We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go unless you have to!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Lotus Desaru Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Lotus Desaru Beach Resort to your Saves list
Lotus Desaru Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Lot 1854, Jalan Desaru | Bandar Penawar, Bandar Penawar 81930, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bandar Penawar
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Don't go unless you have to!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We went for 3 days group event last weekend and we were really really disappointed with the hotel. Let's start with the room: spacious but humid and stinky, stained bed sheet, broken faucet on pantry sink/wash basin, broken head shower. Beach was okay but hey! there were no beach chairs so relax and enjoy the ocean. Hospitality? they do not teach the staff to smile or greet. Water park might be a plus point but we don't have little children anymore. Seriously, I will not go back and will not recommend the resort to anybody!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheSusilos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Love the hotel and the hotel room is huge.Room is clean but found bathtub with yellowish stains.Given room that can view the waterpark.Just nice especially when you just got up from bed.Besides that, the shuttle bus service is excellent.You just dont have to walk so much.They go around the hotel every 1 to 2 mins.Suitable for old people to visit.Great morning breakfast.Just love the environment there.You can eat your breakfast while viewing the sea view.Overall I would say its a great staycation eventhou I just stay there one night.Highly recommend.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Marylyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
94 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

They offered apartments from studio size to big family size. The rooms are old and things are breaking apart, so don't expect any five star living standard. The rooms are filthy and water heaters were broken. Power tripped a few times on first day of stay.

One thing good are their staff services, fast on calls and they were helpful. That really made up for the lousy rooms.

The resort is big, walking from reception to your apartment seems impossible. Thank god they provide in-resort shuttle buses that go round trip, save you the effort for walking.

The swimming pool is awesome! My children loved it!

Room Tip: Don't go during peak period, they will serve lousy breakfast on busy days.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank handison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I spent my Deepavali public holiday weekend with my family at this resort, it was less than an hour drive from JB, so the traveling process is not really tiring (for those from JB) using the Senai-Desaru expressway.

The resort was huge with many blocks within the compound. I booked a one bedroom suite for my family of 4 (2 adults and 2 kids) with an extra bed. The room is designed with bedroom at higher floor and lower floor is the living room with a small dining table and a kitchenette. A microwave and mini fridge are available. The furniture looks a little aged but overall the room is clean and cosy with air conditioner at both upper and lower floors. My room is at the highest floor, the view was good with a little seaview from the balcony. TV channels are acceptable with CNN, Nat Geo, Carton Network and a few other cable stations, plus all local and Singapore channels. However, there is NO WIFI in the room, wifi is only available free for hotel guest at hotel lobby area. Also, another drawback is the low pressure in the water shower in the bathroom resulting longer time for shower and unsatisfying shower experience though the water temperature is all right.

The beach is long with a number of activities offered by the resort. The sand is not that white and fine, due to it long and wide beach area, it is good for sandcastle building by the children. My kids enjoyed it most! However, the water is not crystal clear and dirty, don't ever let your kids play with the water.

The breakfast experience was terrible...perhaps due to the large crowd during the public holiday weekend, long queue everywhere for food. I believe due to mass cooking for the crowd, the food quality is not up to a 4-star resort standard. The beverage i.e. coffee and juices are very diluted.

If you wish to have seafood dinner, I suggest you drive to Sungai Rengit (or Pangerang) area for very good, fresh and reasonable priced seafood dinner, which is about 25-30 km away down south from the resort.

There is a gym, 2 swimming pools and a water theme park in the resort specially for the kids. You need to purchase entry ticket (RM5/person) for the additional heads in your room (free for 2 adults per room only). Kids would enjoy very much at the water park, but water is not clean as many tends to jump into the water with clothes on.

Overall, this is resort is good for family vacation with kids for a weekend breakawy. The town itself has no other activities and entertainment. It is a quiet and sleep town!

Room Tip: If you book 1 bedroom suite, choose room at high floor and avoid the blocks facing water park if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike_Wong75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This is a big resort, but it was only 40% full when we were there so it wasn't too busy. The accommodation is very cheap and there are all types of rooms to suit everyone. We had a 2 bedroom apartment with separate living room and 2 bathrooms, which was perfect for our family of 4. The room was very clean, spacious and fairly well equipped. I think it was very good considering the price (we got a 2 nights for the price of 1, so it was quite cheap).

The swimming pools are quite nice although not really up to modern 'resort' standard, but they are wet, cold and clean which is the main thing.

The waterpark is fairly small but perfect for our kids aged 3 to 6. I think kids up to age about 8 or 10 would be very happy there. It is not for thrill seekers but fun for the young and young at heart. There is an area full of small slides etc for little kids, a larger slide and the 'lazy' river, which is so lazy in parts you need to get up and walk!!

The beach is OK, not as nice as it looks in the pictures but it is fine. The waves are small so good for small kids and there is plenty of sand for playing in.

We didn't do it but there are many water activities available (eg jet-ski, parasailing etc) but it was very pricey.

The breakfast buffet was very good with a decent selection of Asian (Indian, Chinese and Malay) and western (croissant, bread, cereal, baked beans, sausage) dishes.

The dinner buffet was also good and well priced but is not available every night.

Eating a la carte was quite expensive, especially at the Rhu Bar. The Teratai Coffeehouse was cheaper although had a smaller range.

Other activities are paintball, massage and other spa treatments, amusement arcade etc which all cost extra.

Overall, a good getaway with small kids.

Room Tip: Block 'S' is closest to the pool, beach and restaurants. It was also pretty quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alexvonw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Selangor, Selangor, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The kids loved it. Waterpark, beach, the night activity and crowd. However, since the price is considered cheap and the number of rooms were massive, we had to endure the crowd. Not a quiet peaceful holiday at all. It was like going to some theme park, but no complains from the kids so hubby and me are happy.

The bad was... Didn't manage to find our room the first time (very minor). The room has stairs leading up to the bedroom. Very dangerous if you have very small kids playing or running up down the stairs. Hubby almost tripped! (This was major).
Check out was horrendous. Line was too long so we decided to go for a drive first n come back to check out later i.e. at 2pm. But no late checkout charges were incurred.

We will come back though, with a safety baby gate at the bottom of the stairs! Couples, please stay away. Unless you want a preview of what a married life with children looks like!

Room Tip: Higher floors and not facing the water park. Too noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JB
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed from 13/Oct to 15/Oct. The rooms were on promo and we paid RM280 for 2 night for the 1 bedroom apartment. It was a good deal and we had great time.

We had 3 small boys with us and they did fine with the mezanine stairs. We watch over our kids of course when they go up and down. The bedroom and bathroom are located on the mezanine.

The apartment is clean. All appliances worked well and our towels are clean. Some stain but it is clean. It was spacious. Enough for 3 adults and 3 children.

So far, we've been to a couple of resort around Desaru and Lotus is still the best in term of value for money and cleanliness.

The food spread is good for breakfast. Local delicacy and mamak style cooking. We enjoyed breakfast. Just pick your favourite.

As for cleanliness, over our 3 days stay, we saw workers cleaning the pool every morning, room cleaning daily and there are workers even sweeping sand at the Teratai restaurant...

We enjoyed our stay...and I am thinking of our next outing there...

Room Tip: Choose block G as it is nearer to a larger parking lot, closer to the beach and reastaurent. The 1 r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bandar Penawar
1.1 mi away
Pulai Desaru Beach Resort and Spa
1.8 mi away
Desaru Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort
22.3 mi away
Village Hotel Changi by Far East Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sibu Island Resort
Sibu Island Resort
#10 of 13 in Mersing
3.0 of 5 stars 126 reviews
23.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Changi Airport
Crowne Plaza Changi Airport
#20 of 305 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 stars 3,157 reviews
22.9 mi away
Changi Cove
Changi Cove
#134 of 305 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lotus Desaru Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Desaru Beach Resort

Address: Lot 1854, Jalan Desaru | Bandar Penawar, Bandar Penawar 81930, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Kota Tinggi District > Bandar Penawar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bandar Penawar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lotus Desaru Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 700
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lotus Desaru Beach Resort invites guests to design the vacation of their choice in a tropical seaside setting - whether they fancy an activity-filled holiday, a relaxing retreat, or even a mix of a little business with pleasure on the side. It's not just a resort that you can relax and unwind, it's also a place where you can have fun with your kids and loved one. Try our 'splashtacular' Water Park specially designed for fun and excitement with your family and friends, don't miss to enjoy our Water Park that features Giant Coconut Fall, Lazy River, Aqua Play, Stone Bridge, Tipping Coconut with Kiddy Slide, Poolside Grotto, and Relaxation Gazebos. Aside from this, we have expanded our facilities to create more fun and activities for the guest. The 14 acres of Team Building Park, enjoy an all-out fun full of adventure and education. Our team specializes in organising team building activities such as water rafting, survivor experience, obstacle course, explorace, treasure hunt, paintball and more. Experience the nature of the forest with your friends with different activities such as bird watching, camping, jungle trekking and lake fishing. Be relaxed and unwind with our newly opened "Lotus Suria Ayurveda Spa", rejuvenate your body, mind and soul. Our Spa offers a unique blend of various treatments for the preservation of health and cure of diseases in a natural way that Ayurveda proposes. Of all those places you've been which attempted to blend nature with modern convenience, most could not live up to Desaru and the other remoteness along Malaysia's eastern coast. Yes, nearly the entire length of the Malay peninsular is pristine beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Lotus Desaru Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lotus Desaru Beach Hotel Kota Tinggi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing