We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“couple?! avoid this resort!!!.......” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lotus Desaru Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lotus Desaru Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bandar Penawar
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“couple?! avoid this resort!!!.......”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

The building looks like a jail than a castle for us.
We came during long weekend so it was over crowded, we stand more than 1 hour before finally reached the receptionist since the queue was like a giant snake

Room was well design with living room downstairs & bedroom upstairs, each room had a bathroom, only the room smell was like a fish farm.

Nothing excited us here, even though they had some facility such as swimming pool, water sport, cycling rent, etc, the pool was dirty & was full with people-kids + you need to fight and wait just to get a beach towel

Inside the resort, they had 2 restaurant and bar, but their food and service was awful + overpriced, the next eve we decide booked a taxi and go out to the near village just to had a fresh seafood dinner & for a drink we walked down to their neighbor resort.......

Breakfast was terribly mess, dirty tables, plates, cold meal + coffee with unfriendly staff and if the long weekend excuse them to not do a good services, "to the management", please don't stated your place as a resort....

Overall, probably it's a fairy tale castle only for a kids, they will voluntary happy and love to add more mess I guess :p

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ratih_Martial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    320
    308
    71
    48
See reviews for
462
113
7
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
70 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

Stayed here twice for Cycling Events. It is a low budget resort style hotel but offers everything you need for a night or two. Cant imagine staying longer than a weekend. Waterpark is nice but gets boring for the kids after a while. Evening entertainment very limited. Finding elevators and rooms can be tricky. Not sure who did the numbering. Stay away during holidays as it will turn into a Chinese capital with more people than you can imagine. Checking out and in can take a while. There is no room service and if they decide to send something to your room it will take a while.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank larsdominic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

I spent 2 days 1 night in the resort with my friends last weekends. This was my second time of staying in this resort and can see that they are In the progress of upgrading to serve the customer better.

There are many types of water sport activities such as parasailing, family donut etc. It is a bit pricey and i don't understand why need to pay for RM10 for the life jacket. Shouldn't this be included in the ride price?

We paid for RM29 per pax for the breakfast and think that it is not worth it. Even though they have a huge restaurant with many tables, but seemed like they do not enough chef. The food replenishment was slow. Ended up I have a roti kosong, nasi lemak (taste like plain rice) and a cup of coffee for my breakfast.

Overall this is a average resort for a short getaway.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank kailly12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

lots of water fun for kids and adults... could be a bit crowded specially during Malaysia or Singapore holidays...rooms are average type but then you wont spend much of your time inside as you will always go out and enjoy the beach and the pools.

Room Tip: Rooms on H is and the adjacent rooms are near to the pool and reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru District, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

My family and I stayed at one of the suites. The room was a double storey unit with a pantry, living room and a wash room at the ground floor. The upper level is built like a mezzanine floor, where you can always look down to the living room. A spacious bathroom with tub, wardrobe, dressing table and bed are at the upper level of the said suite.


However the staircase is a bit dangerous for young children and elderly.

You can really get wet at the water theme park, a huge swimming pool nearby hotel main lobby as well a more privacy swimming pool in between block M and P. Pool towel are provided and of course you need to show pool towel card given during check in. You must wear bracelet given every time you wish to enter any swimming pool.

The food though offer lots of choices, but the taste was just average.The buffet breakfast was so jam packed during weekend. Not enough seating available, not enough cutlery set, plates and there's a long queue at every counters.

Since the whole complex is so huge, shuttle bus is provided gor hotel guest. The bus stop is located at every block.

Overall, it was a pleasant and enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JiettFxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
73 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

We went for 3 days group event last weekend and we were really really disappointed with the hotel. Let's start with the room: spacious but humid and stinky, stained bed sheet, broken faucet on pantry sink/wash basin, broken head shower. Beach was okay but hey! there were no beach chairs so relax and enjoy the ocean. Hospitality? they do not teach the staff to smile or greet. Water park might be a plus point but we don't have little children anymore. Seriously, I will not go back and will not recommend the resort to anybody!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheSusilos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bandar Penawar hotels

Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Love the hotel and the hotel room is huge.Room is clean but found bathtub with yellowish stains.Given room that can view the waterpark.Just nice especially when you just got up from bed.Besides that, the shuttle bus service is excellent.You just dont have to walk so much.They go around the hotel every 1 to 2 mins.Suitable for old people to visit.Great morning breakfast.Just love the environment there.You can eat your breakfast while viewing the sea view.Overall I would say its a great staycation eventhou I just stay there one night.Highly recommend.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Marylyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bandar Penawar
1.4 mi away
Desaru Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort
0.9 mi away
Sand & Sandals Desaru Beach Resort & Spa
22.3 mi away
Village Hotel Changi by Far East Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sibu Island Resort
Sibu Island Resort
#10 of 13 in Mersing
3.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
22.8 mi away
Raintr33 Hotel Singapore
Raintr33 Hotel Singapore
#205 of 309 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
22.9 mi away
Changi Cove
Changi Cove
#109 of 309 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lotus Desaru Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Desaru Beach Resort

Property: Lotus Desaru Beach Resort
Address: Lot 1854 Jalan Desaru | Bandar Penawar, Bandar Penawar 81930, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Kota Tinggi District > Bandar Penawar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bandar Penawar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lotus Desaru Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 700
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lotus Desaru Beach Resort invites guests to design the vacation of their choice in a tropical seaside setting - whether they fancy an activity-filled holiday, a relaxing retreat, or even a mix of a little business with pleasure on the side. It's not just a resort that you can relax and unwind, it's also a place where you can have fun with your kids and loved one. Try our 'splashtacular' Water Park specially designed for fun and excitement with your family and friends, don't miss to enjoy our Water Park that features Giant Coconut Fall, Lazy River, Aqua Play, Stone Bridge, Tipping Coconut with Kiddy Slide, Poolside Grotto, and Relaxation Gazebos. Aside from this, we have expanded our facilities to create more fun and activities for the guest. The 14 acres of Team Building Park, enjoy an all-out fun full of adventure and education. Our team specializes in organising team building activities such as water rafting, survivor experience, obstacle course, explorace, treasure hunt, paintball and more. Experience the nature of the forest with your friends with different activities such as bird watching, camping, jungle trekking and lake fishing. Be relaxed and unwind with our newly opened "Lotus Suria Ayurveda Spa", rejuvenate your body, mind and soul. Our Spa offers a unique blend of various treatments for the preservation of health and cure of diseases in a natural way that Ayurveda proposes. Of all those places you've been which attempted to blend nature with modern convenience, most could not live up to Desaru and the other remoteness along Malaysia's eastern coast. Yes, nearly the entire length of the Malay peninsular is pristine beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Lotus Desaru Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lotus Desaru Beach Hotel Kota Tinggi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing