We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great resort for family stay and relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lotus Desaru Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bandar Penawar
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great resort for family stay and relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

I stayed in this resort for 2 times and I want to go again. It is a nice place to relax and spend time with family. There a lot of activities for children. Swimming pools are good. Most of the rooms are clean. Though there is not much view of sea directly, still I would like to consider it as excellent because of the price and facilities they have.

Room Tip: Try to take the high floor rooms as those are more cleans.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MNSalehin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    322
    311
    71
    49
See reviews for
465
113
7
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

An average place to stay. Room is old and flooring needs care and cause safety concerns of loose tiles.The upper bedroom is a novelty with winding stairs but not good for seniors & very young kids.Breakfast has local variety but tasteless.Main highlight is the kids water park with the water slide.My kids did the slide countless times for 2 hrs causing me to have leg cramps after that. The coconut is also cool.Shot the paintball targets with kids & they enjoyed it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Good for family vacation. Nice beach and few activity. Any activity need to pay even indoor. Hope this will be considered.family suit need maintenance such toilet flooded. Internet need pay but one device only allowed furthermore very very slow connection and advice do not subscripe.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Room are quite old however still quite well maintain. If you are looking for a huge water park, your will be disappointed. The water park is quite a small one however definitely bigger than swimming pool. We check in on Sunday so the crowd is not so many. The buffet breakfast is a no no. The Chinese restaurant standard consider not too bad. Price a bit steep though. They have transport sending you around the resort. Good for retreat with big group of friend. If only one family is going then it can be quite boring.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chuankiat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Was meant to be a short getaway for my kids. Checked-in on Monday was smooth and quick. There were many blocks of building there. We stayed in the 3-bedroom suite. Overall was pleased with the cleanliness. The water Park was the only place where the kids enjoyed most.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EugeneWee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

My family of 4 adults and 2 kids stayed for 1 night in 2 1BR suites.

As it was an off-peak weekend, the crowd was ok. Check-in was quite smooth except for a printer breakdown. The customer service officer explained everything clearly on where to park, breakfast, the water park and stuff.

The rooms are old as the was a mild stench when we first entered. The wooden parquet floors creaked when stepped on. The taps are so stiff that makes it difficult to turn. The TV is still a 20" CRT... well, that explains it all.

The water park was great as my kids enjoyed themselves tremendously at the kampung slide and the colorful water playground. My wife commented that the water park is quite well maintained which I agree.

I tried the lazy river (operating hours 0900-1200 & 1500-1800hrs) with the rented buoy (RM7/day) and felt that the staff should provide some instructions on the correct usage. The buoy is quite small and therefore unstable. I flipped twice in the tube on my first try. Didn't inflict much self damage except for a few bumps which I brought back home. Of course subsequent rides were smoother.

Breakfast at the Teratai was... messy. Perhaps it was due to the size of the resort, the Teratai was very crowded like a market.

I may return for the Water Park but not sure if I will stay over again, unless there is a very good rate for returning customers.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, Essex
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

I stay a night in this resort and the rooms/apartments was like a maze. I never managed to find my unit at 1st try.

The lighting in the room was the only dim light from a bulb attached to a wall light. Need to switch on a bedside table lamp to enhance the brightness which only helps a little. My colleague's room shower was pathetic. It wasn't a shower' more like water dripping continiously.

All the rooms/apartment really needs some serious renovations. Parquet tiles was peeling off the floor.

Secondly, all 3 the eateries' environment in the resort has no air conditioned which means we're dining uncomfortably. The buffet will run out of food and took almost forever to top up if there's a busy crowd. Skip it if you can, as the quality of food was appaling as well.

Prices for the rides in the beach was ridiculously expensive. Totally doesn't worth it.

There's no wifi in the common area and 3G reception was bad.

The service of the staff was slow and undesireable.

Maybe, the only good in this resort was the shuttle bus. Quited a lot of it and they do arrive after a short wait.

There's plenty of resorts in Johor and I do not recommend this resort if you're paying that price.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shackks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bandar Penawar
1.4 mi away
Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort - Desaru Coast
1.1 mi away
Sand & Sandals Desaru Beach Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Amansari Hotel Desaru
Amansari Hotel Desaru
#3 of 3 in Bandar Penawar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Village Hotel Changi by Far East Hospitality
22.9 mi away
Changi Cove
Changi Cove
#110 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
22.8 mi away
Raintr33 Hotel Singapore
Raintr33 Hotel Singapore
#201 of 306 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lotus Desaru Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Desaru Beach Resort

Property: Lotus Desaru Beach Resort
Address: Lot 1854 Jalan Desaru | Bandar Penawar, Bandar Penawar 81930, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Kota Tinggi District > Bandar Penawar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bandar Penawar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lotus Desaru Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 700
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lotus Desaru Beach Resort invites guests to design the vacation of their choice in a tropical seaside setting - whether they fancy an activity-filled holiday, a relaxing retreat, or even a mix of a little business with pleasure on the side. It's not just a resort that you can relax and unwind, it's also a place where you can have fun with your kids and loved one. Try our 'splashtacular' Water Park specially designed for fun and excitement with your family and friends, don't miss to enjoy our Water Park that features Giant Coconut Fall, Lazy River, Aqua Play, Stone Bridge, Tipping Coconut with Kiddy Slide, Poolside Grotto, and Relaxation Gazebos. Aside from this, we have expanded our facilities to create more fun and activities for the guest. The 14 acres of Team Building Park, enjoy an all-out fun full of adventure and education. Our team specializes in organising team building activities such as water rafting, survivor experience, obstacle course, explorace, treasure hunt, paintball and more. Experience the nature of the forest with your friends with different activities such as bird watching, camping, jungle trekking and lake fishing. Be relaxed and unwind with our newly opened "Lotus Suria Ayurveda Spa", rejuvenate your body, mind and soul. Our Spa offers a unique blend of various treatments for the preservation of health and cure of diseases in a natural way that Ayurveda proposes. Of all those places you've been which attempted to blend nature with modern convenience, most could not live up to Desaru and the other remoteness along Malaysia's eastern coast. Yes, nearly the entire length of the Malay peninsular is pristine beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lotus Desaru Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lotus Desaru Beach Hotel Kota Tinggi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing