Penawar
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Lakeview Terrace Resort
Lakeview Terrace Resort
#1 of 1 in Pengerang
8 reviews
22.7 mi away
Changi Cove Singapore
Changi Cove Singapore
#104 of 317 in Singapore
346 reviews
22.1 mi away
Village Hotel Changi by Far East Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lotus Desaru Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Desaru Beach Resort

Address: Lot 1854 Jalan Desaru | Bandar Penawar, Bandar Penawar 81930, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Kota Tinggi District > Bandar Penawar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Bandar Penawar
Price Range: $55 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lotus Desaru Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 700
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lotus Desaru Beach Resort invites guests to design the vacation of their choice in a tropical seaside setting - whether they fancy an activity-filled holiday, a relaxing retreat, or even a mix of a little business with pleasure on the side. It's not just a resort that you can relax and unwind, it's also a place where you can have fun with your kids and loved one. Try our 'splashtacular' Water Park specially designed for fun and excitement with your family and friends, don't miss to enjoy our Water Park that features Giant Coconut Fall, Lazy River, Aqua Play, Stone Bridge, Tipping Coconut with Kiddy Slide, Poolside Grotto, and Relaxation Gazebos. Aside from this, we have expanded our facilities to create more fun and activities for the guest. The 14 acres of Team Building Park, enjoy an all-out fun full of adventure and education. Our team specializes in organising team building activities such as water rafting, survivor experience, obstacle course, explorace, treasure hunt, paintball and more. Experience the nature of the forest with your friends with different activities such as bird watching, camping, jungle trekking and lake fishing. Be relaxed and unwind with our newly opened "Lotus Suria Ayurveda Spa", rejuvenate your body, mind and soul. Our Spa offers a unique blend of various treatments for the preservation of health and cure of diseases in a natural way that Ayurveda proposes. Of all those places you've been which attempted to blend nature with modern convenience, most could not live up to Desaru and the other remoteness along Malaysia's eastern coast. Yes, nearly the entire length of the Malay peninsular is pristine beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lotus Desaru Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lotus Desaru Beach Hotel Kota Tinggi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing